We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme to your Saves list
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Serenissima 12, 37011 Bardolino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Hertfordshire, uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Would highly recommend staying at this gorgeous, spotless, amazing, quiet hotel. Just set back off the main road with plenty of free parking. Continental breakfast was well presented with the most choices I have ever seen. Location was great, we thoroughly enjoyed the 15 min pretty walk around the lake to the centre of Bardolino every evening.
All the staff were friendly, Excellent recommendations and information was given. They saved us loads of time and money recommending the cheapest way to visit Venice, giving us info and times on a particular train that costs 10 Euros per person each way, much cheaper than driving with tolls and parking.
We took advantage of hiring bikes from the hotel to cycle on the lakes wide paths to other towns.
Thank you for our perfect stay

Room Tip: High floor at front of hotel for views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    40
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
154
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Even after five years nothing has changed. The brothers are still as charming, the staff just as friendly and helpful, the hotel (inside and outside) remains in pristine condition - overall rating - a very BIG 10. Don't be disappointed - book early.

Room Tip: 401 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in June starting at the end of the Rose wine festival. Hotel is outside of Bardolino, 10-15 mins walk. Never a problem unless your unlucky with the weather! Two nights got very wet on the walk home from very heavy rainfall. Rooms are good, bathroom is tight but both are extremely well serviced daily, Hotel is spotless throughout including around the pool area but it is the friendliness of its owners and staff that make this place stand out. I have stayed in better locations in Bardolino, I have stayed in more luxurious bedrooms in Bardolino, but I would return in a flash to the Hotel Gardinia. From the welcome glass of Prosecco on arrival to the desire of its staff to always be on hand to help in any way is just superb. It was no surprise that when departing, i asked for availability for the wine festival during early October only to be told that it was already full for the duration. We will return to Bardolino as we believe it to be the perfect base for Lake Garda and we will return to the Gardinia.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had booked a superior room with balcony and made a foolish assumption I would have a view of the lake, not so...but Riccardo changed us to an Executive room with a fabulous view as soon as he could. The first room was very nice but the 2nd room had a fabulous view. This is a charming hotel and the staff are welcoming, warm, friendly and always happy to help with local information. It is small enough to feel that the staff are interested. Its a very nice 10 minute walk into the centre of Bardolino, but the hotel itself is in a nice quiet area. Buses stop within just a 4min walk also. We opted to have breakfast, which was definitely worth it, with plenty of choice and lots of it. We would definitely recommend the hotel, it was our first visit to the Lake and the hotel helped make it most enjoyable. Well done to Riccardo, his brothers and the whole team, who make it a hotel worth recommending.

Room Tip: A view of the Lake is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just returned from a lovely relaxing holiday spent in Bardolino . The hotel Gardenia and Villa Charme contributed to the enjoyment of our stay enourmously. We have friends who stay there regularly and have nothing but good to say. However we thought the hotel wasn't as good as they had said "IT WAS BETTER " . The mangement the staff and everyone working at the hotel were very helpful very happy and couldn't do enough. From arrival to departure they made you feel very welcome. It was one of those stays that the first thing you want to when arriving home is book again. This is what we have done and we are taking friends and family next time to enjoy it with us Thank you Riccardo you run a very professional hotel that rightly gets all the credit it deserves PERFECT.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms 3rd floor and up with balconies the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is interesting that this hotel is so highly rated; it is not particularly well situated. It is not on the lake (it's a couple of hundred metres back) and it's a 10-15 minute walk outside of Bardolino (along the very pleasant lakeside path).
But from our arrival (warm welcome, glass of prosecco, suggestions on restaurants, things to do) to departure (left our bags with them all day after booking-out) the staff are friendly (in several languages), efficient and very likeable.
There are hotels better situated (Du Lac for instance, right on the lake, edge of town) but I doubt they are as friendly, clean and efficient. The almost boutiquey family-run personality of the place is a nice change from the corporate blandness of many hotels.
Breakfast was very good (exceptional by Italian standards) and taken in a very pleasant outdoor/indoor area.
Book a room with a balcony and a front-facing view of the lake.
If arriving by bus, the stop is the one just south (1km) of the Bardolino stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Gardenia back in August on our honeymoon and it was a really wonderful hotel. When we arrived we were greeted with a glass of Prosecco and then shown to our rooms, despite having arrived early.

We were given a very thorough map with restaurant recommendations and sights to see listed. The hotel is a short walk into the lovely Bardolino town centre (10 minutes, though we walk pretty quickly) along the Beautiful lakefront. The town has lots of lovely restaurants to choose from and some great shops. From the hotel we also walked to the Zeni Vineyard (maybe better by car), walked to Garda (again a long walk but lovely to do). The hotel provided us with helpful directions for these trips.

Hotel Gardenia has two beautiful swimming pools with plenty of sun beds. They offer poolside service which was great. There seemed to be families, couples and friends alike. The hotel caters for all.

Hotel Gardenia was spotless and the staff were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope the return one day!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony, and although it was on the side of the hotel it provided some view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme

Address: Piazza Serenissima 12, 37011 Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
#3 Family Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gardenia is tranquilly positioned near the centre of Bardolino and just 80 m from the lake shore. A friendly atmosphere, completed with every comfort – combining an attractive italian design with the warmest hospitality, for a relaxing holiday on Lake Garda. The 2 new swimming pools (1 with salted water) with deck chairs and sun umbrellas, heated whirlpool and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gardenia And Villa Charme
Hotel Gardenia Charme
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.