We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Location in the sicilian country-side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azienda Agrituristica Monaco di Mezzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Azienda Agrituristica Monaco di Mezzo to your Saves list
Azienda Agrituristica Monaco di Mezzo
Contrada Monaco di Mezzo | Ciolino Resuttano, 93010 Caltanissetta, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Caltanissetta B&B and Inns
MALTA (Europe)
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet Location in the sicilian country-side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This place is ideal for all those who want to get away from daily routine and stress. A car is essential as there is no public transport that reaches this location. This place is on its own surrounded by mountains. There is nothing else, except for walking trails and a nice swimming pool. Rooms are basic and clean, but they are not cleaned every day. Rooms that are overlooking internal yard and childrens' playing field are not quiet. Noise from the outside a/c units and the playing fields can be unbearable at times. Food is excellent and the Sicilian chef Mimmo is a very good cook. He is also very friendly and takes care of the guests. Breakfast is very poor. However if you ask for anything extra you will get it free of charge. So what you don't see on the breakfast table, just ask for!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley NOT the playing field!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
9
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for a week in July 2011. It was not full when we stayed. We did half board - essential as it's several kilometres off the beaten track and we could have starved in the evenings otherwise. Evening meals were set by the chef and consisted of four courses plus wine, limoncello and coffee all included in the price - if we had realised that we would have drunk more! Some rooms do have cooking facilities, however. The staff were all great but special credit must go to Mimmo, the chef, who not only cooked great food but also helped me with my Italian. The pool is great and free horse riding is available. It is invaded by Italians at weekends which must be a recommendation in itself. Very central position in Sicily, so good for getting around but local roads have a tendency to landslips and closures. Our first stay at an agrituristica but there will be more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the air conditioning units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I can't understand why anyone could give this agriturismo more than one star. The place was run down, the rooms were dark and dingy, the food was fair to poor. I booked this place based on the reviews and the photos. Big mistake. I thought this would be the best part of the trip but was the worst. I want to forget we were there. When I asked for a glass wine, they got it from a box. This is Italy, a box? There was no horse ridding, the hiking paths were closed, and there was NOTHING to do. The worst part of this was the staff was not friendly at all. We could not take a shower in the morning because they were filling the pool. Be warned.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Sure this place is beautiful, in the middle of nowhere, but they cater to families with kids. We picked a room off their website, but when we were shown our room it was nothing like the pictures. It was dark, with no windows, no view, & it opened onto a playground that had hordes of screaming children at all hours of the day. When we asked for another room, the staff was completely unsympathetic and unnaccomodating. Then at dinner we were seated right next to tables of screaming children, running amok all over the dining hall. When we asked if there was a quieter place, they just shrugged their shoulders. It seemed some of the families were "friends" of the owners, like they all knew each other and we were the outsiders. Unless you like screaming kids, and parents and hotel staff that allow for them to run amok, i would avoid this place!

Room Tip: The pics on their website are not what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed for only one night and were sad to leave. Staff very friendly. Not too much English speaking there but we all seemed to communicate. The pool is great, horseback riding with our guide, Antonio, was wonderful not to mention very reasonable cost to US horse back riding. Country side although sunbaked was still beautiful. Get the dinner for 25E, well worth it. After the great dinner, one would have expected an outstanding breakfast but it was a bit disappointing. However, my stay was not about the food so I still highly recommend it. I love farm houses and this fit the bill. It had a remote felling but was not too far from the main highway.

I wish they would have sold some souvenirs with their insignia like clothes or something.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

This place was so lovely and peaceful. We stayed here for 2 nights had it been summer could easily have stayed for 2 months. The 5 course dinner was superb and good value. The breakfast was ok. It would have been nice if the room had been cleaned and beds made

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Other reviews spot on. Lovely place, great food, perfect place to just chill out. The motroway's only 10 minutes away so, while isolated, you're in easy reach of Etna, Agricento, etc. We stayed for five lovely days and ended up just relaxing there much more than we expected. It was very quiet during the qweek, but much livelier during weekend when Italian families from the cities tend to visit.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Azienda Agrituristica Monaco di Mezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azienda Agrituristica Monaco di Mezzo

Address: Contrada Monaco di Mezzo | Ciolino Resuttano, 93010 Caltanissetta, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Caltanissetta > Caltanissetta
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caltanissetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm is equipped with a variety of self-contained apartments, a restaurant and community area all of which are harmoniously in keeping with the surroundings. The warmth of timber and local stone frame the spectacular views from this natural haven of rest, without a sign of human pollution but with the perpetual beauty of the seasonally changing colours. Many sports facilities are available, ranging from horse-riding to trekking; there is the nearby Madonie National Park and Nature Conservation Area with its history and art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Azienda Agrituristica Monaco di Mezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azienda Agrituristica Monaco Di Mezzo Caltanissetta, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azienda Agrituristica Monaco di Mezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.