We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Lorenzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Lorenzo to your Saves list
Hotel San Lorenzo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Lorenzo 2, 23032 Bormio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a week staying at the beautiful San Lorenzo hotel in Bormio. We enjoyed a perfect week of relaxation, delicious food and wonderful Italian hospitality. The seven course Christmas dinner was spectacular, but actually all the breakfasts and dinners at San Lorenzo were excellent. We were fortunate with the weather as we enjoyed a white Christmas evening with lots of snow and then sunshine, so it there were perfect skiing conditions. Really, I don't know how they could improve San Lorenzo as for us it was just perfect. Thank you to Samantha, Marcella and the wonderful waitresses and housemaids for their outstanding service. Why would anyone stay anywhere else in Bormio?

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    69
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
40
98
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linwood, NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A group of friends and I recently made a short visit to Italy and Germany. We spent Thursday and Friday night in Italy, in a marvelous village called Bormio. Our rooms were well equipped, the hotel wifi was fast, free and constant, and every detail was in place for our visit. But, Samantha, the young woman running the Hotel San Lorenzo, was brilliant. I noticed time and again that she took a personal satisfaction in a job well done. She managed everything for us: laundry requests, dinner reservations, made-to-order cappuccino at dawn on the day we left. Her constant aim was to please - and she went above and beyond.

Room Tip: Spend as much time here as you can! You won't regret a minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We weren't really sure what to expect but we had such a great experience. The photos don't do it justice. It was a lovely hotel, modern bathrooms, comfortable rooms, clean and friendly. We were able to park underground securely which is of top priority for us and they were really helpful ensuring we were happy with the space. It felt very 'boutique' and the breakfast was superb. We had a fresh omelet which was nice. The only thing i would say is it was a bit difficult to find as our sat nav kept getting confused with all the one-way streets but now we know where it is we will definitely stay again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stoppered at this small hotel after a day on Stelvio Pass. We booked online and arrived at about 6pm. We were greeted by Samantha in English , the room was ready immediately and we were offered parking free of charge( both inside and outside)
The room was comfortable, with all amenities and the view from the balcony truly spectacular. Everything in the hotel is very clean and well maintained and the location in the old town made it easy to reach many good restaurants.
Would certainly recommend it

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This beautiful hotel in the middle of town was a delight, from the friendly greeting to the room to the food. We even had an individual garage in a block under the hotel at no extra charge.

The room was well equipped and very comfortable, but nothing special except for the view to the mountains from the balcony. After a long day's drive, culminating in the wonderful climb over the Stelvio Pass, we thoroughly enjoyed the large beers served to us on the well-furnished patio.

The only slight negative for us was that the restaurant only provided an all-you-can-eat buffet. We'd eaten well during the day and didn't want much so we thought we'd explained this well to the manager/owner (?) who said it wasn't a problem, indicating that we'd get a significant discount off the price. The next day she merely knocked €3 off our total bill of €158 (a discount of 10% on the dinner).

But having said that, the quality of the food was very good at both the dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We loved the San Lorenzo. We stayed in their suite, and it cannot get better than lying in the double ended bath, under the eaves, looking out across the bormio rooftops to the slope you skied down not more than a couple of vin chaud's earlier. What made this was the staff. We never tested the buffet breakfast, because having it served in bed was never too much trouble. Even though they normally do half board, they didn't bat an eyelid to recommended local restaurants (and we're interested in our feedback). They were simply fab. The room is wonderful, and great value for the money. If there was one niggle is that the traditional wood burner is now a wonderful central heating radiator - but at least it took no effort to get the room warm. Lastly, the location is perfect, just 3 min from the Main Street of Bormio.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First time in Bormio and this hotel is right in the centre of the village. It family owned and service is simply great: restaurant, breakfast, staff all is good ! Really cozy atmosphere and warm lounge. Let me suggest a room with valley view and a balcony to chill out. Jacuzy and sauna are available .Really a perfect choice

Room Tip: best room on the front of the hotel. Room 236 one of the preferred one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Lorenzo

Address: Via San Lorenzo 2, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bormio
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bormio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 3 star deluxe hotel operating since 1924 located in the centre of Bormio fulfilling your desire for tranquillity. A welcoming establishment, elegant, rich in its history, completely renovated in a traditional mountain style where you can find every comfort. Each room has its own balcony, en suite bathroom with shower and hydro-massage bath, satellite Tv, telephone, minibar, hairdryer, safe, and WI FI internet. The “Suite della Torre” (Tower Suite) can offer you unforgettable moments for a romantic and exclusive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lorenzo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Lorenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.