We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is fine and reviews are misguided” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albatros

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albatros to your Saves list
Hotel Albatros
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via di Prato, 62, 50041 Calenzano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel is fine and reviews are misguided”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a weekend break as a package deal. The hotel is about 30 min drive or train away from Florence, but it did not effect our experience of Tuscany. We had a very good experience at the hotel no issues, in fact we laughed at some of the quirks of the establishment. There are several good restaurants and bars around the location as well. Basically it is what it is, clean tidy and friendly staff, you can not ask for more. I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    15
    20
    51
See reviews for
29
17
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a short break in Florence and a stay at the Albatros. I was quite worried about going there after reading some of the reviews.I have to say we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was basic but we only wanted a hotel to be a base as we would be out most of the days. There was a fridge in the room with beer, coca cola and water, which we did use. Our bed linen and towels were changed every day. Breakfast included in the price but there was no other food facilities provided. The only drawback is the location of the hotel. There's not a lot around the area, and the few places there are tend to close early. We took the bus to Florence, cost 1 euro 20 cents and the journey takes nearly an hour, but they do run every 20 minutes. We also travelled by train to Calenzano and was shocked to find the train station closed and in darkness. There are no taxis around the station area and we ended up getting lost and walking a couple of miles through an industrial estate to find the nearest hotel, who very kindly phoned us a taxi to take us to the Albatros. Taxi from the Albatros to Florence cost us 36 euro and only took 15 mins. Can't fault the hotel (or the staff )only it's location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I've make a reservation in the hotel but due to the earthquake in Italy, so i sent several cancellation email to the hotel. But they never reply!!! They just sent me an email about charge are prepaid. What kind of service is that?

As a hospitality services, this act is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. According to some previous review by other guest, I'm sure their service and people attitude are bad enough to ruin your holiday!!!

Room Tip: Don't book any room of this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

On our honeymoon we travelled from Australia to Europe in 1991. We stayed at the Albatros because it was the first hotel we came across as we entered the crazy Florentine traffic straight from the autostada. The manager was rude, refused to exchange currency, argued with a maintanence worker who stormed outside and turned off the water pump that was draining the flooded carpark to reallow it to flood. The minibar in our room had a great length of chain wrapped numerous times around it so that we ouldnt open it. Breakfast, though complimentary was refused becuase we didnt leave our passports with the manager for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calenzano
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Selva
Hotel La Selva
#3 of 8 in Calenzano
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel First
Hotel First
#6 of 8 in Calenzano
3.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Europa Signa
Hotel Europa Signa
#3 of 4 in Signa
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valmarina
Hotel Valmarina
#5 of 8 in Calenzano
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
5.3 mi away
Meridiana Country Hotel
Meridiana Country Hotel
#1 of 8 in Calenzano
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Firenze Prato Est
Ibis Firenze Prato Est
#3 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
3.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albatros

Address: via di Prato, 62, 50041 Calenzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Calenzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albatros 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albatros Province Of Florence/Calenzano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albatros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.