We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful settings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chalet del Lago "La Magnolia"

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chalet del Lago "La Magnolia" to your Saves list
Hotel Chalet del Lago "La Magnolia"
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monginevro 26, 10051 Avigliana, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Avigliana
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful settings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Two couples travelling from southern France to Italy. We were disappointed at the appearance of the hotel on our arrival as it didn't appear to be anything like the photos on the web. Then we were given our 'lake view' rooms which definitely didn't have lake views as there were so many trees in the way, nor were they air conditioned, which we were expecting. We did have a fan. The rooms were spotlessly clean, as were the bathrooms. We went to the bar next door for pre dinner drinks and the view there of the lake was magnificent, as was the view from the restaurant. The continental breakfast offered next morning for 8€ pp was very good and the coffee was great. Would love to revisit Avigliana and would definitely stay at Hotel Chalet del Lago La Magnolia again. Next time we would book through the hotel rather than Expedia so that we would get an air conditioned room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has air-con and the lake views. Book through the hotel to ensure getting those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    32
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
28
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

For business I came back to this hotel and it's always a pleasure. The view of the lake is breath-taking, the staff is gentle and available, the room was clean and bright. Perhaps they might improve the breakfast choice because international customers are accustomed to have much more for one of their most important meals. Anyway, it's a nice place also for a romantic trip. Now, they are organised as a bike hotel, the bikes's choice is high and the staff is competent and available for many different kind of paths, both for road and montain.

Room Tip: The best room choice is the one just in front of the sea. In the morning you hear only about gooses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights as part of a road trip, as it was a good base to ski from, and explore Torino.

Fantastic hotel, with very helpful staff. Rooms are very big, nicely decorated and ours had a fantastic view of the lake. The rooms have decently sized LCD tv's.

Breakfast is continental, and a buffet, in a pleasant dining room. There is also an outdoor breakfast area just outside the dining room, overlooking the lake. There is also a restaurant and bar which does discount for guests next door.

The hotel is down a quiet road, about a 5 minute (€15) taxi ride from Avigliana train station. The reception staff were very happy to assist in making taxi bookings. In avigliana there are a variety of restaurants and shops. We had amazing (and massive) pizzas from a little pizzeria about 500m up the main road from the train station, on the right hand side.

Avigliana is about an hour from the Bardonecchia ski resort (held then Winter Olympics in 2006...) by train, and about 30 minutes by train from the centre of Torino.

I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel, and hope to go back in the summer, to do some cycling/mountain biking.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was looking for a bike-hotel package somewhere near Torino and chose this hotel because it seemed to offer just what we were looking for: guided rides with plenty of climbing, scenic location and pleasant surroundings in which to relax after the rides along with availability of bike, food and laundry. We were more than pleased with our 6 day stay which was made so enjoyable by the personal attention of Domenico who supplied our Bianchis and took us on interesting rides while Stefania and her staff attended to all our needs at the hotel. A generous continental breakfast was served in a delightful room-with-a-view or on the flower decorated terrace. Our room was clean & spacious with a private balcony and a beautiful view over the same lake. We enjoyed a walk on the lakeside track to the town area (with supermarket) across the lake from the hotel (maybe 30mins or so) but do not plan on taking a taxi anywhere unless it is booked in advance. Maybe ride a hotel M/bike? Our meals were provided by the adjacent restaurant/bar and the deck there was a great place to unwind after a challenging ride through lovely scenery in the shadow of the Alps. If you have the energy you can swim or take a canoe on the lake or visit the gym on the lower floor of the hotel. The gym music was not a problem as the spin class was late morning on only one day. The adjacent restaurant/bar/weekend disco did not present a noise problem for us but we, like the hotel proprietor, were concerned about noise coming from a nearby club on the weekend; however the authorities were called and the problem solved. Would we go again? Yes. Great area to train for that big bike race!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We came across the hotel by chance driving home from Ancona in Italy looking for an overnight and couldnt believe the view as we drove past, plenty of car park space, a bit of a drive down a country lane.
rooms were air con clean and fresh, the restaurant upstairs staff were accomodating and friendly, breakfast was continental with lots of choice
beautiful views day and night - you can also swim in the lake with the fish
would def stop there again
there was a bit of noise on the night coming from local clubs but didnt disturb us

Room Tip: all rooms were the same air conditioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Pros
Off the beaten path
Nice deck for breakfast
Small, but somewhat hip rooms.
Clean

Cons
Off the beaten path
Fitness facility doesn't open until 10AM. Don't stay here for that morning work out like I did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Although having a car would be ideal--plenty of parking--I was able to travel to the hotel by train from Milan via Turin easily. The hotel arranged for a taxi pick-up at the station, which turned out to be an excellent option as well to visit the Sacra di San Michele, the goal of my trip. (Having injured my ankle the week before, I wasn't able to walk the way there and down as planned.) The hotel is welcoming, comfortable, and situated on the lake shore which makes for lovely settings for walks in the area as well as al fresco breakfast views. Rooms are spacious, simple, but with balconies overlooking the lake. Next door to the hotel is a super restaurant with well-prepared standard Italian dishes (including take-out pizza). Great spot for visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chalet del Lago "La Magnolia"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet del Lago "La Magnolia"

Address: Via Monginevro 26, 10051 Avigliana, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Avigliana
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Avigliana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet del Lago "La Magnolia" 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chalet del Lago La Magnolia is located on the shores of the Great Lake Avigliana, in a landscape naturalistic elements of rare beauty. Elegant and comfortable, it offers a wide range of services in a warm and friendly welcome. Moments of peaceful relax are guaranteed by the large panoramic terraces of the rooms and in the green garden with deck chairs and sun beds; Guests can avail of a hotel's fitness center, rent mountain bikes and pedal boats, water activities such as canoeing and sup. The offer is completed by the internal Bar also active at the private beach. Inserted into a tourist complex in which there is also the 'namesake pizzeria restaurant and nightclub. Large private outdoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chalet del Lago "La Magnolia" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chalet del Lago "La Magnolia", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.