We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful front desk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Piceno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Piceno to your Saves list
Albergo Piceno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Minucia 10, 63100 Ascoli Piceno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Crested Butte, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful front desk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is deep in the historic center of Ascoli Piceno. We drove past it and could not figure out how to get back so we called. There are many, many narrow one-way alleys in Ascoli and there was no good way to get back. Solution was for the front desk to (literally) run to meet our car and direct us back! The room was large and spotless and modern. But wi-fi only worked in the lobby due to the police station across the street from this converted historic palazzo. Walking distance to everything, which was good as we did not want to attempt driivng again!! They took care of parking for us as well.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking a not very scenic courtyard of other buildings and back yards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    75
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
72
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We recently stayed at Albergo Piceno for 3 nights and have the highest praise for the hotel;its accommodations;its location;the people who work there;the breakfast served and the evident dedication to making our stay a memorable one.We were warmly greeted by Gabriele,the manager,assisted with parking and shown to a lovely room with spacious bath and private terrace.It had every comfort.When we were ready for dinner Gabriele suggested a small restaurant,where we had an excellent dinner with gracious service.The attention to our needs and the helpfulness of the staff was very special throughout our stay.Breakfast was excellent and very generous: two or 3 kinds of cake;cornetti;proscuitto,salami and cheese;fresh fruit;granolaThe woman operating the espresso machine was delightful.For the next 2 days Cristina,the day person at the desk devised detailed itineraries for us to follow,and Gabriele continued to provide excellent restaurant suggestions.Ascoli is a lovely city,and with the assistance of the staff we got to know it as well as the surrounding hill towns and seaside villages.Our time was greatly enhanced by the caring attentiveness of all the people who work to make Albergo Piceno a very special place in deed.We thank all of them,and heartily recommend Albergo Piceno.

Room Tip: The room with terrace is a pleasant,private and restful extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The hotel Albergo Piceno is the appropriate choice for a stay in this pittoresque italian town in central Italy! The stuff was very kind and the rooms really clean! Its location is 1 minute walk from the central square piazza del Poppolo. Do not ever pass Ascoli Piceno without having a night in this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel is just super!!! I was there in May 2008 with my nursing school!I stayed there for about 3 weeks.Albergo Piceno is in a good and peaceful area ,but very near to piazza del popolo and piazza arringo!!! The hotel is very good,the rooms were clean,the breakfast is ''reach'',it has it all!!!! and the staff??the staff is very kind and eager to help!!!Very pleasant staff!!! I absolutely recommend it!!!!! If you go to Ascoli Piceno,Albergo piceno is the best choice to stay!!!!!!! (i travelled there in 2008,but i march of 2011 because it hasn't the period which i was).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I love this hotel, it gives you everything you need for a great Italian stay. The staff are lovely, the breakfast is ample, and the location near the piazza is just perfect. Parking is an issue, as it is hard to find a space near by, but they have an arrangement with a parking multiplex just on the edge of the old town, and you can drive in and out to drop your bags off. The only other down side was that their heating is actually a little bit too warm in the winter, so regulation may have to be done with the windows! I would have to say it is one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in.

Ascoli is a great place to visit, off the beaten track, one of the prettiest piazza's in Italy and very quiet. And the best olives- olive d'ascolana- worth a try.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I found this hotel on Tripadvisor and couldn't have been more pleased. I stayed three nights. Let me go over all of the many positives of this wonderful hotel:

Location: Wow. One of the best locations of any hotel I've ever stayed. Everything is literally right around the corner from this hotel. Piazza Arringo is about a one-minute walk to the left of the hotel and Piazza del Popolo, the main square, is about a three-minute walk. It's just buried deep in the heart of the old city. Just a prime, prime location for exploring.

Rooms: Excellent, with large and very chic boutique bathrooms. A fabulous shower.

Breakfast: A really nice spread, with lots of breads and pastries. The surprise: they actually have a woman there at breakfast who can make you scrambled eggs. Very unusual for Italy, where breakfast typically is not much beyond croissants and coffee.

Service: This is where Albergo Piceno really shines. The "star" of this hotel is Cristina at the front desk. I have stayed at boutique hotels all over Europe and extensively in Italy and I will say I've never received better service anywhere like what I got from Cristina. I asked her when i first booked to find us a private guide to take us on private tours of Ascoli Piceno. The problem: Ascoli Piceno gets so few tourists that there are hardly any guides in the town who actually can speak English fluently!! Despite this obstacle, Cristina went to work to find us a guide. She went out and interviewed guides and sent me a detailed e-mail analyzing the pros and cons of a number of different guides in Ascoli Piceno. Totally blown away---are you kidding me? She went out and listened to then speak to make sure we would be able to understand them. Wow. Such service! In the end, she found an excellent guide for us. She recommended great restaurants and gave us extremely helpful informations on how to get to Ascoli by bus. All e-mails were returned extremely promptly. I am a hotel concierge in the United States and do everything I can every day to "wow" the guest. Well. let me tell you--Cristina impressed time and again. She has the critical quality you must have to succeed in the hotel business---she truly cares about the guest. This is not something you can teach someone---either you have it or you don't. Cristina has it. Her level of service makes this excellent hotel truly outstanding. I should mention that everyone I met at the hotel was really friendly and nice, too---like everyone we met in Ascoli. I especially like Bruno at night---fun and charming.

Only one negative: They don't have computers in the lobby to check your e-mail. You can use the computer in the office but they weren't thrilled about letting you use them. Putting one computer in the lobby would make this wonderful hotel perfect.

Kevin McQuade
Chief Concierge
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District
Charleston, South Carolina
USA

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Equidistant from the two main piazzas of the historic old city, this small but comfortably designed hotel is on a quiet, narrow street, so you can sleep well at night with the windows open. The breakfast buffet is generous and the fresh pastries yummy. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Only drawback: no WiFi. You can walk to the hotel from the train/bus station - it's 2/3 of a mile, on level ground, and a straight shot along the Viale Independencia/Corso Garibaldi. The Duomo and the Pinacoteca are just a block from the hotel.
The town itself is one of the hidden gems of Italy - truly beautiful, and a great walking city. It is reachable by public transportation - train from San Benedetto (which is on the main line connecting Pesaro, Ancona, and Bari), and from Rome 3 hours by bus - the bus company is named Start, and Reception at the hotel can give you information on schedule and stops.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Piceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Piceno

Address: Via Minucia 10, 63100 Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ascoli Piceno
#5 Family Hotel in Ascoli Piceno
#6 Business Hotel in Ascoli Piceno
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Piceno 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant eighteenth century building in the heart of Ascoli Piceno, located between Piazza Arringo e Piazza del Popolo, the meeting place of the city.Meticulous conservation works and tastefully decorations have restored the building to its original beauty whilst offering modern services, elegance and warm hospitality.The 23 luxurious and familiar rooms are provided with all facilities: air conditioning, safe, mini bar, direct dial phone, internet access, sky tv, hairdryer, courtesy set, whirlpool shower or bath tube. Relaxation room, with splendid vaults, is a fantastic surprise with crunch board, fitness bikes and step.The facilities provide guests with a relaxing atmosphere for body and the mind.Albergo Piceno the ideal residence for you: offering charm and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Piceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Piceno Hotel Ascoli Piceno
Piceno Hotel Ascoli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Piceno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.