We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Del Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Del Mare to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Del Mare
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Portico della Punta 34, 18012 Bordighera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bordighera
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here for three nights. The hotel and staff are excellent and definitely 5 star. Rooms are good, breakfast is good. Only down point for us was the location. Whilst the sea views are great, we found the hotel was located in a very quiet place without much to keep us amused. Also, no facilities for kids.

Would recommend if you are wanting a very quiet place to stay with good sea views.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    57
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
23
107
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011 via mobile

with only about 65 rooms this hotel is a marvellous find on te ligurian coast. great pebble beach, views from room balconies and prices a fraction of te French rivieras 5 star hotels. only downside is the food which lacks imagination and doesnt live up to the rest of te hotel and its marvellous baroque furnishings. great place from which to explore Liguria!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provence
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We booked sometime in advance for our stay. On arrival the hotel had no record of our booking. This was however speedily and efficiently resolved and an upgraded room with sparkling wine provided to apologise for the inconvenience.

Don't be put off by the outer shell of the hotel which looks like 70's concrete era. The inside has been converted and the views from the room balconys over the Med are great.

The hotel is a brisk 20 minute walk from the outskirts of the town whih is a shame as we envisaged a stroll into town in the evenings.

The spa facility available free of charge has a great jacuzzi pool the size of most swimming pools.

The menu is expensive so opt for the half board option if you want to eat in the hotel in the evening.

We went during low season with very low occupancy. We are not sure if we would want to go during high season as it is a large hotel and the demands on sun loungers/swimming pool etc in this time might make the hotel grounds feel too crowded.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We booked for two days and ended up staying 4 nights. The hotel was quiet and the location was ideal to sit in the sun, and enjoy the view of the Mediterranean. A few steps down and you can enjoy time at a private beach right on the ocean. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful, and many spoke English.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We arrived at the hotel in the evening while travelling along the coast.
The reception promised us a reduction because of the late hour of our arrival.
The next morning when we came to pay our bill he denyed that he promised such a
thing and we had to pay the full price. which was very high (184 euro for BB).
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was the worse dinner we had in our trip,
in spite of the high price we paid for it.
The attitude of the waiters was terrible.
Our advice is to get close to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2003

This hotel is biult on top of a 1970's holiday appartment complex, which at first sight is off putting. The entrance is in a cave like circular parking area. Parking is difficult, but the door men will do that for you when they take you luggage. The public rooms are full of gilded antiques ( about the same age as some of the guests! ), in a brave attempt to make a 1970's box appear much older. Most rooms have a sea view and balcony. The standard rooms are in a separate block, and are similar to travel lodge rooms in england. The suites consist of two rooms, both with balconies. These are well fitted out, lovely bathrroms and very clean. You also have use of their pool, which is very nice, and small private beach, which is not really up to much. You have an allocated sun lounger in the mature gardens near the pool. (if you sit on the wrong one, you get shouted at in italien by the sunlounger organiser !! ). The restaurant is good, and the waiters especially helpful. Many of the other guests clearly come here regularily, probably since it openned (! ), and some seem as guilded as the antiques. There is music in the bar in the evenings, though my advice is explore the town, which is much less crowded than many other parts of the Itlien riviera at this time of year. The staff are friendly and helpful. The Hotel is expensive, and it is probably better to book in advance through a tour operator. Phone to reduce the rack rate rather than email, is more likely to get a reduction. Pay more for the suite though, its worth it if you are on holiday.

and, don't go on holiday in august !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Del Mare

Address: Via Portico della Punta 34, 18012 Bordighera, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Bordighera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bordighera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.