We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay in Elba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montecristo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Montecristo to your Saves list
Hotel Montecristo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Nomellini, 11, 57034 Marina di Campo, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Marina di Campo
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a great place to stay in Elba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here 5 nigths in July 2012, 2 couples, and paid 140 Euro per nigth per room, incl breakfast, which was good value for money. we had OK and quiet rooms, with big balconies facing the garden, second floor. Friendly staff, a really great swimming pool and excellent pool restaurant for lunch. Fantastic location of the hotel at the beach, and resereved parking at the hotel. Free wifi in pool area, but not in the room.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the garden, in second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    12
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

For a part of our summer holiday we (2 add. + 2 children) had booked 6 nights in the hotel. Late booking meant that we had to change room two times (which we knew when we made the booking).

First of all, the hotel is situated in the right place. 10 metres from the beach and close to downtown. Nice pool area and nice rooms (we tried three fifferent sizes).

But what really makes the difference here is the great service and the very friendly staff. Everything with a smile and very well organised. They are in control of everything and are very good at making you relax and enjoy during your stay.

Further, the pool restaurant offers not only great food (a mix of Italian and Spanish food) but the guy who is charge of the pool bar/restaurant is a really friendly fellow who obviously enjoys serving people, making nice drinks and creating a good atmosphere.

Marina Di Campo is a nice little town with good restaurants (the two on the beach are the most high-end with a little more sophisticated menus but in general restaurants here serve nice Italian food).

We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Montecristo and would always recommend it. Both for families and couples.

The ONLY bad thing we can say about the hotel is that their wi-fi only works in the restaurant and the lobby. In 2011 it should be possible to connect when you are in your room. The fact that they charge extra for wi-fi (hourly basis) is acceptable but it not fun to sit in the lobby or restaurant every time you need to log on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

A colleague of mine suggested this really crappy hotel in Marina del Campo. It is definitely not worth the price!!! We paid EUR 190.- for a shabby room, totally moulded bathroom and street-side view. They were not even able to cook a decent cappuccino, which should not be a big deal in Italy. We never stayed in a worse hotel, not in my entire life! Please don't book any room in this hotel, you will get disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmontecristo, Direttore at Hotel Montecristo, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Google Translation
Questa recensione è stata pubblicata nell'aprile 2010 mentre il cliente è venuto nell'anno 2008. L'hotel nell'anno 2009 è stato completamente ristrutturato.
Distinti saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

The worse hotel I have ever been in my life.
The director is not evry nice with clients. You pay almost 200€ for a nice room and you get a very old room, with a very dirty bathroom and if you are lucky you will have the balcony, just next to the parking so anyone could go inside the room or see what you are doing.
very, very disapointting

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmontecristo, Direttore at Hotel Montecristo, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Google Translation
Da circa 30 anni l'Hotel Montecristo apre il 15 aprile, pertanto è impossibile che il cliente possa aver soggiornato nella nostra struttura nel mese di marzo 2009
In ogni caso, vendiamo con differenti tariffe camere con o senza balcone, l'albergo è stato completamente ristrutturato nel 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

After a trip through Tuscany we booked a week in Montecristo. Because we wanted some luxury and space I payed extra for a superior room. When we arrived we got the key for, what looked to me, a standard room. I asked the receptionist but she said that all the rooms on first and second floor are superior rooms. That's the only difference.
The room was very simple and the balcony was OK. But the bathroom the biggest disappointment. Mould on the walls, and after a shower the whole bathroom was wet.
Elba is beautiful and has wonderful beaches. Marina di Campo is lively and has many restaurants and shops.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Filthy bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmontecristo, Direttore at Hotel Montecristo, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Google Translation
La differente tipologia tra standard e superior è indicata così: standard al piano terra e superior al 1°-2° piano, non vediamo dov'è il nostro errore.
I bagni sono stati completamente ristrutturati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

The Montecristo had an amazing location. It was on the beach front, with the pool just moments from the beach. Whilst sitting by the pool you could hear the waves - thats how close it was!
The pool was nice and had a pool bar located near it. The pool bar did some nice cocktails and lunches. It is a white sandy beach which clear waters - piece of heaven!

The staff are relatively friendly - there was one girl Samantha that was particularly helpful and spoke the best English. The hotel owner is also quite a ncie guy. The hotel is located a stroll away from various restaurants and bars on the Marina Di Campo area.

The rooms are clean but quite basic, and there are limited sea view rooms. The rooms had airconditioning which was definitely needed in the summer time.

Montecristo on Elba, Marina Di Campo was a perfect get away for some rest and relaxtion. The best way to get there is catch a ferry from Piombino. The place is very popular with Italian tourists which is a good sign!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montecristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecristo

Address: Lungomare Nomellini, 11, 57034 Marina di Campo, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marina di Campo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Marina di Campo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Montecristo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Montecristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montecristo Elba Island/Marina Di Campo, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montecristo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.