We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Color Hotel

Save Saved
You added Color Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Color Hotel
Via S. Cristina, 5 | Lake Garda district-Verona province, 37011 Bardolino, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Happy 2014 Color Offers
Ranked #1 of 43 hotels in Bardolino
Weymouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in May for a week on a B&B basis, but also ate dinner in the restaurant a couple of times.
First, the bad bit: location. It doesn’t have a lakeside location but sits back behind the main road running through Bardolino. So if you want to wake up overlooking the lake, book elsewhere. However, it’s only a short 200m walk to the lake or a 2 minute walk into town.
Now the good bits. It’s and excellent hotel, great rooms, modern bathrooms (no baths). We had a side room with balcony, overlooking the hills one way and over to the lake the other.
The swimming pools are fantastic! There are two unheated pools in the hotel and a large, heated pool complex across the small road to the rear car park. There are plenty of sun loungers so there’s no need to “bag” one with your towel at dawn.
The hotel provides complimentary bikes, so take a bike and cycle down to Lazise for lunch!
Staff: excellent
Bar: excellent
Restaurant: excellent food, pricey compared to eating out but possibly the best food you will eat in Bardolino.
In summary, this is a boutique hotel in a very good position, with excellent staff and great facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    89
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
157
369
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The minute you walked in to the hotel you were just left so at ease and this carried on for the whole of our 14 days stay.
The Hotel and the People are just first class, the pool areas are very good and clean.
At Breakfast there was so much choice and the quality of the food first class.
Will see them all next year hopefully

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Color Hotel is a modern very high quality hotel. Our rooms and the public areas of the hotel were beautiful, and all the staff spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has lovely outdoor pools, one of which was heated when we visited. It is not cheap, but lots of services were complementary which meant it was good value overall (lovely breakfast, bottled water, safe, wifi in room, bikes, pools, towels, secure parking, etc). Bardolino is a lovely town and we will return to the Color Hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was our second visit to Bardolino but our first stay at Color. We decided to choose the hotel for our honeymoon after receiving a personal recommendation from a work colleague. We found all the staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive. From our arrival where we were given a tour of the hotel by Laura, we knew we had made a great choice. Visiting in the first week of the 2014 season the hotel was far from full capacity, so we were able to upgrade our room to a suite situated to the rear of the hotel, close to one of the outside pools. We found the heating was still on in the hotel which made our room to warm for our tastes so we always had windows or patio doors open. Not a problem with our room being situated at the rear although it may have been an issue if the room had been at the front of the hotel due to the traffic noise.
We dined at La Veranda on 3 occasions and the food was simply stunning. My wife has an intolerance to gluten but this was no problem to the chef who always accommodated her dietary needs. The restaurant is high class and not cheap, especially when compared with other eating venues in Bardolino but there are no comparison - have no doubt, La Veranda is an excellent dining experience.
We only used the pool facilities and surroundings sparingly but they are all excellent, very clean and pleasant. We did find the weak wi-fi signal in the hotel made our internet connection slow and this was our only gripe during our stay. A very minor criticism of an excellent experience which we hope to repeat in the future, maybe a wedding anniversary in the future.
Thanks to all the hard working staff at Color with special mention to the serving staff in the restaurant, they work a very long day but they were always very pleasant and helpful.
Highly recommended and it provided great memories for our honeymoon - many thanks to the Color Hotel !

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at the front of the hotel which may be noisy due to the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We previously stayed at the Color in 2007 and so were a little apprehensive that our second stay would not match up to our wonderful first experience. Immediately on check in our concerns disappeared as the excellent and friendly staff showed us to our room. There was a bottle of Prosecco on ice and some gifts laid out on the bed to mark our wedding anniversary. What a fabulous surprise! Our stay was most enjoyable, the staff where always extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was top class. Finally, on hearing that we were leaving for the airport before breakfast, the receptionist insisted that we take a packed lunch that she organised would be ready at the front desk for collection as we departed. Overall this was a 5 star experience. Well done to all staff and management at the Color.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a nice hotel but I believe you need to choose your room carefully and stretch to a room facing the pool with balcony . Some of the others are road facing or dark from what I could see.
The public areas are attractive, the breakfast was ample and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Everything was fine but for some reason I didn't love this hotel. I thought it was a little plastic for Italy more like a hotel I would have experienced in a holiday resort in Turkey..

Room Tip: Room with a balcony over pool area seem good. Some rooms face a busy road and petrol station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at Color Hotel for three nights in September,which was not long enough! Wonderful hotel,comfortable rooms and great staff. The hotel is quite close to the promenade to walk into Bardolino. It is a very modern "boutique" style of hotel and the staff cannot do enough for you. We came back one afternoon after a Lake Tour to find a bottle of Prosecco in our room which the Manager had left to apologise for the inconvenience of our room phone not working - it was not an inconvenience to us at all, but the Prosecco was lovely anyway! There are a number of pools at the hotel and a couple of bars. We only ate breakfast one morning as we were out early for trips, but it was a great breakfast with loads of choice for everyone and lovely coffee too. Lake Garda is spectacular and if we ever return then the Color Hotel will be our first choice! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Color Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Color Hotel

Address: Via S. Cristina, 5 | Lake Garda district-Verona province, 37011 Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A creative hotel in Bardolino, where design, colors and unique details are harmoniously combined, the rooms, suites and interiors have been renovated according to chromotherapy, transforming this hotel into the only design hotel on Lake Garda. The Color Hotel has won TRIPADVISOR AWARD OF EXCELLENCE 2013 & 2012 ,HOLIDAYCHECK AWARDS 2014 & 2013 & 2012 & 2011 Conde Nast Johansens Most Excellent European Hotel Award 2013 & 2010 Top Hotel TRIVAGO 2010 & 2011 & 2012 & 2013AWARDS top Hotel ZOOVER 2012 The Hotel offers 4 pools ,mq 6000 Garden ,"la Veranda" Restaurant rated 3 red forks Guide Michelin ,Roof terrance ,4 lounges ,3 Bars, " la Cantina" for wine tasting to allow yourself an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Color Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Color Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Color Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.