We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Geneys Splendid

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Geneys Splendid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Geneys Splendid
Via L Einaudi 21, 10052 Bardonecchia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 hotels in Bardonecchia
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hotel and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Myself and my family stayed here over the Christmas period for a skiing holiday. We immediatley felt welcome in the hotel, and the staff could not do enough for us, throughout our stay. We had our 12 month old daughter with us and the hotel staff gave her toys to play with at dinner and also lent her a sledge to play with.

When we arrived we were shown a few different rooms and given a choice of where we would like.

The food was excellent. There was plenty of choice at the breakfast buffet and the evening meals were also very tasty.

Our room was very clean, and we made use of the free bus to the slopes each morning, The bus runs at 9am and 9.30am each day but if you miss those, then there are regular free buses running just a short walk from the hotel.

There is also a good supermarket nearby in which you can buy just about anything.

Highly recommend this hotel and am likely to be going back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
28
16
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Des Geneys is a great little hotel. Staff couldn't be friendlier and food was excellent. Although away from the slopes still a good location - a nice walk to the chairlift (or use the free ski bus if you prefer) and then right next to town centre for bars in the evening. Highly recommended and would definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked this hotel as a 'last resort' while trying to sort out a short ski break. We had a number of different needs within the group and were finding it difficult to fins something that suited everyone.

This is a super little friendly hotel - the rooms are clean albeit a little basic - however we did have a great Jacuzzi bath which was delightful after a long day skiing!

The place had a lovely fee,l a really friendly bar, where from the word go we were treated as old friends. We didn't eat there in the evenings so I can't comment on the dinners but the breakfasts were good.

i would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with two girl friends. I have never written a review before, but felt compelled to do so , after such a fabulous week. The owners treated us like part of the family and a special thank you to Christina (entertainment) and Rosa (bar) who made our holiday.

The food is to die for and after checking the price of a bottle of champagne, drank it all week!!

A special touch was the free mini bus that takes you to the slope between 9 and 9.30am. Hire a locker at Campo Smith and there is no walking in ski boots or carrying skis! Perfect to roll into the car park restaurant after a hard days skiing relaxed and comfortable! We were given free peanuts and the most delicious pizza i have ever tasted, just because we bought a drink.

The resort itself is a bit industrial and not the most quaint and picture postcard, but Bardoneccias hospitality more than makes up for this. The icing on the cake is empty slopes with no queues. Deffinately want to return to both Bardoneccia and Hotel Des Gerneys.

Anita Middlesbrough UK

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My son and I stayed at this hotel 10-17th Feb and only booked 3 days beforehand so we weren't sure what to expect. But we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Des Geneys. Our room was small, slightly dated but more that adequate and very clean. Room was cleaned and beds made daily. The hotel staff were most friendly and welcoming. There was evening entertainment for children, Christina (the entertainer) did a great job of amusing us playing table tennis. The bar was very welcoming and the bar staff were friendly. The food was amazing, maybe a little too sophisticated for my 11 year old however by the end of the week he was wolfing down the 4 courses! Couldn't fault the food at all myself, not sure why some reviewers were critical of food, maybe they were expecting pizza and chips?! My wife had contacted the hotel from the UK during the week and arranged a cake, which the hotel provided without charge, what lovely service. The hotel provides ITALIAN lessons in the evening at 5:30. Would love to return sometime with my wife and children. Thank you for a wonderful week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed half board at this Hotel 10-17 Feb 2013. We had a large 3 bedded room with bathroom (and a bath) so nice to use after a day on the slopes. We had intended to eat out on some nights but the food was so good we didn't need to. Evening meal, 4 courses with 3 choices for 2nd and 3rd course, 1st course was a buffet style cold starter with lots of choice but it is wise to be at dinner when it starts, 19:30.
The hotel staff are very attentive and helpful. In the mornings they run an 8 seater bus to the main slopes between 09:00 and 09:30 which is great and saves messing about with the free ski bus. In the evening the ski bus stops at the bottom of the hill...and the Hotel is only a 300-400 yd walk away, uphill. (if you don't like walking in ski boots you can hire lockers at Campo Smith, the main ski area, where you can leave you ski's, boots, poles, etc. and change into more comfortable footwear.)
The hotel location is fine, being near the centre of town which is really one long street but has a number or bars and restaurants and is quite pretty, if a little quiet.

The main ski area is very good for beginners and intermediate skiers and the snowparks at Melezet look very good (and busy) for boarders. The lift system at the main ski area needs improvement, some parts are only accessible by long drag lifts and the secondary area at Jafferau also has some drag lifts. You can ski most of both areas without using the drag lifts. The two areas are linked by a bus, called the Jafferau express, which it isn't. Transfer between both areas took us well over 30 minutes on the two occasions we used it.

A very nice hotel and a good resort for families, beginners and intermediate skiers and boarders.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just got back from week in Bardonnecchia skiing staying at Hotel Des Geneys. This is a lovely hotel with friendly welcoming staff that were happy to help and nothing was too much trouble!

We stayed half board and was was definitely not disappointed. The breakfast was mainly continental with endless supply of pastries, cheese, meat, bread, cereal also scrambled eggs and sausages. Evening meals were fantastic, 4 courses with possibly some of the best pasta and sauces I've ever had!

Our room was very clean and serviced daily. Only complaint would be that the bathroom was a little bit small, so if you are on the larger side would be tight getting in and out of the bath!

Special thanks and comment for Christina, the entertainments co-ordinator. Always a friendly happy face with bags of enthusiasm and willing to help and go that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.

Would definitely go to hotel again, although lots of other places to ski in the world!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel des Geneys Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Geneys Splendid

Address: Via L Einaudi 21, 10052 Bardonecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bardonecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel des Geneys Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Geneys Splendid Bardonecchia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Geneys Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.