We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, even better wine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cantine Ascheri

Save Saved
You added Albergo Cantine Ascheri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Cantine Ascheri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piumati, 25, 12042 Bra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bra
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel, even better wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed for two evenings at this hotel, it is absolutely charming. The old winery is now the restaurant and the food is mind boggling. Also, make sure you buy as many bottles of wine as you can before you leave. They leave a complimentary bottle to your room, enjoy it in the nice terrace. They have some nice cold cuts and local food for breakfast. There is parking available and the hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the station and 10 minutes walk from city centre. If in Bra again, definitely will stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
20
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

- Pros: lovely property, winemaking facility that doubles as an inn/hotel, rooms are spacious, lots of thought put into the design features in room, wine in the room is gratis

- Cons: rooms are a bit dark (even with all lights turned on), service was cold/indifferent - we were not given any additional information on the hotel's facilities, wine making history, or anything at all - infact, we were just given a room key and waved in the general direction of our room..

Side note: thought it was a bit unsanitary to have the massive tub of Nutella for guests to use. You actually have to insert your whole hand (wrist, forearm and all) in to find the spoon to scoop it out. Needless to say, we skipped the Nutella option at breakfast!

- Why visit Bra: If you have an interest in food at all, you will know that this is the town where the Slow Food movement started (and is still headquartered - there is even a shop that sells small souvenirs and their line of books). Bra is a lovely town that at first glance looks a bit sleepy.. but with the gastro university on site, there's a buzzy student population here that gives the city a nice pulse in the evenings.

- Eating: We enjoyed our meals at 2 restaurants: Boccondivino (Slow Food's flagship restaurant), and (a short drive out) Guido at the University of Gastronomic Sciences (Piero also oversees one of the restaurants at Eataly in Torino, as well as the other Guido in Santo Stefano Belbo's R&C property, Relais San Maurizio).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

On arrival I was warmly welcomed at the check-in desk, the room was a good size and very nicely decorated, more boutique than expected. I asked almost immediately if I could try some of the Ascheri wines after a wet drive from Locarno and within 5 minutes I was greeted by Cristina Ascheri in the shop below the hotel, who warmly greeted us with a smile and a taster or two.
Secure parking was important for me as was the location, the town centre is a short walk. The hotel is set back from the main road in a courtyard so it is quiet too. Interior is nice and roomy with a great library space overlooking the main reception area.
As well as the hotel restaurant also try Osteria La Bocca Buona...very friendly and great food!
I would revisit the hotel at the drop of a hat...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The service was exceptional, the persons are the reception helped us with everything we wanted to know about the town and winery. The rooms were clean and nice at a good price for Europe. The breakfast service was very good. And the location is good, the town is so little anyways, you can walk everywhere from there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a really difficult review for us because the hotel itself was perfect and we had a great stay. We agree with the other reviews and even though we had a somewhat negative experience we think this may have been bad luck. We feel odd writing this because nothing was 'bad' and no-one was 'rude' but just a disappointing and below what we expected.

On the plus side:
- the room was beautiful; well decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean
- good information was provided in the room
- the design of the whole hotel and rooms is innovative, well thought through and very fitting to the area
- there were plenty of cosmetics provided free and they were of high quality (the best shower gel ever in a hotel!)
- we got a free bottle of wine in our room - a lovely touch and does establish that you are in a 4 star hotel
- it has bags of character! eg. we loved the built in telescopes in our room
- a great sun deck, sunny and comfortable, pretty and we had it all to ourselves!
- good location in Bra
- a lovely library
- an extremely varied and tasty breakfast
- reasonably priced mini bar and drinks
- check in and check out were very straightforward and quick.

HOWEVER
We were left a little underwhelmed with the service. When we arrived we signed something and gave our passports and were told 'room 13'. No-one (and there was only one member of staff visible) showed us the facilities or even told us about them, pointed out where the room was, where the lift was (we had a huge bag) or communicated any information to us at all.

We found our room and read in the information pack that there was a sundeck, restaurant, library, breakfast room and a lounge where you could help yourself to drinks. After we settled in we went to find these facilities. Two cleaning carts were blocking the entrance to the courtyard which we moved to access the door. There were no cleaners in sight. We decided, as it was lunchtime that we might dine in their restaurant for lunch; we went downstairs, we couldn't find the restaurant, there was no-one on reception and no sign of said cleaners, we went down in a lift, it took us outside, we looped the building, went back to reception, wandered around some more and generally got irritated. Finally we found a member of staff who showed us where the restaurant was (opposite the hotel nearer to the road). We went elsewhere for lunch.

When we returned to the hotel about 6pm we fancied a coffee from the lounge that we had read in the information pack existed (where you could 'help yourselves') and a sit on the sun deck - we found the lounge but couldn't work the coffee machine, realising that it was actually switched off, we turned it on and tried to work it - the whole time in view of a member of staff - eventually we asked, in Italian, how to work the coffee machine - he was very helpful and made us two coffees in the kitchen. We waited, then took these and a bottle of coke and carried them ourselves up the flight of stairs to the sun deck - it would have been good if he had just said 'i'll bring them to you' but he did say that he couldn't as he was the only member of staff.

We sat on the deck for about two hours. Again no-one came to check if we needed anything and we would have had another coffee or maybe even a bottle of wine from the cellar (that we never saw) but didn't want to go down and trouble anyone.

After dinner out, we returned to the hotel and sundeck - our coffee cups and coke bottle were still there (in fact they remained there until after we left and may still be there!) and at 10.55pm as we sat enjoying the view, the lights were turned off on us and we were plunged into darkness.

At breakfast (which as above was lovely) we arrived for the staff member to say instantly 'we do finish breakfast at 10' (it was 9.40am) which we knew and we immediately got the impression they wanted us to finish. The toaster was switched off (like the coffee machine the day before) and was one that required heating up. She didn't ask us if we wanted a cooked breakfast but as we could see it was on offer we had to go into the kitchen to ask for sausage and eggs - we asked for two and got one (but this was probably lost in translation so we forgive this). They cleared away the breakfast at 10am as we sat there.

All in all, these elements weren't awful, we still had a great stay - BUT it just left us feeling like we were the only people in a ghost town and the staff barely noticed we were there at all; this isn't really up to standard for a 4 star hotel.

From a business perspective, they also missed so many opportunities to make money out of us; we would have eaten in the restaurant and we would have had multiple coffees and wine had it been offered or obviously available.

All in all, great hotel, possibly our bad luck, but service could be much improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We had just cycled 75km and this was exactly worth biking to! The gentleman at the desk was very helpful, the rooms were lovely and within walking distance to the shopping and the old town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have stayed at Ascheri on a number of occassions mainly on business
The hotel and staff offer a 1st class service
Located in Bra Peidmonte right in the heart of the wonderful red wine region the Ascheri family offer not only a high standard hotel but a 1st rate restaurant in the spacious courtyard
The staff are very friendly/helpful and the rates are very competitive
You should try the Ascheri family wines from the winery located below the hotel
Within (car) 60 minutes from Turin airport, 90 minutes from Genoa and Milan.
Location good for exploring the Alps and of course Barolo wines etc

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Cantine Ascheri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cantine Ascheri

Address: Via Piumati, 25, 12042 Bra, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Bra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Cantine Ascheri 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Cantine Ascheri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Cantine Ascheri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.