We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Savoy Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Europa 51, 30020 Bibione, San Michele Al Tagliamento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Bibione
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly hotel in beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Savoy Beach for 9 days with our 19 month old daughter. There is free parking in the garage underneath the hotel. We had a baby cot waiting for us in the room which were clean and attended to twice per day. The biggest selling point is clearly the location right at the gorgeous beach. A spot with lounge chairs and umbrella is also included in the (high compared to other hotels nearby) price. Our daughter enjoyed playing in the sand and the beach is shallow for 30 meters or so, making it also relatively save for children. The breakfast contained all the standard continentals (eggs, croissants, fresh pressed orange juice, cappuccinos, fruits and cheeses) and also a good dessert section with 4-5 different cakes. The bread selections also caters to the German/Austrian customers who seem to be in the majority. The pool is large and has a shallow baby area. However the water was surprisingly a bit too cold. Overall we had a wonderful stay. We did however have two gripes: 1) There's no Wifi access in the rooms. 2) Smoking is allowed in most outside areas, including - and this is unacceptable to us - right next to the partially enclosed children's play area. Not only does the smoke from guests get caught in there, my asthmatic wife also had to leave often when we were playing with our daughter because guests started smoking close by. I acknowledge it's still part of Italian culture but to cater for their international customers they need to increase the non-smoking areas at the property.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    47
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
55
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
small town
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one week in August 2012. Our room was on the 3rd floor, with a view of the swimming pool and beach. It featured the usual amenities (flat screen TV with 11 channels, 10 were Italian and one was German), a mini bar, a spacious bathroom with a shower stall, a toilet and a bidet.

We had the bed & breakfast formula, which means we had breakfast in the hotel and the rest of the day we went to eat outside - I think this was a good decision because there are so many really good restaurants within 5 minutes (on foot) and we especially loved eating at Bella Napoli (a pizzeria on the main street in Bibione).

The breakfast was nice but not really 5 stars - there was bread and rolls, some pastries, cereal, various bread spreads, cheese and ham, eggs, bacon, etc. But the milk was only labeled "fresh milk", there was no way to tell whether it was full fat or not, and there was no option for lactose intolerant people. Meanwhile most hotels offer at least soy milk if not lactose-free milk to their guests. The bread rolls were not very good, tasted kinda old.
The coffee, however, was very good!

There is a parking garage in the basement, with plenty of space, so there was never any problem finding a spot, that's a definite plus.

The Internet connection: they call it "WiFi" but probably don't know that "Wi" stands for wireless, because the only way to connect to the internet in your room is with a cable! So, yes, they do have internet, but NOT wifi. Thankfully, the receptionist could lend us a cable for the week.

There is a safe in the room in case you want to store your valuables - the problem is, it's TINY. It fits your wallets and cell phones and that's it! An iPad is too big for the safe. Nowadays when people travel, they take their cameras, their laptops or tablets, and various other electronics, and they need a safe place to lock them in. They definitely need to install bigger safes.

The bedding in our room was okay. Not particularly high quality and definitely not worth 5 stars. The pillows were flat rectangles of foam. Very uncomfortable to sleep on. The towels weren't very nice either. Thin and rather rough. Felt like a loofah on your skin.

The good thing was the speed at which the housekeeping cleaned the rooms each morning. I noticed two women working together and they were incredible. Of course, as the rooms were done so quickly, it was at the expense of thoroughness, the shower stall, for example, was only rinsed every other day, even though there was sand from the evening prior.

The pool area was clean and nicely done, the pool bar was a special touch - you could sit at the bar while IN the pool. That was fun.

What we didn't like was the constant badgering by the entertainment staff. It started at breakfast. I am not a morning person and really want to just eat my toast and drink my coffee before strangers want something from me. But no, as soon as we sat down to eat our breakfast, one of the entertainers showed up at our table, listing all the aqua gymnastics classes and other fun stuff and tried to get us to sign up. I wished we could have a large sign that said "Let us eat breakfast in peace" on our table, but that would be rude, right?

And it continued all through the day if you were at the pool, entertainers coming to every single person and trying to get them to sign up for a class. We ended up just going to the beach every day.

It would have been MUCH MORE enjoyable if they did it the way other beach resorts do it - have a list of daily activities where every guest can check it and decide for himself if he wants to join or not. Let people eat their meal or read their book or just relax on the lounger!

Bibione is a beautiful small town and we felt very safe there with our son. It seems popular with other families with children and the elderly. The nightly promenade along the main street was fun. There are so many gelaterias and restaurants and souvenir shops and other retail stores, but remember to spray a mosquito repellent before you go out in the evening :)

Despite my criticism above, we enjoyed our vacation in Bibione and will be coming back. If to the same hotel, that remains to be seen. The quality of sleep wasn't very good (not just because of the bedding and pillows, but mostly because we could hear literally everything people did in adjoining rooms), but then again, who goes to Italy to sleep, right? ;)

The hotel staff, the receptionists, the bar staff, the housekeeping, they were all VERY friendly and welcoming, the resort itself was very clean and well taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

O.K. so its eay just to agree wit someone else's review but I only feel that I can add to what has already been said. The resort was so beautiful and there were never more than 6 people in the pool.Rooms were very average. My biggest regret was that I hadn't taken the children when they were much younger as the ease of moving from pool to beach to riding bikes along a beautiful pedestrianised prom was something that would have made our holiday so easy when we (and they ) were younger. As it was, the place was a little quiet for young teenagers. Breakfast was my favourite meal. The evening meals I enjoyed, though it felt more German than Italian. The rest of the family were not as keen and we missed walking into town to choose different restaurants. No one spoke to us all week but hey ho, we are not the type to chum up with "that fun loving couple from yorkshire" or whatever. Quite a long drive from the airport too. Would I return? Yes to Bibione when I am retired with young Grandchildren but I wouldn't pay the prices i paid Thompson for the Savoy Beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anonyme Island, Seychelles
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Hotel is perfect located and enjoy a nice view.
Rooms are nice , preferred Therme side .
Perfect kitchen and very professional service.
Really good wines, try Pinot Grigio Villa Russiz !!!

In the summer time , better to be away , too much people and very hot but May or September,
if without kids , perfect to relax .
No really segment target , too many families with small kids, not my stuff.
Otherwise perfect for anice WE or a superb Silvester party.
Perfect kitchen !!!

Room Tip: Best rooms are upper floor and Bibione Therne side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

It was the strangest thing: I thought I was hating it while we were there, and then I missed it as soon as we left. Honestly, I do hope it's not my kind of hotel, but after five nights I almost didn't want to leave.

The only thing that's really BAD about it is the constant "animazione" going on round the pool. The area is blasted with current club music all day long, as an animation team of a dozen teenagers try to drag the guests into water aerobics or all day beach-volleyball tournaments. If you could take that away (and it does stop for lunch and in the later afternoon), it's great just lying in the sun.

It isn't a five star hotel in any conventional sense of the term. Maybe there's an Italian ministry of tourism standard printed somewhere in very small letters which defines a "five star BEACH hotel", and this is it. Think of it as a top-of-the-range VW, or the best off-the-peg suit in Topman. It's something to aspire to over a narrow horizon.

But, then, the (buffet) food was remarkably good, and the wine well-priced. And row upon row of parasols, lined up like invading troops, look appalling only until you've found yours and it's right at the water's edge and your under it watching the kids splash about.

There's one blonde(d) older lady at reception. Avoid her. The rest of the staff are really helpful, although communicating in English (a poor third language after Italian and German) is sometimes a struggle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

It's strange to enjoy a holiday, even though the hotel was a disappointment. However, the weather was great, the location suited us, as we just wanted to relax, sit in the sun, read our books and swim, we liked the resort itself and aspects of the hotel worked for us.

The hotel calls itself 5 star (Thompson Holiday brochure agrees with this rating). It definitely isn't. We stay in lots of 4 & 5 star hotels in the UK and abroad and this wasn't one of them. We had booked a deluxe room. The first room we were given was small, the shower had 2 sliding doors which didn't work properly and instead of a shower cubicle, there was a mat to stand on.

The balcony (we had booked a sea view) overlooked a high rise apartment block, so that whenever you opened the sliding doors or drew back the net curtains, anyone on their balcony could see straight into your room. You could see the sea from one corner of the balcony. Otherwise, all you could see were the apartments. My request to move was handled badly and I was made to feel a nuisance. In the end, I kicked up enough fuss that they moved us the following day to a much bigger room on the other side of the hotel, even though they had assured me that all rooms were the same. Rooms on this side were overlooking lawns, trees and the sea. The bathroom had a proper shower cubicle and was much better equipped. They had obviously lied to me.

The biggest disappointment for us was the food, especially dinner. Yes, it was plentiful and no, it wasn't quality. We love Italian food because of the simplicity of the dishes made with such amazing ingredients. It's one of the reasons we chose to go there. Instead, the antipasti were unappetising and overly complicated, pasta was hit and miss and the main courses were often dry and overcooked or not particularly tasty. (For example, lasagne seemed to be made with minced, cooked veal, possibly left over from the previous evening's roast, dry and lacking in everything which makes a good lasagne). Added to that, service was not good. Younger waiters were mostly friendly, others less so. Staff (who spoke no English at all) served the pasta and meat from a serving hatch and almost threw it on the plate whilst talking to their fellow 'chefs'. Descriptions were hard to understand unless you spoke Italian or German, as the English translations didn't always make sense. There was a range of salad ingredients to make your own salad and these were better. Desserts were revolting - lots of overly sweet, inedible cakes, oozing with synthetic-tasting sauces. They even managed to kill profiteroles! On the plus side, there was always fruit and the cherries were fantastic, as was the melon. Dinner was from 7pm - 8.30pm and there was a sense of waiters hurrying you up, removing one person's finished meal whilst the other was still eating. The Maitre d' was present insomuch as he walked around talking to diners, not present in that he didn't appear to be overseeing staff and although friendly to everyone around us, pointedly ignored us every evening. Perhaps he was embarrassed that he didn't speak English or just didn't like us!

Breakfasts were much better, as was the relaxed atmosphere. The choice was greater and although the rolls weren't as fresh as one would expect, there were so many other things to choose from, that their absence from our plates wasn't a problem. If you managed to find the prosecco, hidden away in a corner, you could enjoy a wonderfully cold glass of wine, or Bucks Fizz mixed with the freshly squeezed orange juice. Coffee was plentiful and we sat and watched the world go by enjoying copious cups.

Housekeeping was managed very well, as the hotel is spotless throughout. Bed linen is changed daily, which although wonderful, isn't so ecologically sound and we would have rather they spent the money on better food ingredients and changed the beds less frequently. But that's just our choice and not everyone would agree.

The hotel is well designed, with places to sit and relax inside and outside. The pool is great and the location is fantastic , though the pool bar is disappointing, with one particularly surly waiter, who smoked behind the bar (the waitress was great). All that separates the hotel and the beach is a car-free promenade, which is wonderful and great if you are there with children, I would imagine. Each room is allocated a numbered place on the beach, with two sunbeds an umbrella and a table, which is very good. If you use the beach, be sure to ask for your pitch as soon as you arrive, as the hotel doesn't offer it automatically at check-in and we didn't ask for it until day 4, when the best spots were taken by then.

Management could really benefit from some training. They are less than helpful, though again, maybe this is because they don't speak much English (the hotel caters for Italians and German speaking guests). So when we checked in, the information they gave us was so minimal that we took three ins and out of the lifts to discover that you need to swipe your key on a pad inside the lift before it will take you upstairs! Not the end of the world, but as we had just checked in and reception was empty, the receptionists just sat and watched us walk in and out until we went and asked them why we couldn't get the lift to work. And that attituded sums up our experience, sadly.

Bibione itself is a good resort, with a main street of shops, cafes and people enjoying themselves. It feels very safe and very friendly. Near the hotel is a great beach cafe, where the food is good and the service excellent - the hotel could learn from them!

Visit Atmosphere restaurant for excellent pasta and Bar Germania for great service. Avoid Bar Cortina, where we were shouted at in German by the owner, as we had bought ice creams in cones from her and then made the mistake of sitting down in her cafe to eat them...... apparently you can't sit down if you have cones, even if she sells them to you! But most cafes are lovely and very friendly.

This isn't a resort to visit if you don' t speak a smattering of Italian, unless you speak German, which is their second language. Or unless you don't mind that. We don't normally do packages but the Thompson rep (Lesley) was very friendly and although we didn't need to book any trips, she was as helpful as she could be.

And that sums it all up for us. Previous reviews have waxed lyrical about the food, so I can only imagine it used to be good. Of our fourteen nights, we only enjoyed the food in two or three of them. The rest of the time it was average or below average.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Hotel was really nice, clean, with gorgeous breakfast, nice and clean beach. Perfect stay in Bibione.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Beach Hotel

Address: Corso Europa 51, 30020 Bibione, San Michele Al Tagliamento, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > San Michele Al Tagliamento > Bibione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Bibione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Savoy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.