We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, charming - definitely not "ski-in-ski-out"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet della Guida

Save Saved
You added Chalet della Guida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet della Guida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frazione Rochemolles, 49, 10052 Bardonecchia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Bardonecchia
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Different, charming - definitely not "ski-in-ski-out"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Outstanding but definitely outward bound for skiing. Totally different. Not if you want ski-in-ski-out. Getting the tiny 4x4 to shuttle us up from the rented 8 seater with the bags set the scene. Beautiful spacious chalet rooms, restaurant one hundred metres away - but mind your step at night in the snow. Totally out of the way. Seems like a commune rather than a business and the people - mostly women - were lovely. English was a problem (the check in was a hoot), although Huggie Bear the boss man who was there day two who spoke good English. We went to ski, we got the snow, and we had to use snow chains four out of the seven days - on and off, twice a day. One day full blizzard conditions on the slopes. Not for the feint hearted. Bardonecchia is OK for a day's skiing - mostly for Torino week-enders - although we only tried one side of the road. Sestriere and Claviere is bigger - although the Italian signage is confusing. Fantastic snow so fantastic holiday, but more an adventure than a skiing trip. I loved the place - but would I go back? Maybe in two years time, not next year - when I would prefer to ski-in-ski-out for a break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

i had visited the chalet during the end of june. the land scape is just beautiful, overlooking the valleys and surrounded by mountains, the feeling is fresh and light. we had some beautiful yoga sessions by the stream.and enjoyed the serenity.
the food at the restaurant is just great! loved it! the rooms are really cozy! the people who run the place are really sweet and welcoming, and was wonderful getting to know them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

we spent 3 days at Chalet della Guida (20-22 June 2013) - the location is only 5 minute from Bardonecchia by car in a very sweet and cute "frazione". the structure is a tipycal local mountain building but with internal modern and perfectly arranged rooms and flats.
our small flat was simply wonderful with a small kitchen equipped with all useful stuff
all rooms and bathrooms are always always perfectly cleaned and tidied up
the owner and all other people (internal staff) are in the meantime friendly, familiar but also professional and concentrated on the client.
to summarize: the perfection of a 5 stars hotel in a small Chalet
the surrounding area is amazing and pretty beautiful: mountains, unspoiled nature, some small falls that jump down and give to the horizon the imagine of a "tale's picture".
we have already booked next stay for us and our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Note that these accomodations are NOT in Bardonecchia; they are located in Rochemolles, which is about 8 kilometers northeast of Bardonecchia, and accessed only by way of a one lane-dirt road.

Overall a very pleasing stay during the latter part of May with my wife. Good, "home-cooked" food from the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Chalet della Guida for one full week at the beginning of March 2013 - 2 adults 1 6-years boy and a dog.
We took this leave to ski on the slopes of nearby Bardonecchia.
The residence is a nice structure, rooms are really good, confortable in size and recently renewed.
The owners and the personnell are all friendly warm and very helpful in case of extra requests of any kind.
The location is stunning, in a small charming village, half buried in the snow and completely immersed in the alpine nature, with sight on beatiful landscapes.
The drive to Bardonecchia is short, even if the road is quite a narrow mountain road but after 1 or 2 trips you get used to it and then it is great fun.
We took our meals to the excellent restaurant 'L Fouie for which we are writing separare review.
By all aspects this was a great choice and we warmly recommend this place to all true mountain lovers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almada, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Outstanding landscape! 100% unspoiled nature! Top luxury: to be almost alone in the mountain! Very, very nice and warm people! Very nice and tasty food! What can we ask more?! My 8 yr old boy was in haven with all that snow (we are not used to it). To return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braila, Romania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Last week we spent three days at Chalet della Guida, and we were very impressed by this beautiful place. It's located at about 1600 meters altitude in a beautiful valley. The old mountain houses, the location of this village, the tranquility of this place, the mountains... everithing there takes you into a magical world. The residence is very clean and peaceful, and the rooms reward you, with a beautiful view. The furniture is rustical, typical to mountains vilages, and the beds are confortable. The restaurant also is a nice place where you can eat very good traditional dishes. The personal is nice and helpful. From Bardonecchia is very simple to arive to Rochemolles at residence.Early in the morning or in the evening you can see or hear the stags, deers, marmots, howks or eagles. About 5 km up into mountain is a beautiful lake. From the same route you can go to see the refuge where you find other little lakes, and you can go from there into the heart of mountains, to see a lots of waterfalls and the glaciers. For those that loves the nature, the mountains and tranquility I recommend this place with all my soul.Once seen this place, will never get out from your soul. We will definitely return at Chalet della Guida.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet della Guida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet della Guida

Address: Frazione Rochemolles, 49, 10052 Bardonecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Bardonecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet della Guida 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chalet della Guida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet della Guida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.