We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, and warm!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Capitorsola

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capoliveri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Capitorsola
Save
You added Villa Capitorsola to your Saves list
Loc. Capitorsola, 9, 57031 Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Capoliveri B&B and Inns
Parma, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, and warm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful B&B for a week. While I agree with some of the criticisms below (in "somewhat disappointing"), we felt that there were also many positives which have been better noted in the Italian reviews: the rooms and house were incredibly clean (not so easy to achieve when you have guests coming in and out from the beach!), nice rooms, the garden in back was very pretty (green with flowers), our three-year-old played on the swings and slide every afternoon, and we used the little whirlpool overlooking the bay below. The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit and cakes every morning.
Valentina who runs the Villa was very kind and helpful and luckily all the guests were understanding with our daughter's early morning wake-ups! We do speak Italian so I can't comment on her English capabilities...
The beach "lido" closest to the house isn't so great so you can either walk the extra five minutes to Felciaio or you will need to take a car. However, within 10 minutes driving you can easily find nice beaches such as Barabarca or Lacona.
In the room there's air con, a small refridgerator, a good shower. There's also a coffee machine and water available to the guests in the common room downstairs.
Having seen some of the other structures on the island, I can recommend this one without hesitation - it's good quality for your money. However, it is worth noting that the fact that you're in a house, does comport some "noise" with it and the villa is not really walking distance from anything beside the two beaches mentioned above.
I do feel that Valentina's warmth, the cleanliness, and the beautiful location make it well worth recommending.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Me and my friends stayed at Villa Capitorsola in the end of July - beginning of August 2011. The hotel has exceeded all our expectations. Breathtaking view from the room to the sea, mountains and Capoliveri town (even without getting out of bed). Villa is decorated in a sophisticated and elegant manner, rooms are furnished in a modern style. Fresh fruit salad, flavorous coffee, delicious cookies etc. for breakfast. Valentina and Graziano were profuse in their hospitality. Valentina was always lavish in her outgoingness and responsiveness to help us on any issue. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who is going to Elba!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Overall this B&B is quite O.K. The rooms are pleasant and the proprietor is service-minded, but speaks strictly Italian. There are a few further drawbacks. Noise: the proprietors habitually drive their various vehicles around the house (past several bedroom windows) early and late although there is ample parking space a few meters away. The doors to the corridor, furthermore, are not close to soundproof. The garden and its amenities are not very inviting - we spent our time at the hotels almost entirely in our rooms. Unless you enjoy a really crowded beach, you will also need a car to get around. Distances to the closest beaches (indicated on the B&B website) proved to be off the mark. The cleaning was professional, but the linen and towels were changed only once in a week, despite written information that it would be changed every three days. One of our two rooms had old plumbing - screeching old faucets and a toilet which did not flush properly. We regret to say that we do not recommend this B&B strongly.

Room Tip: Most rooms have modern bathrooms, but at least one has faulty plumbing/faucets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

This B&B is absolutely stunning. Great decor, spotless clean, good size rooms, great view (and free wi-fi!). Delicious breakfast too. The owner is very nice, although there was a bit of a language barrier :( The only small negative is that the doors to the rooms have no sound proof. But overall, this is a perfect destination for a getaway to Elba.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Capitorsola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Capitorsola

Address: Loc. Capitorsola, 9, 57031 Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Capoliveri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Capoliveri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island of Elba the Bed & Breakfast Villa Capitorsola is situated on a small hill behind the Lido di Capoliveri at just 200 meters from the Felciaio beach and 300 meters from the Lido beach. Villa Capitorsola is very close to the villages of Capoliveri and Porto Azzurro. Completely renovated and furnished with great care, the Bed & Breakfast lies immersed in the surrounding green in a peaceful area and enjoys a 180 grade panorama. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Capitorsola Elba Island/Capoliveri, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Capitorsola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.