We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ONE OFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wood Bridge Alpini

The Wood Bridge Alpini
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bridges
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This marvelous bridge made in wood, named Ponte Degli Alpini, is dated from 1209, although it was rebuilt some times along the centuries. It is also called Ponte Vecchio, and the view one can enjoy from it, over the Brenta river and facing the Alpes during the Winter, is simply great !
SICKLINGHALL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A ONE OFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am a retired Structural Engineer with 50 years of designing structures and bridges all over the world but I have never seen a bridge as unique as this especially in timber. Equally it is a very pleasant experience walking across it, the views up the river to the mountains is spectacular and to me exhilarating, a must visit when in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    75
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and great photo location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have been here on lots of occasions and enjoy it every time I go. I have to say it is one of my favorite places. Have visited with family, friends and as a couple. Everyone that visits with us is treated to this location. The bridge although not the original is still beautiful and the view is amazing. On one side you have the mountains with the water coming down from the mountainside into the river below. On the other side you have the most picturesque houses overlooking the river. You have to take a photo on the bridge, even for an amateur like myself pictures always come out great just because the scenery is so beautiful. There is a Grappa museum and some bars and cafes at each end. Also a good selection of restaurants, ceramics, souvenirs, antiques and interesting little shops. The town square is always lively with lots going on. Enjoy a drink and people watch. This place always has the atmosphere to make it a truly enjoyable experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Central Bassano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were in Bassano to visit my cousins, who live in a suburb of Bassano. We explored the central city in the morning, and spent the rest of the day with the cousins. The old central city has everything you need to pass the time: excellent shopping, bakeries, coffee shops and cafe, food stores of all kinds, etc., etc. We didn't have time to visit the museums or the WWI memorials and monuments. That is for another visit. If you a fan of Downton Abbey, you'll remember that a scondrel who fathered a child with one of servants was killed at the battle of Vittorio Veneto. The battlefields are a shot distance from Bassano.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“don´t miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The whole city is a great place for your stay - it has a special atmosphere especially at weekend nights in summer when people are sitting outsides in many caffees and tratorias with their familes and friends and enjoyed the glad-time. Plan your visit of this bridge in early night when the cocktail time is and enjoy one of local aperitifs by Nardin just on a bridge. Later go to the castle and enjoy some of excelent meals in local´s restaurants at the plazza.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovolone, Italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great for a photo... and a cheeky grappa ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a lovely, romantic spot for a photo and also - with Nardini and other distillery outlets and cafés at either end - the perfect opportunity to try a grappa in the open air. Tip: tasting is free in Nardini if you buy a bottle afterwards. Try the Tagliatella or Aqua di Cedro for something a little different.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wood Bridge Alpini also viewed

Bassano Del Grappa, Province of Vicenza
Bassano Del Grappa, Province of Vicenza
 
Bassano Del Grappa, Province of Vicenza
 

Been to The Wood Bridge Alpini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wood Bridge Alpini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Wood Bridge Alpini to your Saves list