We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! But no service, which was a shame.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Cantine Ascheri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albergo Cantine Ascheri to your Saves list
Albergo Cantine Ascheri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piumati, 25, 12042 Bra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bra
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel! But no service, which was a shame.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a really difficult review for us because the hotel itself was perfect and we had a great stay. We agree with the other reviews and even though we had a somewhat negative experience we think this may have been bad luck. We feel odd writing this because nothing was 'bad' and no-one was 'rude' but just a disappointing and below what we expected.

On the plus side:
- the room was beautiful; well decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean
- good information was provided in the room
- the design of the whole hotel and rooms is innovative, well thought through and very fitting to the area
- there were plenty of cosmetics provided free and they were of high quality (the best shower gel ever in a hotel!)
- we got a free bottle of wine in our room - a lovely touch and does establish that you are in a 4 star hotel
- it has bags of character! eg. we loved the built in telescopes in our room
- a great sun deck, sunny and comfortable, pretty and we had it all to ourselves!
- good location in Bra
- a lovely library
- an extremely varied and tasty breakfast
- reasonably priced mini bar and drinks
- check in and check out were very straightforward and quick.

HOWEVER
We were left a little underwhelmed with the service. When we arrived we signed something and gave our passports and were told 'room 13'. No-one (and there was only one member of staff visible) showed us the facilities or even told us about them, pointed out where the room was, where the lift was (we had a huge bag) or communicated any information to us at all.

We found our room and read in the information pack that there was a sundeck, restaurant, library, breakfast room and a lounge where you could help yourself to drinks. After we settled in we went to find these facilities. Two cleaning carts were blocking the entrance to the courtyard which we moved to access the door. There were no cleaners in sight. We decided, as it was lunchtime that we might dine in their restaurant for lunch; we went downstairs, we couldn't find the restaurant, there was no-one on reception and no sign of said cleaners, we went down in a lift, it took us outside, we looped the building, went back to reception, wandered around some more and generally got irritated. Finally we found a member of staff who showed us where the restaurant was (opposite the hotel nearer to the road). We went elsewhere for lunch.

When we returned to the hotel about 6pm we fancied a coffee from the lounge that we had read in the information pack existed (where you could 'help yourselves') and a sit on the sun deck - we found the lounge but couldn't work the coffee machine, realising that it was actually switched off, we turned it on and tried to work it - the whole time in view of a member of staff - eventually we asked, in Italian, how to work the coffee machine - he was very helpful and made us two coffees in the kitchen. We waited, then took these and a bottle of coke and carried them ourselves up the flight of stairs to the sun deck - it would have been good if he had just said 'i'll bring them to you' but he did say that he couldn't as he was the only member of staff.

We sat on the deck for about two hours. Again no-one came to check if we needed anything and we would have had another coffee or maybe even a bottle of wine from the cellar (that we never saw) but didn't want to go down and trouble anyone.

After dinner out, we returned to the hotel and sundeck - our coffee cups and coke bottle were still there (in fact they remained there until after we left and may still be there!) and at 10.55pm as we sat enjoying the view, the lights were turned off on us and we were plunged into darkness.

At breakfast (which as above was lovely) we arrived for the staff member to say instantly 'we do finish breakfast at 10' (it was 9.40am) which we knew and we immediately got the impression they wanted us to finish. The toaster was switched off (like the coffee machine the day before) and was one that required heating up. She didn't ask us if we wanted a cooked breakfast but as we could see it was on offer we had to go into the kitchen to ask for sausage and eggs - we asked for two and got one (but this was probably lost in translation so we forgive this). They cleared away the breakfast at 10am as we sat there.

All in all, these elements weren't awful, we still had a great stay - BUT it just left us feeling like we were the only people in a ghost town and the staff barely noticed we were there at all; this isn't really up to standard for a 4 star hotel.

From a business perspective, they also missed so many opportunities to make money out of us; we would have eaten in the restaurant and we would have had multiple coffees and wine had it been offered or obviously available.

All in all, great hotel, possibly our bad luck, but service could be much improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
23
4
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We had just cycled 75km and this was exactly worth biking to! The gentleman at the desk was very helpful, the rooms were lovely and within walking distance to the shopping and the old town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have stayed at Ascheri on a number of occassions mainly on business
The hotel and staff offer a 1st class service
Located in Bra Peidmonte right in the heart of the wonderful red wine region the Ascheri family offer not only a high standard hotel but a 1st rate restaurant in the spacious courtyard
The staff are very friendly/helpful and the rates are very competitive
You should try the Ascheri family wines from the winery located below the hotel
Within (car) 60 minutes from Turin airport, 90 minutes from Genoa and Milan.
Location good for exploring the Alps and of course Barolo wines etc

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at Ascheri Hotel for a week end. The Hotel is 5 minutes Walking from Bra City Center. The Hotel is a newly renovated winery building, very stilish and comfortable. You get a fee wine botte in your room as a welcome (appreciated) gesture. Clean spacious room with magnifying lenses inside the walls to look at the nearby mountains! A very good accueillance for the price. Comfortable free parking, info and good generale service, definitely the Hotel to be to explore Bra and the surroundings. WiFi 3€/day (after the wine we expected it free :) )

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were recommended to this hotel by a friend who is in the wine business. The hotel was beautiful!! There was an incredible amount of attention paid to every detail. The room was very large, comfortable and impeccably furnished. A lot of interesting touches in the design of the inn in all aspects. The room was a great value and included a wonderful breakfast. We were treated to a very interesting tour by one of the delightful owners of the winery, and really enjoyed talking with her and learning their history as well as their views on life in Italy. We ate at their restaurant located within the compound which had great food at a very reasonable price. Would love to go back and would recommend it to anyone with a love of food, travel and wine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We especially sought out this hotel after tasting a few of the Ascheri wines onboard a cruise ship. The hotel, wine cellar and restaurant did not disappoint. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make that you had a pleasant stay. The rooms were very modern and well kept. We enjoyed looking out of the telescopes in the wall of our room onto Bra and the Piemonte valley. We wish that we had booked to stay longer in the hotel, rather than spending a day in Milan. We'll definitely be returning to this hotel and their wine cellars! Cheers to all the staff membes that made our stay pleasant (Marchello, Matteo and Alessandro, to name a few).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We're Slow Food members and visiting Bra headquarters. This gem-like boutique hotel was so much more than we expected. Nothing worth quibbling about -- trendy but easy to use room controls, excellent used of concrete, wood, plaster, and torchis in a wonderful modern building. I would like to meet the architect to pay homage to his or her talent. Included dinner at the same-owner osteria was in a word perfect. I really loved my lentil salad and polenta with sausage and mushroom. This family makes excellent wines well (actually made it first) before they opened this Olympics-Era experiment in lodging hospitality. Bravo!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Cantine Ascheri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cantine Ascheri

Address: Via Piumati, 25, 12042 Bra, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Bra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Cantine Ascheri 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Cantine Ascheri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Cantine Ascheri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.