We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went back a second time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Due Nani

Osteria Due Nani
Piazza Statuto 8, Bardolino, Italy
+39 045 6211323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 114 Restaurants in Bardolino
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Went back a second time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visited this restaurant on the first day of our family holiday in Bardolino, enjoyed the meal so much went back at the end of the holiday. The surroundings are very welcoming and comfortable. The food is amazing, it was interesting to see the meat and fish being cooked on an open fire. Would highly recommend the steaks and lamb chops. The Bardolino wine is good value and the deserts are also delicious. The staff are pleasant and attentive. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    73
    16
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bosa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We tried this restaurant as it had a very interestin menu with some dishes not seen in other restaurants. The food was ok but nothing great and the service a bit impersonal and although not really late (before 11pm) we were the last diners anf felt as if we were being hurried along so they could close up. One thing, the table next to us had a Fiorentina and it did look fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“second helpings....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We ate here twice during our recent trip to Lake Garda, as we were so impressed on our first visit. Everything from the decor to the welcome, food and service screams "All the best from Italy" to the numerous foreign visitors dining in this restaurant, tucked just behind a bar on one of the main drags through town. We had grilled fish options on our first visit - a local speciality - but were determined to vary our selection for our next visit. Our final visit featured lots of pasta and two sweets, which were to die for - especially the chocolate fondant! If there are two drawbacks they are the often random translations of the menu into English (a frequent problem even in the most touristy parts of Italy) and the sheer volume of customers wanting tables in this single-storey establishment. The advice is to book - especially at weekends when it also appears to be a date night option for locals - and ask the more fluent staff for a description of the food before ordering. Our only regret is that the restaurant is unlikely to open a branch in Newcastle, England, any time soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“No ambience' no flavour either”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I rated this restaurant quite badly a few years ago but decided to give it another try. A waste ofnj money. Antipasti starter was truly horrible, all fat and no taste. Mains of beef check quite good but venezian liver had no taste. Vegetables of onions and saute potatoes undercooked in loads of oil. Good wine list but that's the only good point. Best to avoid as many much better restaurants in the town. When we complained the manager walked away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss Bistecca Fiorentina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you visit Due Nani, you must try the Bistecca Fiorentina. Even though the price is appx. 30 €, you get a 1.5 inch steak on 600 gram of the finest meat. But they also serves a fantastic calf liver - fegato - which is cooked perfectly and taste like heaven.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Due Nani also viewed

Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 
Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria Due Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Due Nani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.