We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant enough but not sure about the 4 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambasciatori to your Saves list
Hotel Ambasciatori
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Maria Crocifissa Di Rosa, 92, 25128 Brescia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Brescia
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“pleasant enough but not sure about the 4 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights so we could watch all the events for the Mille Miglia. So, for the positives the hotel is very well maintained, spotlessly clean and staff all very helpful and friendly. It also has reasonable parking facilities.

We booked a larger room which I guess for a city centre hotel was reasonably sizeable - the bathroom was excellent. I think the main problem is the hotel is neither a beautiful old classical Italian place or modern so whilst it served its purpose for us there wasn't any particular wow factor or improved comfort. The room was pretty basic and lacking any mod cons. In particular, the room was absolutely airless with no air conditioning - we were lucky the weather wasn't any hotter and can imagine in the summer it would be quite uncomfortable. We were on the first floor and it was just too noisy outside to leave the windows open all night.

The hotel makes quite a lot of its restaurant facilities but we tried it one night and were the only ones there - and the meal was very average with my husband having to send his back (something he never does!) and if you are there at the weekend it doesn't even open. Again, all this would be fine but it is a good 15 minute walk back into Brescia to find somewhere else (there is a Sushi place around the back of the hotel).

I guess all in all we couldn't really see why the hotel has 4 stars - more like an excellent 2 or good 3 star. It served its purpose for us but if we return to Brescia we would probably stay somewhere closer to the centre for convenience or further out for some additional facilities. I think it is probably good for a night or 2 if you are there on business but perhaps not so much for tourists.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HambBrescia, Direttore at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
Dear Sirs,

We would like to express our sincerest thanks for the observations you wrote on TripAdvisor regarding services at our hotel.

Anyway we would like to let you know that we do have air conditioning in each room, but as the temperatures were cool enough (as you wrote in your comment), it was turned off.

We apologize if the quality of our food wasn’t of your liking. For what concerning the evening you had dinner at our restaurant, there was few people because almost all our guests where at the Mille Miglia’s gala dinner.

Concerning your perception of our hotel category, we think your opinion is quite strict since we are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer.

Concluding, we would like to thank you again, confirming that comments from our guests are always welcome and we want to assure you that we will make good use of your observations.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    54
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
27
21
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viterbo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

When I've to stay in Brescia for work, this hotel is my first choice. It's well positioned, just near the historic center of the city. The services are above average, the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and big enough to enjoy your stay. Another mention goes to the fantastic breakfast: a lot of different things, fresh and very tasty.

  • Liked — The position
  • Disliked — The prices
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

My husband and I spent 5 days at this hotel and I must confess that the impression left is more than expected in the positive way of speaking.
The personnel of the hotel is very pleasant, highly professional, helpful and polite. We needed a lot of info regarding how to travel by train to Milan and Venice, and they were very helpful.
The hotel is very quiet and peaceful, with a romantic atmosphere, perfectly for a newly wed couple.
We had a room at the 4th floor and it was nice, clean and tidy. No comments about the hotel services, all were exactly as are supposed to be. The room was cleaned on daily basis, with sheets and towels changing. No TV channels challenges.
The breakfast was ok in its variety. I enjoyed a lot the croissants.
Brescia is a very beautiful city and the hotel perfectly fits with the holiday atmosphere, with the cosy streets and pleasant people. History is discovered with every step in this city, quite fascinating.
We liked the staying a lot and our only regrets were that we did not have the chance to visit the castle nearby (it is closed on Mondays) and we had not enough time to visit more the rest of city.

  • Liked — Promptitude and kindness
  • Disliked — Nothing to subscribe here
  • Tips/Secrets — July 2006 was very hot in Brescia, I do not know if this is usual for Summer
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

I traveled to Brescia for work and my husband was able to go with me. My work connections made the hotel arrangements and we were very pleased overall with the hotel. From the outside, it does not look particularly charming or inviting, but the inside is very cozy and clean. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the historic center of town (through a well-lighted and safe tunnel) and there is a convenient bus (Line 1) which has a stop directly in front of the hotel that will take you to the shops, restaurants and sights in 5 minutes. The hotel always had an English-speaking staff person at the front counter and they were always very helpful and friendly. The breakfast selection is fairly large and everything was fresh and tasty (fruits, cheeses, pastries, cereal, breads, juices, coffee/tea, preserved meats, etc.). The only complaint we have is that our room would get too warm during the night (it was a slightly chilly March). They were very willing to help us resolve the problem, but we weren't staying for many more nights and just decided to sleep with the window slightly open. Our double room was pretty spacious for a European hotel and the bathroom was large even by American standards, and was very clean and seemed to have been recently renovated. The room was quiet even though there was a fairly busy thoroughfare behind the hotel. The neighborhood immediately around the hotel felt very safe and clean--there were shops, restaurants, gelaterias and a food market.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Santa Maria Crocifissa Di Rosa, 92, 25128 Brescia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Brescia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brescia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brescia
#2 Family Hotel in Brescia
#7 Business Hotel in Brescia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benvenuti a Casa, all’Hotel AmbasciatoriIl piacere d’ospitare caratterizza ogni nostro sforzo.Il nostro obiettivo è quello di creare un’atmosfera calda,accogliente e rilassata dove i nostri Ospiti si sentano i benvenuti. L'Hotel Ambasciatori si trova in una delle più importanti zone di Brescia a soli 700 metri dal centro storico ed a pochi passi dal Monastero di Santa Giulia, nuovo patrimonio mondiale dell'Unesco. Ciò fa dell'Hotel Ambasciatori un luogo comodo ed elegante atto a soddisfare esigenze turistiche e lavorative. Welcome home, at Hotel AmbasciatoriThe pleasure of “welcoming” characterizes every single effort we do. Our purpose is to create a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere, where guests feel like at home. Hotel Ambasciatori is located in one of the most important areas of Brescia. The quiet position, at only 700 meters from the historical centre and Santa Giulia monastry (new Unesco site)characterize this hotel as a comfortable and elegant place, suitable for both working and tourist needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Brescia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambasciatori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.