I don't normally write reviews but feel that the ones for Casa Bianca give a slightly false impression. I would agree with most of the positives detailed in the other reviews. The food and accommodation is good overall and Graham and Kate provide a welcoming and relaxed environment. Unfortunately a few issues left a slightly sour taste - Breakfast is served 8-9am and they appear to be very strict on this, as when one couple arrived at 9.02 the cooked breakfast option was not offerred or available. Also although the english breakfast was freshly cooked to order, the chef was not willing or able to offer any variations, such as poached, boiled or scrambled eggs and the portion provided was effectively for a child, although you could have filled up on the part baked bread and conserves, provided there were some left. Afternoon tea was great but there were also a few issues with dinner, some evenings it was very good (duck) and some evenings it was quite poor (fish pie), but there was always more than enough wine to go round! Another problem concerned hot water. We had a room with a bath and its own boiler but if one of us had a bath (half full) the other couldn't have a hot shower until the next day. If showers were had the water was always going cold at the end of the second shower. Also I wouldn't recommend that you mop your bathroom floor with towels should the need arise as after one change of towels during the week we were not allowed to change towels again. I was certainly glad that I'd brought my own at this point but others in the Chalet were not so fortunate and had to use the dirty and wet towels that had been hung up to dry when the room was serviced. My final gripe concerns toilet roll... I don't consider myself to be an excessive user but on more than one occasion, I had to go and ask for more, which I felt was an unnecessary annoyance. We really enjoyed our trip to Bardy though and the instructor, Fulvio, was a legend. If you get the chance go for an evening meal at the top of the Mountain (Rachel and Aldos)... this is run as an excursion by the tour companies but if you book direct with them and catch the last drag lift up, it's cheaper and you can ski down the mountain in the moonlight afterwards with Rachel acting as guide and Aldo (and their crazy dog) following and lighting up the piste on the skidoo. unforgettable... the food was excellent as well. The best place for lunch appeared to the the restaurant opposite the chair lift from Campo Smith. To sum up the above, I would recommend Casa Bianca but wished it could have been a little better!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firstly we would like to say thank you for your review Piste Pete and the positive comments that you have made. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as most of our customers do. Secondly we would like to address some of the issues that you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
We believe that our breakfast is very comprehensive as we offer a continental option (baguette, preserves, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fruit juices, tea/coffee) as well as a hot option of both porridge and cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast consists of bacon, beans, tomato, fried bread and a choice of egg either fried, scrambled or boiled. We are sorry if you didn't understand that these options were available to you.
Breakfast is served between 8-9am as after this we start to clean the chalet. The couple that are mentioned arrived for breakfast after 9:10 when it had all been cleared away and therefore were offered tea/coffee as well as a continental breakfast. We advise all guests of meal times on the first night to avoid this situation, as we want all our guests to have full bellies for a day of skiing!
We try to cater for a variety of tastes, some nights it will be more homely food such as fish pie and others more refined food such as pan-fried duck breast. We do our best to provide a well-balanced diet, we are sorry if some of the meals were not to your taste.
As like most chalets we provide one set of linen and towels for our guests throughout the week but will offer one towel change upon request (which we did.) Any further towel changes are only subject to availability.
When we clean the rooms daily (apart from our day off) we try to make sure that there are at least two toilet rolls available in each bathroom. If this wasn't the case then we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.
We are glad that you enjoyed Bardonecchia as a resort, we feel that it's a hidden gem! If you do want to come back in the future then we would be happy to have you stay at the Bianca.
Graeme and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.