We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the small terrace at the back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giardino delle Esperidi

Il Giardino delle Esperidi
Via G.Mameli, 1, Bardolino, Italy
045/6210477
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 110 Restaurants in Bardolino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
london
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Try the small terrace at the back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

great food and a good wine list, we ate here twice in 4 days and both meals were excellent. The cheese selection board is excellent and they also do a fantastic beer that is served from a champagne shaped bottle and is so smooth to taste.
there is a terrace at the front but sometimes the bar across the street can be quite noisy so pick your time. alternatively try the small terrace at the back which is like being transported to a world of peace and tranquility.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    78
    25
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic wine list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We returned to this restaurant after first finding it in 2009 and again 2010- it was as good as we remembered! The food is simple, delicate and a cut above anything else in Bardolino. The service very attentive, they don't speak much English but appreciate an attempt at Italian. The wine list is the main draw, you can spend a little on a house bottle or an awful lot, we went for a 2007 Barolo (56€) the first night which was fantastic and a 2000 bottle of local Fratta (70€) the second night which was even better! I'd also definitely recommend trying the liquare Fico d'india after your meal, it's delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food was really delicious, the wine was nice, the bill was reasonable (neither cheap nor expensive) and the staff were friendly. If you are in Bardolino eat here; you'll enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Little Gem in a Sea of Normality...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I booked in here after reading reviews from Trip Advisor and also from the Michelin Recommendations... We were having a disappointing time in Italy relating to Food and we had high hopes for this Restaurant.

We were not Disappointed...

It is lovely inside, very traditional and quirky. Lot's of Wine Storage etc... There are only about 10 tables inside, but there are more outside (weather dependant).

There was lovely homemade Bread on the table and the waitress who greeted us was polite and attentive, considering we were not speaking her first language.

We ordered the following from the Menu..

Baked Truffle & Cheese Souffle
Chicken Terrine with Chicken Liver Pate.

Marianted Meats with Selected Salts (Hawaiian, Cypriot, Sea, British)
Guinea Fowl Skewers

Chocolate Cake & Apricot Jus
White, Milk & Dark Choc Mousse with Burnt caramel and Pistachio Sauce.

Coffee & Petite Fours...

We were also served with an Amuse Bouche of Sliced Ham with Baby Leaves and Dressing! (Very tasty)

The meal with a bottle of Local Rose and a bottle of Still water came to 97 Euros.

I would recommend this Restaurant to anyone with a love of Good, Tasty Food...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Like at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This restaurant is worth to visit if you are real foodie. Very taste and delicios food with exellent choice of wine. Cosy atmosphere and good service. Need to ne booked in advance as it's small.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino delle Esperidi also viewed

Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 
Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 

Been to Il Giardino delle Esperidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giardino delle Esperidi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.