We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Gasser

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Gasser to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Gasser
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rappanlagen 19 | 39042, 39042 Bressanone, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Bressanone
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here as a group and had a wonderful experience. The rooms are huge as is the bathroom, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean and comfortable Beautiful location 5 mins from the town centre.Excellent breakfast. Wifi is free. We were able to access it in our room with no problems. Dinner at the main hotel was amazing and the staff were extremely helpful. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our most expensive place to stay during our 3 1/2 week stay in Austria and Italy, but it was also the largest room with a huge, very comfy bed. It was very deluxe according to our standards. The furnishings were amazing. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Gasser in February 2012 when we went skying to Plose, the ski resort close to Bressanone. The hotel occupies a beginning of 20th century building in a quiet area of the city, at a walking distance from the historic district and across a riverside park. The hotel offers good parking facilities which is very convenient as the area is of narrow one-way streets.
The Gasser is an annexe of the Gruner Baum Best Western located 100 meters down the street. This is not a big issue but may cause some inconveniences if - as in our case - you arrive late at night, find the door closed and have to wait for somebody to come and check you in. Actually, as there is no permanent front desk, basic things such as check-in, check-out and getting Internet access codes must be done at the main building. The hotel is quite comfortable. Rooms are spacious and clean, some of them with a balcony. Bathrooms are large and well equipped. Rooms and lobby areas display unattractive "classical" furniture but also some interesting pictures of the city at the end of the 19th century. For sure, more could have been done to take advantage of the character of the building but overall there is little to object to the space and comfort of the facility. There is no restaurant in the hotel (only one at the Gruner Baum) but there are good places to eat in the city: restaurant Fink is one of them. We particularly liked breakfast as freshly squeezed orange juice and yogurt with fresh berries are not commonly found at breakfast buffets !!
For families and short stays to ski or discover the Trentino Alto Adige province the Gasser is a very good option I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

a great location across from a riverside park and close to the bridge into the pretty and lively old town.
although run as an annexe of the best western just down the road, the gasser offers a comfortable and quiet base, with use of all the other facilities. there are attractive lounge areas, and a good cold breakfast is provided on site.
i got a large beautifully furnished room with balcony, probably beacause the hotel was full and run out of single rooms ???
arrival by car is difficult, but there is decent parking to the rear of the hotel.
everything was spotless and worked beautifully - not the cheapest hotel, but great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights as part of a sightseeing tour through Northern Italy.

The hotel is an annex to the main Best Western hotel about 100 metres up the street, therefore reception at this hotel is not always manned. When we check-in, we used a phone on the front desk that links you to the main hotel - 5 mins later a staff member arrived with our key. He spoke very little english (town is a mixture of Italian & German speaking residents).

We were given a Brixen card which we figured out (after specifically requesting an English brochure) entitles you to free entry to lots of local attractions. We used this card quite a bit during our stay which saved us lots of money - we even travel in the local bus, caught the train to Bolzano & visited the Ice Man museum plus the return journey all for nothing.

Hotel is a 5 minute walk to the town centre - very handy for shops & restaurants.

Breakfast is served at this hotel, however for dinner we never saw the restaurant open - assume you need to go the main hotel.

Wi-fi internet access was available however it was a weak & very slow connection that was not free. Hence the cost at 3 euro per hour (5 cents per minute) really added up as it took a while for pages to load.

Our only complaint was that the room that we were given did not have air-conditioning - it was well over 30 degrees each day during our stay & even having our windows open at night (we did not have a room with a balcony) it was still very hot in the room which made it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

A nice room at a reasonable rate. A friendly but non-english speaking gentleman checked us in. Excellant breakfast. The desk isn't open 24 hours but a block away at the Gruner Baum you can get 24 hour service. There is a good parking area behind the Hotel. Only a few minute walk into town which is a very nice town to visit with many nice places to eat and shop. The twin churches are also worth seeing.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
german in yorkshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

Drove there via Brenner Motorway. Brixen is nice quaint town. Ideal for walking tours. Hotel slightly difficult to find as it is the Dependance Gasser of the Gruener Baum Hotel. You allowed to use all their facilities. We had a huge room on the 4th floor with balcony. Bath also great. Beautiful views over city and sourrounding mountains. Breakfast buffet perfect. Staff extreamly friendly (German efficiency meets Italian friendlynes). Enjoy the sunset with a bottle of local wine on the balcony. Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Gasser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Gasser

Address: Rappanlagen 19 | 39042, 39042 Bressanone, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Bressanone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bressanone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Gasser 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence Gasser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasser Hotel Bressanone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Gasser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.