We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Fornella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brescia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Fornella
Save
You added Camping Fornella to your Saves list
Via Fornella 1 | San Felice del Benaco, 25010 Brescia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Harrogate
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here last summer for 10 nights and it was fabulous - so much so we've booked to go again this year. We've booked a super pitch again and to me it's worth the extra money. The pool area is great for all ages of children and we only once didn't manage to get a lounger. The pool disco in the afternoon is fab for the younger children. It's situated in a lovely area perfect for exploring the Italian Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Le Monetier-les-Bains, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

Very welcoming, last-minute booking at a special price which was much appreciated. Location is fabulous, we stayed on the campsite in a mobile home with a view of the lake. Kids who are four and two had so much fun, fishing, rowing, sailing, paddling, swimming, playing ... It was just what we needed. Pizzas from restaurant were great, other food not as good but great views from every table, right next to the lake. Swimming pools relaxed and fun, very clean. Thanks to all Fornella staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at the end of August 2011. The caravan was large, bright (french doors), clean and with powerful air conditioning. There was also a terrace under shade, a barbeque and car parking by the caravan. The pools are large and go to a "beach" so the smaller kids can paddle and there is a shin deep kids pool. There is also a big pebble beach to lake garda and the water is clean clear and warm. All the facilities are well maintained and a small army of mostly disinterested staff do a good job. The other campers are a mix of dutch and german and there is a small british contingent through eurocamp and thomsons. The on-site restaurant/pizzeria is good and both it and the shop are reasonably priced.

This site would suit families with kids up to the age of 13 or so. The older teenagers seemed a bit bored but the younger kids were roaming around in happy friendly groups, picking up newcomers as they went.

All in all we loved it. The downsides were it really wasn't cheap (over 120 euros per night) and the manager was unbelievably rude when it came to check out. I had emailed a request for a price including cleaning and linen and these were added. It. was. not. negotiable. A bit of sour note to end an otherwise brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Dunno, book through a tour operator in advance?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We first visited Camping Fornella 4 years ago and wanted to go back because we all loved it so much. The setting is spectacular right on the lake with mountains in the background and the site is great. Both times we have been - taking our own tent - the pitches have been shadey and a perfect distance from all of the facilities (not too close to the loos!). On this visit it was clear that work had been done around the site since our last visit to improve things. Loos/showers etc are very very clean and well presented, the pools are a good size with plenty of space for sun-beds around, the on-site shop is really well priced and carries a good range of products, and the restaurant is good too. The site doesn't do entertainment in the evenings - but we see this as a plus as it makes for a quiet site. It's also away from main roads, so that helps too. In short, we love it and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at fornella in June 2011, with Thomson Alfresco. This is a great site for young families. We were a bit unlucky with the weather as it rained most days but this didn't stop us from having a fantastic time as theres so much to explore around lake garda. Fornella site was very clean, quiet and had 2 swimming pools (1 of these only opens during peak months) 2 kiddies play ground areas, 2 beach lakes, a lovely restaurant by the lake. We really do love this site and would recommend it if you have a young family. If your are camping or touring I thought some of the pitches were in a great spot overlooking the lake, the facilities looked very clean. We've stayed Thomson Alfresco before so we knew what to expect, and have no complaints. The reps were great and had a great knowledge of the area. The northern part of the Lake is beautiful with fantastic views of mountains, I'd recommend getting a car and travelling up into the mountains, theres some lovely views and villages that are well worth a visit. I've got no complaints about this holiday location and would visit again in a few years time as there were plenty of places that we didn't get time to visit.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Great campsite - super clean, lovely pools, perfect views, friendly, polite and amusing staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

I have visited many sites in Europe and this is one of the best. It is family run which means that quality is maintained at all times. The brothers and sisters along with spouses look after different aspects of site life and it shows. You can be assured of a warm welcome with facilities of the highest order. The owners want you to have a good time because they wnat to maintain their reputation. Booking is easy as they speak English, will e-mail and phone back and will make any and all arrangements for you. There are endless activities for all ages on site and in the Garda region.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Fornella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Fornella

Address: Via Fornella 1 | San Felice del Benaco, 25010 Brescia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Brescia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Brescia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Camping Fornella Hotel Brescia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Fornella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.