We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and care beyond your wildest dreams” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Larice Bianco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Larice Bianco to your Saves list
Hotel Larice Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Funivie No 10, 23032 Bormio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service and care beyond your wildest dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We cannot find enough superlatives to praise the family who own and run this hotel. We have had a pretty traumatic week due to an unfortunate fall by my husband on the ski slopes and Kiko (sorry Kiko if the spelling is wrong!), Mara and their parents have gone beyond the call of duty to help us from delivering one of their cell phones to the hospital so my husband and I could communicate with each other to coming to the hospital to help translate what the doctors were saying plus so very much more. We couldn't have managed without them and we can't thank them enough.
The hotel itself is in a perfect.location for the ski slopes (100metres) and for town (250m) and offers really comfortable and clean accommodation plus great evening meals with superb wine at really reasonable prices. The midweek banquet night food is incredible - especially the 'starte' buffet. Everyone in the hotel is extremely friendly, professional and obliging and Kiko and Mara particularly speak very good English. We had interconnecting rooms for us and our 2 boys of 12 and 11, almost a suite with a hall in-between the rooms plus 2 bathrooms, and very importantly, one with a bath - vital when skiing!
Bormio's skiing is excellent for intermediate skiers, probably a little challenging for beginners and those who haven't skied much. It's high too so good snow. Additionally it is so cheap eating out versus other European resorts we have been to in Austria and Switzerland; 3 euros for 2 Americano coffees!!!!!!!
It is a bit of a drag from Milan but well worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
53
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant Christmas at this hotel, particularly the great food which began with a good choice of buffet starters and working it's way through a sensibly portioned meat/fish course and followed by cheese and/or dessert. The Christmas Eve Meal took this all up a notch, with such a choice of tempting buffet starters that we struggled to finish all the other courses. Somehow we managed - it was Christmas! Our one niggle was the piped "muzak" which repeated on an endless loop and really irritated by the end of the meal. Otherwise we have nothing but praise for the hotel; ski-convenient, spotless rooms, comfortable bar and lounge and very well-managed by the Sosio family. The owners were very helpful when our luggage went astray at the airport and we had to track down some reasonably priced replacement clothes in an unfamiliar town. The complementary spa room was a much appreciated bonus, although ideally there could be a bit more space for the equipment in the gym room. Unfortunately we were not safe from the muzak here either. All in all this hotel is warmly recommended - although it was rather quiet at Christmas, making it all a bit low key.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the 5th year our group of 20 + has stayed at this 3* hotel. Family run, Dad, Mum, son and daughter, service is 1st class and personal but not smothering. Dinner is excellent, served by staff who know their job - honestly it should be 4*. Wednesday is banquet night and it is a tremendous evening with 4 courses least! Wine menu very good and not pricey. Our rooms were great - plenty of storage, a balcony to chill the drinks! There is a really big lounge sitting area with a grand piano, so we gathered there each night and had a sing-in with one of our group on the guitar and a wannabe piano player. So we didn't have to go out at night. The situation of the hotel is only 100 yards from the ski lift, so no buses involved - you can be on the slopes in 10 mins. What more could you want? By the way it has a wellness centre if you want to take a day off.

Room Tip: I asked for soft pillows and got them immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have led a group of people (between 15 - 20) on a skiing holiday to Bormio for the last 5 years. Each time we have stayed at Larice Bianco Hotel. For a skiing holiday this hotel is ideally located: a minute away from ski rental shops and from the main ski lift from the village. The centre of the village is about 5 minutes walk away.
The hotel is run by a very pleasant helpful wellcoming and friendly family - the Sosio family. The hotel which has a large communal area (with bar) is spotless throughout. Bedrooms and ensuites are of a moderate size and generally very pleasant - all with balconies have mountain views (though not all of the skiing area). The food is excellant - especially the evening meals. Every Wednesday there is a traditional dinner evening of about 6 courses served by staff in traditional costumes.
As far as I know all members of our group have been very pleased to continue coming to the Larice Bianco each year.
Over the years I have stayed in a number of Bormio hotels - the Larice Bianco has been our best find and importantly provides exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A group of us - 19 this year - stay at Larice Bianco for a week's skiing each January. This is our 5th. year at this hotel which probably says it all!!
The hotel is very well run, and has good food and service. Most rooms have a balcony and great views, and are modern well equipped and kept spotlessly clean.
It's clear that family Sosio take great pride in their hotel, and the fact that the same staff are there year after year is evidence of good management.
Excellent ski storage in basement with a Wellness Center which will cost extra.

Room Tip: 113 and 114 have very large balcony and excellent view up the mountain, but they are above bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_larice_bianco, Direttore at Hotel Larice Bianco, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for the review.
....... the wellness area is free of charge.
Best regards.

Kikko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very convenient to go skiing - no need to take a car or minibus !
Excellent food - especially the home made cakes!
Hotel staff is very helpful, they helped us to book the entrance for 'bagni nuovi'.
The hotel spa is rather small, though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuidhorn, Groningen, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed the hospitality, good food every day, lovely room, good service and kind staff.
We enjoyed the holiday in Bormio.
I got a wonderful cycling holiday.
We'll be back next year in Hotel Larice Bianco.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Larice Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Larice Bianco

Address: Via Funivie No 10, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Bormio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Larice Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three star hotel in Bormio located 100mt from the cabin lifts, its position is excellent being close to the ski slopes and the lift facilities.Our 45 bedrooms, panorami standard - panoramic superior e Family rooms , are all equipped with their own balcony where guests can sunbathe and enjoy a splendid view over our mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Larice Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Larice Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.