We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqualux Hotel Spa Suite & Terme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aqualux Hotel Spa Suite & Terme to your Saves list
Aqualux Hotel Spa Suite & Terme
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Europa Unita, 24, 37011 Bardolino, Italy (Formerly Aqualux Suite Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Could not fault this place. We went there to celebrate my mum's 60th birthday. Location very central- 5 mins walk from centre of town. Warm welcome with glass of prosecco on arrival. Lovely room and British TV channels- great! All the facilities are lovely, including the pools and saunas. The fitness room has everything you need although only open 9am-12.30pm and 2pm-6.30pm: I think the opening hours could be a bit better. The breakfast had a great selection to choose from, including sugar free and also gluten free options. There is also prosecco at breakfast should you wish. The dinner we ate there a few nights was 25euros per person. It was well worth it for a self service selection of appetisers followed by 3-4 choices of primi and secondi piatti then self service selection of desserts and cheeses etc.
All of the staff are very helpful. They have no computer for guests to access the internet- a bit strange... so if you need internet access, bring your own computer and use their wifi.
A great stay. We did not want to leave. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    139
    47
    10
    5
See reviews for
89
231
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week at the end of September and had a great time. The hotel is very new with great facilities (only the salt pool was not open on the day we used the pool area). We had a large room facing the car park which was not a great view but we had booked the comfort room so didn't expect a view as such. The room facilities were very good for a European hotel - tea & coffee making, TV with BBC1 & 2 and ITV1, 2 & 4 and a large modern bathroom.
The breakfast was brilliant with everything you could want including freshly made omlettes and vegetable juice and prosseco.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and provided us with information for day trips to Riva and Venice.
Bardolino is a beautiful town to stay in and has plenty of bars and restaurants to wander around in the evening so we were happy were only booked on a B&B basis.
Brilliant stay overall and we would be more than happy to return.
PS - Hotel also provided free private transfers to and from Verona airport which was a stress-free way to arrive and leave the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Like majority of the other reviewers, it was a pleasure to stay at Aqualux. Easy check-in with plenty of free car spaces and a glass of Prosecco at reception. Great facilities for all ages, including a nice gym and various pools/spas (make sure you try to 'current/whirlpool' section').

The room (garden/pool facing) was clean and stocked with usual goodies you'd expect from a quality hotel (toiletries/robe/slipper/safe/tea & coffee making). The breakfast buffet is a great way to start the day, with hot/cold selection, made-to-order eggs, fresh juices and prosecco.

The hotel is a short walk (5-10 mins) from Bardolino shops/restaurants and there's a supermarket about 20min walk or few minute drive away. Not much parking in the town centre itself, so better off walking. We ended up driving down the tiny centre street while people eating dinner were watching us navigate our way back out.

It's about a 40 minute drive from Verona Airport (using toll roads - which was €1 each way). We used Aqualux as our base and drove into Verona city, Lazise, and Sirmione during our weekend trip. All very convenient to get to by car (30 mins on average each way).

Hotel wasn't too full given off-peak time, not too many kids either. But could see this hotel being very busy during peak summer times.

Only negative was we tried calling room-service to see if they had tiramisu on the dessert menu, but unfortunately there was no menu in the room and the person we spoke to on the phone said they'd check and call back but never did. Probably for the best given how much we ate over the weekend anyway...

Room Tip: Try to request one facing inwards towards the garden/pools, as opposed to street/carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just back from a week at the Aqualux - booked through Thomas Cook, Crystal being the company.
We arrived at 10.30am and even though we were so early, within half an hour had been given our room - a free upgrade to a suite of two rooms, two bathrooms (one with jacuzzi bath), two tv's, a huge circular bed with memory foam mattress which was so comfortable and a double balcony for just the two of us. Nothing was too much trouble - even a bowl of fruit on arrival. The facilities are fantastic, even a female only sauna and turkish bath area in the wellness suite - everything was immaculate. We had a half board option - the breafast buffet included salmon, champagne, a chef who cooked anything you wanted, then a four course dinner, all very good quality ingredients and choice. Would recommend the hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view over the pools as the others face the road or car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of August for 5 nights, when we got there we were upgraded to a garden suite which was lovely, our own sunbeds on the ground floor patio with shrubs all around, fresh fruit, toiletries everyday and an enormous bed. The hotel is new but is really nice and although it was still school holidays it always seemed very peaceful and relaxing. We only had breakfast in the hotel. The first night we went down to the front which is only a 10min stroll away and it was very busy and very touristy, pizza pizza pizza and ice cream parlours! So having had a mediocre meal there we decided that every night we would try and find somewhere different.

We had one a la carte meal in the hotel which was pricey but well worth it, cooked and served beautifully. Our waitress was Marieta Jovanovic and she was lovely, excellent at her job and really friendly. The next night we tried a pizza restaurant along the main road called La Palafitte - there pizzas were the best ever, it might look a bit dated inside but the food was really good, 2 pizzas and 2 drinks for about 25 euros. The next night we tried Al Capital which is home cooked food and excellent. The guy who greated us was really nice he had travelled around and worked in London for a few years in a top class restaurant and his english was perfect. He explains all the food to you and is really welcoming and chatty. This was the best meal we had had. Finally the worst one - we decided to drive out into the hills and came across a pretty looking restuarant called Antica Osteria - omg this was the worst food I had ever had absolutely disgusting we should have gone with our gut instinct when we went in and nobody was friendly or helpful but we sat down and grinned and beared it. DO NOT GO.

Overall Bardolino is lovely, we hired a car and went a new town everyday and the scenery and picturesque towns are unique. This part of Lake Garda is well worth a visit.

I would just also like to say a BIG thank you to the maitre d' at the hotel Giancarlo who helped and advised us where to go and what to see and was always welcoming whenever he saw us he would go out of his way to come and say hello and also thanks again to Marieta you were both lovely. Thank you.

Room Tip: The garden suites were very nicely laid out, lots of storage, and a really big bed 6' + I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

When we arrived (Sept 4th - 11th) we were greeted with a glass of Prosecco while we waited for our room to be ready as we had arrived a little early. We were then told we had a room upgrade to a suite, which was fantastic. We only had to wait about 10 minutes for the room and within half an hour of being in our room a plate of fruit, nicely presented, was sent up to us, which was a lovely touch! The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The pool area was lovely and the breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice. The price of drinks was reasonable and the cocktails were delicious! The hotel was located only a short walk from the center of Bardelino where there is a huge choice of restaurants and bars and where there are good transport links to other areas of Lake Garda and Verona. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to be back some day! Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Aqualux (B&B) for 4 nights in early September as part of our tour of Verona and Lake Garda. We had arrived from the five star Villa Cortine in Sirmione and were looking for a short stay in a spa hotel and indulge in some treatments. We had a suite on the ground floor.

Good points: Its a great place for families with fantastic pool facilities and our suite was fairly spacious if not a little dark and lacking in direct sun light. Seemed to be very safe and easy walking distance into Bardolino. Its a good base for visiting the area. Hotel gardens will be very attractive (albeit the outside of the hotel looks like a multi story car park or hospital). Bardolino is a very attractive village with lots a of excellent restaurants.

Not so good (for us). We arrived before our room was ready, we were not offered a welcome drink, just told to come back at 3pm to pick up our key. When we did pick up our key we were given directions to our room and left to our own devices to find where to go and how to use the facilities in the room. We found the lack of attention to detail continued for the rest of our stay. The staff try to be very helpful, there just isn't enough of them to offer a good level of service, particularly the pool bar which always had a long wait to get served and limited availability. The fittings in our suite are of a very poor quality and although mostly working we could not see how they would last more than a season without having to be upgraded. The biggest disappointment for us was the spa and treatment area / setting (not the staff). It is underground and feels like being in an underground car park (which indeed it does share the space with). The fluorescent strip lighting and the flashing smoke detectors in some of the treatment rooms add nothing to the sense of tranquillity. There is no relaxing ambience, no offer of any refreshments and no one talked through our treatment likes /dislikes. We travel the world visiting a large number of spa's and this is probably the worst setting we have ever experienced.

Overall the Aqualux is a good eco concept hotel in a fairly convenient location but it all feels like they ran out of money and had to cut costs on the final finishes and do not employ enough staff to deliver a consistently high level of service.

Room Tip: If going for a suite ask for one on the top floor. The ground floor suites suffer from lack of dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqualux Hotel Spa Suite & Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualux Hotel Spa Suite & Terme

Address: Via Europa Unita, 24, 37011 Bardolino, Italy (Formerly Aqualux Suite Hotel)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bardolino
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#8 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqualux Hotel Spa Suite & Terme 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aqualux Hotel Spa Suite & Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualux Hotel Spa Suite & Terme Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqualux Hotel Spa Suite & Terme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.