We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs and a horrible restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Selva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Selva to your Saves list
Hotel La Selva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Barberino, 221 | Località Pontenuovo, 50041 Calenzano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bed bugs and a horrible restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We chose this hotel as an overnight stay after exploring Florence. The hotel is in the countryside well away from the highway, so it took a while to get there.

There was some sort of banquet going on the first floor where the restaurant was but it was still open to the public. We were not too keen to dine in the hotel's restaurant as we saw bad reviews so we checked a couple of other places but they were all closed Sunday night. We had to go back to the hotel and dine there. The food at the restaurant was bland, my pasta with duck was tasteless. My wife wasn't impressed with her dish either. The service was slow and inefficient. At the end they tried to charge us for a desert we did not order. The worst part about the restaurant is that I got mild food poisoning there.

But this is not the worst part of the story. At night, we were bitten by bed bugs. Next day half of my wife's body was covered in swells so the room must have been infested with them. My advice is obviously to skip this hotel, but if you visit check your room carefully to make sure there are no bed bugs and look after your luggage so that you don't transfer them back home. Because if you do, you will regret it big time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelaciamp, Direttore at Hotel La Selva, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Goodmorning Mr.Serge A,

we thank you for taking 2 minutes of your time to review our hotel.
We are very surprised and disappointed about what we read.
In 40 years of work, like you can see on the reviews of Tripadvisor, Booking.com etc., no one ever told us that he had found bugs in the hotel.
We think that unfortunately his wife was attacked by mosquitoes or other small flying bugs.
After his review we proceeded to clean the room and we did not find anything of what you said.
It would have been helpful if you had been reported the problem to the front desk in order to verify the situation with you and your wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
23
49
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A nice, quiet place out in the country, but only 40 minutes from Florence. Several good restaurants within 5 km each way. Nice rooms, some with airy balconies. Nice staff.
Negatives: a couple of dangerous steps to watch out for, a bit of freeway noise in the distance, and it can get noisy on the patio and around the entrance. Outside lights are on all night. If you like tea bring your own, as they only have green tea. No cappuchino was available. I liked it, my wife didn't.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room. Remember that the outside lights will be on all night, bright enough read by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff wandered about aimlessly, seemingly unable to so much as dim the blinding lights on each balcony (there is no switch in the room). Staff slammed doors everywhere with vigor and enthusiasm--much the same way Italians use their horns in traffic--and there appears to be no soundproofing in the building.

There is a freeway bridge spanning the canyon directly overhead, and the truck noise is particularly loud.

Guests gather under the first floor balconies and socialize loudly. Probably best to avoid rooms with balcony for this reason.

The in-room wifi is feeble at best. Sometimes works on the balcony, but is most reliable next to stairwell. There are large ants on the balcony, though; I do not think they mop the area often.

Bath on room 72 has a 4" step UP. It is not marked or delineated in any way. I fell over it at night and bloodied both arms and my knees. Since the kitchen was closed, I knew the staff would have no ice (and probably would not understand the use of ice anyhow), so I just used what bandages I had brought. Be aware of uneven flooring here.

The place is generally clean if kind of spartan (three hangers in closet), so if you are desperate for lodging--and have good earplugs--it is probably better than sleeping beside the road.

Watch the umarked steps, though.

Room Tip: Balconies with possibility for socializing underneath should be avoided. If good internet is imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calenzano hotels

delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a wonderful room with views of the hills - stopped as we drove in from Verona. Then the next morning drove to SEATO florentino ( ten minutes ) train station to make a day trip,to Florence. A lovely way to see the city without the hassle ( and free parking )

Hotel is very clean, wonderfully stylish and has lovely coffee, breakfast. The views are amazing. The staff, including Carlos, we're incredibly helpful and warm. There are even shelves full of love,y art books !

Our room had a large balcony and the restaurant does a simple menu del dia. A lovely spot to really enjoy Tuscany.

Room Tip: Balconies on south side are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We only stayed 1 night in this hotel, on our way to south Italy. I can absolutely recommend this hotel. We had a spacious room with a nice balcony. The room was basic but stylish decorated. The bathroom was also large and all very clean. Breakfast was perfect and the front desk people were very friendly.
We had diner in the restaurant which had a good atmosphere. The food was fine.
The hotel can be a good base for sightseeing this part of Tuscany. But you need a car.

For visiting Florence, here is our tip: The best you can do is drive to Galluzzo. That is only 23 km from the hotel. There you find a big parking lot for free parking and then take the bus to the old centre. Don't forget to buy tickets at the Tabacchi before you get the bus!

So, this hotel has good quality and is worth the money, without any doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is quite small and the rooms are as well and it's located quite far from Florence, but it's a place where you can actually breath in the hot summer months. The prices are fair compared to Florence, you can skip breakfast if you can, it's all sweets. There is a nice pond where you can swim in the direction opposite to Florence, pebbly beach with deck chairs which is nice if you want to cool off. All in all, it's worth a few days stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had seen this hotel on the internet and by the sound and look of it , we really wanted this to be the hotel to stay in Florence. We did not book but just turned up. It was booked out but we were allowed to have a quadruple room for 5 people and it was very comfortable. The hotel did not disappoint our expectations. It was in the hinterland which was absolutely beautiful. It really felt like we were in Tuscany. Everything was great from the rooms to the service and the breakfast. When we left we were also given little sample packs of olive oil products which was a lovely gesture. This hotel is really only suitable if you are driving because otherwise it would be difficult to get to but very worth considering it as your hotel if going to Florence by car. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Selva

Address: Via di Barberino, 221 | Località Pontenuovo, 50041 Calenzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Calenzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Selva 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Selva Province Of Florence/Calenzano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Selva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.