We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in Bormio, but a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vallechiara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vallechiara to your Saves list
Hotel Vallechiara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Ciuk 10, 23032 Bormio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Bormio
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not in Bormio, but a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

If you want to stay in Bormio, this is not an optimal choice. This would be an excellent choice if you come in the winter to ski as the slopes are a walking distance from hotel. As we visited during the summer, it was very quiet, mostly empty, but, like most Italy, very beautiful. The room we got at the top of the chalet had several windows and had great views of the mountains. It was great to see the Alps from the bed you're sleeping in. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, helped us plan a car trip around the mountains noting interesting spots to check out (Stelvio Pass is an amazing drive!). There were few guests staying there in June, so when we came to the dinning area in the morning for breakfast and in the evening for dinner we felt like everything was done especially for us. The elevators are small but the rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in summer time, its on the ski slopes over Bormio but in summer is quiet and a real hidden gem. The hotel is family run, English is spoken. It has the best views in Bormio, the Sun desk with views over the town, near the Stelvio and Gavia passes. The rooms are of a high standard and in winter this hotel is apparently and understandingly packed, but in summer its quiet. The food is excellent and very reasonable, the breakfast is a buffet style and unfortunately the coffee is from a machine, but they do have English breakfast tea .... excellent value

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF - CA - USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed here after driving the Stelvio Pass for one night. The hotel itself if quite nice and well maintained but out of the way from Bormio. It's about 10-15 minutes up the hill from the town in a locale called Ciuk and there is really nothing else there so dont plan on walking to anything. The view from the deck and restaurant is beautiful and it sits right next to a ski lift, so in the winter, the location may be preferable. That being said, the roads to get there are so tight and difficult in good conidtions, I cannot imagine driving there if it were at all icy. The rooms were small and the hotel is a bit dated, but everything seems to be maintanted well and the bathroom in our room looked like it had been recently renovated. Excellent, roomy shower with lots of pressure and hot water--very important for a hotel this high up in the mountains. The restaurant has a very limited menu in the summer due the low volume of guests and the food was fine (not bad, not great, just fine). Brunch the next morning was good with a typical European spread. The family that runs it was very helpful and happy although only one of them spoke English. We got along fine using Spanish and the few Italian words we knew so just be prepared.

I will give the hotel a 'recommend' although it's really set up as a ski chalet. they do a good job and put out the effort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

Our stay at the Vallechiara Hotel was excellent. The staff personel was very accommodating, always available to answer questions and to help with requests. The hotel itself was very nice: the rooms were comfortable and clean, the restaurant offered very good food with a breathtaking view on the valley. Finally, the Vallechiara was ideal for winter sports since ski rental could be made on site and we were within walking distance from the ski lift (even with ski boots on)!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vallechiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vallechiara

Address: Localita Ciuk 10, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Bormio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vallechiara 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vallechiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vallechiara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.