We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Food Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Boccondivino

Osteria del Boccondivino
Via Mendicita Istruita, 14, 12042 Bra, Italy
0172 425674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Bra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Genova, Italia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Slow Food Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

As every December , I had dinner here with my local customers.
Located in the old town, close to the Slow Food HQ, Boccondivino is an experience of its own already when you enter in the 19th Century courtyard.
At the table, you can choose from a variety of local foods, of which several Slow Food presidia, I.e. traditional foods that are disappearing.
Truffle is a must, especially in the cocotte egg.
Very good wine list.
Try, and tell me if you agree with me or with the gentleman from Barcelona....;-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    196
    49
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, could work more on the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Cooking is great, especially considering it's very plain, no frills. Hi-quality ingredients carefully prepared but no magic.

Sitting in a rather noisy, light room with fluorescent lamps on the walls does bring down some of the atmospehere, though. Some textiles or whatever to dampen the noise and candles on the table combined with the light from those nice glass-door wine cabinets would enhance it a lot.

Nice setting in an inner court of a block inside the town of Bra, I'd say the outside atmosphere beats the inside by far.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neive, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good all round Piemontese cooking and wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

A very pleasant place to have lunch (or dinner) tucked away in a courtyard (used in summer) off the back streets of Bra. Interesting place with several interlinked dining rooms that helps keep the noise down. Service was attentive and unobtrusive and the food unpretentious but imaginative. We had the peppers stuffed with tuna sauce and the mashed baccalà and potato, tortiglioni with a very tasty pork sauce followed by a wonderful slow cooked goose leg with roast potatoes. The wine list is very reasonably priced with some bargains: We had the Lodali Langhe Nebbiolo at just €12.50. We'll go back

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good but not special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Do not allow my heading to imply criticism. It is simply that I can't fully understand the rave notices given by some folk to this restaurant. I can only assume that they have eaten there many times and found the food to be superlative.

My wife and I ate there just the once. I had a very enjoyable meal. She didn't (which is unusual because she is usually the lucky one!).

Whilst part of my meal included a truly excellent vitello tonnato her main course of tongue was hard, implying overcooking.

So there you go. Expect a pleasant enough meal but possibly not a life enhancing experience .

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great find with excellent local cuisine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I was born in Bra and decided to back to see my birth city after many years. This restaurant was recommended by a few local shop-owners who I asked for advice on a good place to eat. Food-wise, it is excellent as my wife and I sampled local dishes and all of it was great and prepared just as they should be prepared. We waited a short while at the end to get our check but this was a trivial issue. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Boccondivino also viewed

 
 

Been to Osteria del Boccondivino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Boccondivino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.