We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as elegant as in 1971” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elephant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elephant to your Saves list
Hotel Elephant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rio Bianco 4, 39042 Bressanone, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Bressanone
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Still as elegant as in 1971”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My parents brought me to this gracious, historic hotel in 1971, when I was a kid. Its elegance and charm left such an impact on me that I had to return with my OWN kids...and I was not disappointed. While the town around it has grown, and the bucolic fields are littered with suburban sprawl, the hotel itself, and the old walled town on which it borders are as lovely as ever. Antique furniture, original paintings, rich paneled wooden walls and ceilings...it is as though you are in a fantasy of a grander time. The staff is gracious and helpful, the complimentary breakfasts ample. And the garden across the street is peaceful and pretty, and full with modern art! The small pool is just right, and the Dolomites complete the scene. Its well worth a visit...

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
37
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

This hotel is simply stunning. It starts from the first moment you walk in to the second you leave. You are made to feel special by the most polite and professional staff I have ever come across in my frequent travels. The 450 plus year old is designed with a fun and dignified Elephant motif throughout and numerous art works, antique furniture and historic displays throughout the hotel. No two rooms are alike and yes the rooms aren’t as glamorous as some upscale hotels they have something else called character. You are paying a very reasonable price for a real experience in history and elegance. The hotel is right on the edge of a stunning walking district and the restaurant food was of a very high quality if not a bit pricey. There is even a higher quality fine dining option in the same compound that will suit travellers who are looking for simply the best. Secure parking and internet is available for an extra fee which is always a little disappointing to spoiled western travels. The breakfast buffet which was included was so fresh and well presented you couldn’t help but feel special, and yes it was the standard continental layout. While I was just passing through as an overnight stop I plan on returning for a night or two with my wife as it would make a wonderful get away and perfect base of operations to explore the stunning region. A total surprise and experience I won’t soon forget.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We loved the hotel - generous and airy rooms (ours with a terrace), friendly staff, and EXCELLENT restaurant. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The little town in interesting and there is much to see and do in the area around Bressanone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2006

We stayed at the Elephant for two nights during a road trip through Northern Italy in the Fall. The hotel far exceeded our expectations. It was spacious, clean, in good condition, and offered excellent customer service. We were housed in the separate building across the street. The bedroom and bathroom were well adorned with plenty of room, ample closet space and new fixtures.

The hotel's location is also great, you can quickly walk downtown for shopping or restaurants, or can drive out of town to tour the beautiful mountain passes nearby.

The hotel restaurant is also a must try. Food and service was excellent, but a reservation is necessary, as it fills up fast.

We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a high-class hotel in the Bressanone area. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
639 helpful votes 639 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2005

The Hotel Elephant sits in the middle of Bressanone which like the hotel is nice but nothing special. The public rooms in the hotel are beautiful and it is nice staying in an authentically old inn. The public rooms are filled with interesting art and antique furniture.

The negative is that, like so many hotels, the bedrooms are dull and not interesting. They couldn't have been less imaginative in putting together their bedrooms.

The restaurant was surprisingly good serving Tyrolean cuisine. The gardens were nice but I would say that the swimming pool was like the bedrooms--not memorable and not a feature.

If you are coming from far away I would stay in Ortisei, not Bressanone or I would stay in a hotel like the Rosa Alpina instead of the Hotel Elephant. Again, it's not that the hotel is a charmless, unenjoyable place--it just isn't special.

  • Stayed January 2003
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elephant

Address: Via Rio Bianco 4, 39042 Bressanone, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Bressanone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bressanone
#2 Family Hotel in Bressanone
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bressanone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elephant 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elephant: Stay in a hotel with a great history and distinctive characterIn 1550, King John of Portugal decided to give a “big” gift to the Emperor Maximilian II of Austria, so he purchased an elephant in India, shipped it to Genova, then planned to walk it to Austria. This giant elefant grew weary about the time it reached Bressanone and was stabled for weeks at the Villa Am Hohen Feld . Young and old came from far and wide to see this Elefant. The proprietor of the Villa was obviously a master at marketing: to maintain the fame of his establishment, he promptly renamed his hotel—you guessed it—the Elephant. A picture of the elephant was painted on the front of the building to commemorate the sensational event. But even without an elephant story this hotel is a winner with its old-fashioned charm. The sitting room, hallways, and dining rooms (three cozy rooms) incorporate antiques, museum-quality paintings, and magnificent paneling. The Elephant is also well known for its good food—fresh fruits come from the adjacent walled garden where you also find the swimming pool and an old home that has been converted into very nice bedrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hotel Bressanone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elephant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.