We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Color Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Color Hotel to your Saves list
Color Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Cristina, 5 | Lake Garda district-Verona province, 37011 Bardolino, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great first experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

We recently visited Lake Garda for a family 2 week break, and decided to stay in Bardolino. The Color Hotel came recommended through Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.
This is truly a lovely hotel, well managed, well presented and the most pleasant staff throughout. From the staff who maintain our room and the ladies on reception who have always a pleasant greeting to the staff of the bar and restaurant who go to that extra effort to ensure that you really enjoy your stay.
Franco and Luigi within the restaurant were fantastic with our two young girls and ensured that they both had exactly what they would eat rather than just that on display. Buffet breakfast had plenty of selection, all fresh and tasty and dinner was also very good, albeit perhaps slightly on the skimpy side if you were hungry.
The grounds of the hotel are lovely for lounging around in the sunshine and the heated pool was a little extra treat for the few days we had in April which turned showery.
Bardolino is a nice little resort but be sure to also travel around to Sirmonie, Malcesine and Garda. It's wise to hire a car as the local transport is very good but can be expensive if used a lot.
Truely a lovely venue and one that we will no doubt return to soon. Great place, great staff and certainly COLORful !

To the staff ---- THANK YOU GUYS xxx

David, Tanya, Erin and Little Zara xxx

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    98
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
168
392
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Beautifully decorated and themed. Staff go above and beyond to help you. Free wifi. breakfast great lots of hot coffee and cappuccinos to be had. Also had an exquisite meal in the restaurant. Our suite also had free soft drinks.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Jakob in Defereggen, Austria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We come here every year in the spring and we always enjoy our holidays!
Great breakfast, top service, fantastic gardens and swimmimg areas....TOP!
Bardolino is a great little city and within walking distance to many restaurants, wine bars, do a bit of shopping.....for us always a fantastic town to stay and travel from.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I spend +100 nights a year in hotels I hope my comments are helpful.

The hotel isn't on the lake you have to walk across a busy road. Rooms are nice, clean and modern, landscaping and pools are very nice. I was at hotel in March and wasn't impressed with the price/services that were offered. It makes no sense to advertise 4 pools if they are outdoor and not heated (except 1 partially heated). I think that the price for off-season isn't justified. In the high season I am sure the price goes way up.

The structure and staff were excellent. Much better than typical lack of customer service in Italian hotel industry. I did not have dinner at hotel so I have no comments.

The breakfast was poor for this quality of hotel. I counted about 20 pieces of burnt bacon and not so nice scrambled eggs. Italian breakfast is usually a cornetto and coffee but for a hotel of this level I would expect much more quality and variety they should make an extra effort with this. Note the morning staff was good.

Overall I think the hotel is fine/ better than typical hotels in Italy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We went to this hotel in August 2011. It was a relaxing and most enjoyable holiday. We have boys aged 10 and 7 years. With three different pool areas, each with a different atmosphere, we spent most of our time at the hotel and the boys never got bored. The staff were friendly and the hotel was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Color Hotel last September, but have shamefully only just got around to writing our review (sorry!)

The hotel is in an ideal location - conveniently situated just a couple of minutes walk from the lake and about 5-10 minutes walk into the centre of Bardolino. Bardolino is very picturesque and there are lots of restaurants, bars and shops to visit. There is also a supermarket right next door so really handy if you need any essentials.

We booked the hotel after researching through Trip Advisor and agree with everyone else that it really does live up to expectations. The staff are amazing and cannot do enough for you - and always with a smile!

The hotel feels like a boutique hotel, but has everything you need and the rooms are lovely. However, I would suggest you book a room with a view overlooking one of the pools as some face out onto the supermarket next door which isn't quite so picturesque.

We usually ate at the hotel during the day, and once in the evening at one of the specially arranged dinners - again, the food and service was exceptional. We chose to walk along to Bardolino in the evenings to eat at one of the numerous restaurants and to sample the local ice cream (which is fabulous!)

All four pools/pool areas are beautiful, with plenty of places to chill out and relax with bars very conveniently located close by!

Overall, we had a lovely stay and felt thoroughly pampered - go on, book it now!

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking one of the pools rather one of the other hotels or the supermarket next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberageri, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Absolutely impeccable cleanliness, very good rooms (we had a suite with room divider to separate the children, two bathrooms, one with big jacuzzi bath), good food. Several pools. Very relaxing, non-rowdy clientele. Not on the lake front - just a few minutes away. Expensive but not really much to fault.

Room Tip: Nice to have rooms overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Color Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Color Hotel

Address: Via S. Cristina, 5 | Lake Garda district-Verona province, 37011 Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#2 Family Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Color Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A creative hotel in Bardolino, where design, colors and unique details are harmoniously combined, the rooms, suites and interiors have been renovated according to chromotherapy, transforming this hotel into the only design hotel on Lake Garda. The Color Hotel has won TRIPADVISOR AWARD OF EXCELLENCE 2013 & 2012 ,HOLIDAYCHECK AWARDS 2014 & 2013 & 2012 & 2011 Conde Nast Johansens Most Excellent European Hotel Award 2013 & 2010 Top Hotel TRIVAGO 2010 & 2011 & 2012 & 2013AWARDS top Hotel ZOOVER 2012 The Hotel offers 4 pools ,mq 6000 Garden ,"la Veranda" Restaurant rated 3 red forks Guide Michelin ,Roof terrance ,4 lounges ,3 Bars, " la Cantina" for wine tasting to allow yourself an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and WINTRADE S.R.L. so you can book your Color Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Color Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Color Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.