We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Retreat Atop a Hill Outside Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Badia di Pomaio

Save Saved
You added Badia di Pomaio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Badia di Pomaio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Badia a Pomaio 4, 52100 Arezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Arezzo
Vienna, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Secluded Retreat Atop a Hill Outside Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Trying to find the "perfect" hotel for our final stay in Italy after 10 days of touring, I selected this property. It might have worked if we weren't so very frustrated upon arrival. The source of our annoyance: we could NOT find this hotel. Without a street address and only location listed, our GPS could NOT determine where to send us. We stopped no less than 5 people: they all laughed while trying to provide broken English directions. It sits high atop a hill in its own remote location. While we saw one sign, it wasn't clear which direction to go to. Once there, be prepared to spend time as the grounds are lovely. Since Arezzo is miles away (translating to many many minutes because of the slow curves and steep terroir) you also won't want to leave once there to eat in town. And, forget about drinking in town and driving there. Too many hairpin curves and steep climbs. There is a fancy cave-like restaurant on property which also translates to high prices on food and wine compared to the city fare. But, with all that said, the hotel is lovely. The breakfast was one of the best. And, the experience of staying in a former monastary was thrilling. It was easy to see how one might have taken a spiritual journey. Unfortunately, the month of March isn't pool season but the pool was still beautiful. It would be a perfect place to honeymoon or get away from it all if you want a bit of downtime in a luxurious setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    54
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
96
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This lovely old monastery is now a luxurious, well appointed retreat outside Arezzo. We were in Arezzo for a wedding, so first we discovered the town, staying at the Garden B & B, then we were picked up by the staff for a glorious stay at the Badia di Pomaio. The food, rooms and decor were first rate. We thoroughly enjoyed spending hours at the pool, high on the hills overlooking Arezzo, strolling the lane lined with rows of lavender, then enjoying great meals with wonderful, local wine.
You don't need a car to stay here, in fact, if you don't have one, you will simply relax for a few days and enjoy the rooms, the food, the setting and the wonderful pool, at least in summer. This was a surprisingly affordable stay at a gorgeous 17th century dwelling made very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Set way off the beaten track up a wonderful windy road into the hills with views that get more fantastic the further up the road you get, you then come upon the hotel, parking is in a lower car park but you can park outside the hotel to drop off luggage. The staff were very warm and welcoming and our rooms were clean, I would personally say a little TLC around the hotel out of season would help, the lunch menus is very basic, with very good food in the evening possibly more thought could be put into the lunch menu as it really does not show off the culinary skills of the kitchen staff. We had dinner which was very good and very reasonably priced, roughly about 50 euros a person but that was antipasta, starter main water dessert wine etc, a lovely hospitable waiter , breakfast would have been wonderful if served outside but a very good selection. A pool, slightly on the chilly side but lots of loungers. Cocktails are served on the terrace overlooking Tuscany the view is beautiful and so peaceful. Perfect for a break. Ideally you would need a car but they do runs to the station etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

we hired a car in Pisa and after a good sightseeing tour of Pisa went to Arezzo .
The hotel is an old monastry, which is up a 3Km very winding road ( lots of 1st gear!).
the hotel and staff are excellent and very friendly.
if you haven't got a car and do not like adventures get a hotel in the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked two nights here on our tour of Umbria and Tuscany based on the reviews on trip advisor but did not really like it.

It is hard to find as it is situated several miles up into the hills east of Arezzo. When you eventually find it the setting is absolutely beautiful, with a nice pool and lovely views of the countryside and distant mountains. However the grounds needed some maintenance work eg the decked patio at the front was rotted and dangerous). The bedrooms were quite clean but overall the place seemed a bit dusty. The shower cubicle had black gunge round the bottom and there were lighbulbs out in practically every room - a general sign they did not care enough to ensure they were replaced.

Breakfast was in a dingy room and the food overall not very appetising. Dinner was in the outside courtyard and could have been a nice setting but it was so quiet it lacked atmosphere and the food was variable and not worth the money - we only ate there because it was so isolated and we did not want to drive up the road in the dark. When my husband ordered a beer with dinner - the supercillious waiter remarked 'beer with dinner? - oh OK'. On the second night we ordered the steak for two and it was awful - tough and impossible to eat - we complained and sent it back but were still charged for it. A couple of the staff were nice enough (the young chap and one of the girls).

Overall this place was too rustic and hard to get to for me. Also it lacked good service and attention to detail. If the owners addressed the issues I mentioned then I can see the place may appeal to those wanting to get away from it all in a peaceful, beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Loved, loved, LOVED this place! Perched atop a hill just outside of Arezzo, this hotel was everything we were looking for, and at an affordable price. The views were stunning in every direction, especially from the lovely pool. The path from the parking lot to the hotel was lined with lavender and abuzz with delicate butterflies. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and immaculately clean, and the staff was knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast buffet was generous and tasty. But the best part was the restaurant, situated (at least in summer) in a beautiful courtyard. The food was superb and the service, led by Guiseppe, was perfect. We ate there the first night and liked it so much we went back the next night. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A magical place, a beautiful 'Italian ex-monastery' hotel overlooking one of the most beautiful cities (Arezzo) where the staff can not be more friendly or helpful. We had a wonderful 8 days here and Badia di Pomaio is a very special place for us! The hotel is very peaceful and does not attract children which is nice if you want to relax as a couple. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and is no doubt due to the dedicated team of staff who go beyond the call of duty - a special thank you to Joseph and Valentina. Gianni, the owner, is very lucky to have such a committed team. This amazing vibe within the staff defiantly comes from the owner Gianni who is a very genuine and kind person who always had time for a quick chat!

The Room
We stayed in Room 1 Viola - it was a massive italian decor room with a king size bed, digital safe (you can set the code), air conditioning (you can control it) and tv all included within the price per night. There was also a mini bar which was reasonably priced. The bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of spare blankets and pillows, and there was ample wardrobe and drawer space. Our room was very clean and cleaned each morning with fresh bedding and towels every day! The room had an en-suite which was large in size and had a double shower and hair dryer. One very good feature of the room is that the windows had a mosquito net on the outside so you can leave the windows open all night without the worry about being attacked! The windows also had wooden shutters on the interior which created a black-out if required. The view from our room was not looking out over Arezzo, however why would you want to stay in your room when you can be sitting outside in the Sun or under the stars looking over Arezzo!

Breakfast Buffet & Hotel Bar
The spread of food was really nice and fresh each day - there is something for everyone! You even get a coffee of your choice made from the hotels espresso machine! The Coffee is amazing at the hotel and by far the best in Arezzo and again very reasonably priced. The Coffee beans are from a coffee roasting plant just 2 mins drive around the corner. Always get Joseph to make the coffee as he is the best at the hotel!

Hotel Bar & Internet Access
The hotel bar is open all day until approx 11pm and is reasonably priced with, as mentioned above, the best coffee in town! There are plenty of comfortable seats and board games if you fancy a challenge. There is also a laptop which you can use free of charge for accessing the internet, etc and free WIFI if you want to connect to the internet on your phone/laptop/etc.

Restaurant
The picture - "...watching the sunset over Arezzo and enjoying 'a la carte' amazing food and exceptional service...". The menu is varied and the Chef is more than willing to create a dish specially for you if you did not fancy anything on the menu. Although we would not normally spend quite this much on dinner, it was lovely as a holiday treat! If you stay here you have to try the Tagliatelle! If you do not know what to order Joseph will help you and is very good at suggesting to your preference.

Shuttle Bus
The hotel is around 12 minutes away from the centre of Arezzo and is up a mountain - so is not ideal for walking into town! However, if you do not want to hire a car (which we did not) the hotel provides a shuttle bus service between 8am and 11pm at a very reasonable price which we were more than happy to pay! If you want to stay later in Arezzo a Taxi back will cost around €15.

The Hotel Grounds/Pool
The grounds of the hotel are very well looked after with ample sun-beds and chairs (with wooden/straw parasols). The pool was very new, exceptionally clean, well maintained and was very large and not too deep. The pool overlooks Arezzo - what more do you want!


A fantastic hotel which we thoroughly recommend - we cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: Choose any room - they are all beautiful and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Badia di Pomaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badia di Pomaio

Also Known As:
Badia Di Pomaio Hotel
Badia Di Pomaio Arezzo
Badia Di Pomaio Hotel Arezzo
Address: Localita Badia a Pomaio 4, 52100 Arezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arezzo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arezzo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arezzo
#4 Family Hotel in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Badia di Pomaio 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Badia di Pomaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badia di Pomaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.