We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel - overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sportsman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sportsman Hotel to your Saves list
Sportsman Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gardesana dell'Acqua 17, I - 37011 Bardolino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average hotel - overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The rooms are very nice indeed. Very clean. Which is only what could be expected from the price.

The breakfast is wonderful.

The Pool area is not suitable for small children since there is only a very small place where they can be. You also get the impression that children are not very welcome at all around the pool.

It is great that the hotel is right on the lido with a private beach. However - do expect to build up a sweat when walking to Bardolino centre. I would have preferred it to have been a little closer to the centre.

They required us to hand over our passports at arrival - which is normal in Italy I guess. However when we checked out, the receptionist stated that we had already gotten our passports back. I said no - which made her look nervously through the passports on the shelf to see if she could find our passports. It was not until we helped her that she finally found the passports. I fear that if they had not been found, she would have kept insisting that we already got them back. Her arrogance kind of indicated that.

I give the hotel an "Average" rating because we travelled as a family. Had we been only my wife and me I suspect I had given it a "Very Good" rating.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
60
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lovely clean hotel, all staff very helpful and well mannered, nothing a problem.
Food was excellent, evening meal ordered from the menu at breakfast time with a good choice of main courses. Chef also catered for people with Coeliac Disease and provided a Gluten Free Diet for them. Advice on Gluten Free choices for each course was given every mealtime especially from Simone and Angelica - Thank you.
Jarka on reception was especially helpfull and friendly.
Room 111 was a triple room with fridge and overlooked part of the pool, very clean, bathroom had bath with shower, toilet, bidet, sink, hairdryer and radio. Towels changed as you wished and they have an eco friendly policy. Towels also provided for sunbeds. TV choice was poor for English speaking people with only BBC1, BBC2, channel 5 did not work. Internet available FREE for 2 hours at a time, code required from reception staff for this and Internet only availabe in Bar and Reception areas, repeat 2 hourly codes given if requested. Travel plugs were a slight problem for the Italian sockets but reception will let you borrow adaptors.
Free sailing boat trip on Wednesday - book early as always full. Take plenty water and sunscreen as it is very hot and no shade from sun. Hotel shuttle bus will take you to Marina in Bardolino and you walk back. Driver does not speak English. Boat crew do speak some English.
Area was a good central location between Bardalino and Garda, both easy flat walks from the hotel. Plenty of cafes with good food. Toilet facilities you can use anywhere, you only need to ask. Beach is pebble, very narrow and man made. Market is not bad quality but watch out for seconds. Shops are up side streets can be reached by seafront walk, no big shopping stores, beautiful leather goods and artwork.
Transfers to and from airport with Crystal Summer was efficient and smooth. Plenty staff around, Sarah our rep was always contactable and visited hotel often.
Dolomites trip was expensive and a long day but scenery was excellent, a one off opportunity for some outstanding veiws and photos that you may never see or take again. Regular stops for toilet and food but not for very long though. Its a long 12 hour trip.

Room Tip: E-mail hotel with any special requests for example Gluten Free Diet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I have just got back from our honeymoon at the sportsman. After reading the reviews on here we decided to give it ago. We were so pleasantly impressed with the hotel it really made for a lovely holiday. You can always tell a good hotel by the way it's full and the majority of the guests are second, third, fourth timers!

Admit-ably the outside isn't amazing looking, but everything inside the doors is first class. The cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. The food both breakfast and dinner is sensational.

The pool is great and the views of th lake breathtaking. Took us about 25 minutes from the airport to the sportsman.

I would recommend this hotel to any body who wants a great holiday.

Room Tip: A few mozzy's at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have just stayed here for 1 week with my husband. The location is great, being between Garda & Bardolino with lovely walks to both. The pool is very clean but we used the beach as it was rather hot by the pool as it is enclosed. We had a fantastic room, at the front of the hotel on the corner so we had 3 Juliette Balconies which was great as you could lay in bed looking at the lake. Food was superb, along with the service from Antonio and Sara being 1st class. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ and London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We chose the Sportsman on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews, and after a lovely week there, we certainly feel that we made a good choice. We really liked the location, which - being between Garda and Bardolino - gave us the choice of which town to walk to on any particular day. The lakeside path is a real bonus, and fellow guests who knew Lake Garda well told us that few other parts of it have such a path. Late May / early June is definitely a good time to visit. The weather was warm and sunny, usually in the mid to high 20s so not too hot but very comfortable. In the pretty towns, balconies were festooned with flowers, and parks and gardens were in full colourful bloom. Along the lakeside path, honeysuckle and jasmine perfumed the air, magnolias were beginning to flower, and in the countryside, poppies were everywhere. Waking up to the sound of the lake lapping gently against the shore of the hotel's private beach was very relaxing.

As others have said, food at the hotel is excellent. The 5-course dinner consisted of: salad buffet with a truly delicious range of leaves, beans, pulses, olives, dressings etc etc; starter; first course, second (main) course and dessert. The menu changed every day and there were alternative choices for the first and second courses, and desserts. For me, it was all too much - after the first night I only had the salad and the main, and that was more than enough! Breakfast was a similarly sumptuous affair, with a selection of cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruit and fruit salads, yoghurts, hard-boiled eggs, various breads, hot food including scrambled eggs, mini sausuages and frankfurters, mushrooms and bacon. There were also sweet pastries, crackers, fruit juices - etc etc. If anyone had to miss a meal due to going on an excursion, or an early departure, the hotel were willing to substitute another meal (eg we once swapped dinner for lunch) or to give people a packed lunch to take with them, provided that they asked the Head Waiter the day before. On Sundays, before dinner, they have aperitifs and canapes in the garden. Be warned, the canapes disappear quickly so you have to get in fast!

We found the staff to be very courteous and professional, rather than over-friendly (but we liked that). The wait staff in the restaurant were particularly good - seemed to have been well-trained, and took pride in their work. Reception was where I felt things to be a little lacking at times. We chedked in early on a Wednesday morning, and the receptionist failed to tell us that the hotel's weekly free lake cruise was on Wednesday afternoons - thus, we missed our one opportunity. Another receptionist was a bit scary and schoolmistress-like; I asked about a packed lunch one evening and she told me sternly that I had left it too late. I felt a bit like I'd been told off!

If anyone stays here with Thomson or Crystal, we recommend the Sunday night evening cruise to Lazise with wine tasting - a very enjoyable experience, thanks to the charming hospitality of the wine cellar owners. Other excursions were a half-day tour to Verona, and a half-day wine-tasting tour (which included a stop at a gorgeous riverside town called Borghese). In retrospect we probably would have chosen to go to Verona ourselves, by local bus - which others at our hotel did. It would have been nice to explore the city under our own steam, rather than be guided (the guides were excellent, but having to wait for everything to be explained in English and German made it all a bit long-winded, which is not what you want when time is limited).

Another great thing about the timing of our trip, was that the Bardolino Chiaretto (rose) wine festival weekend was on! This took place from Friday to Sunday, and gave the opportunity to taste the many rose wine labels from around this region. (As you will probably have gathered by now, this is a great holiday for wine lovers!!)

We particularly enjoyed climbing La Rocca, for the great view it gave us of Bardolino and Garda (not too difficult, but wear trainers rather than sandals or you'll get pebbles in your shoes), and the tranquil feeling of being in the countryside among the vineyards and agriturismos. Galletta Pasticceria in Garda town had great coffee and deligious mini cakes and pastries. Ice cream is definitely a delight, and there is no shortage of gelaterias. The reps all recommended Cristallos in Bardolino, but we were a bit unimpressed - and couldn't see what all the fuss was about. Others we found in both Bardolino and Garda were much better and had a wider range of flavours.

All in all, this is a very beautiful area, with something for everyone. There were people of all ages enjoying themselves - families with small children, couples, senior citizens, boaties, hikers, watersport-lovers, and gourmands. We didn't use the hotel pool because the lake was so lovely to swim in - and it seemed to be very safe for kids.

Room Tip: If you reserve a Lake View room, be warned that very few have balconies you can actually sit on; mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

If we are again in the region, we will stay at the hotel again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

You arrive at the top of the drive and you wonder? Don't panic this place is wonderful. From our spotless large room (116) which was right on the front line, lake view with a balcony, table and chairs. Variable air con, flat screen and safe. The staff, Antonio the maitre d', Alex and Sara were outstanding.If you think something should be done you usually found it already has. My wife's birthday started with a glass of sparkling wine at breakfast. Lovely gesture. Breakfast on the terrace, select your evening menu and off to enjoy the private beach or a 15 min. walk to Garda or 20 mins to Bardolino all on the flat and on a sheltered walkway. Free boat trip on a two masted schooner a plus. Dropped off at the harbour, and as we had adopted an elderly German lady on the boat, one phone call and they returned to pick us up.. Sunbeds, towels, robes, slippers all complimentary. Food in two weeks not repeated and of a high standard in both taste and presentation. Very quiet location at night so no disturbed sleep. As for prices outside the hotel not once did we think we were overcharged for food or drink and very similar to U.K. prices even at 1.10 exchange rate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Hotel

Address: Gardesana dell'Acqua 17, I - 37011 Bardolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bardolino
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sportsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sportsman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.