We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking... once you get there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badia di Pomaio

Save Saved
You added Badia di Pomaio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Badia di Pomaio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Badia a Pomaio 4, 52100 Arezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Arezzo
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Breathtaking... once you get there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Set way off the beaten track up a wonderful windy road into the hills with views that get more fantastic the further up the road you get, you then come upon the hotel, parking is in a lower car park but you can park outside the hotel to drop off luggage. The staff were very warm and welcoming and our rooms were clean, I would personally say a little TLC around the hotel out of season would help, the lunch menus is very basic, with very good food in the evening possibly more thought could be put into the lunch menu as it really does not show off the culinary skills of the kitchen staff. We had dinner which was very good and very reasonably priced, roughly about 50 euros a person but that was antipasta, starter main water dessert wine etc, a lovely hospitable waiter , breakfast would have been wonderful if served outside but a very good selection. A pool, slightly on the chilly side but lots of loungers. Cocktails are served on the terrace overlooking Tuscany the view is beautiful and so peaceful. Perfect for a break. Ideally you would need a car but they do runs to the station etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    48
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
98
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

we hired a car in Pisa and after a good sightseeing tour of Pisa went to Arezzo .
The hotel is an old monastry, which is up a 3Km very winding road ( lots of 1st gear!).
the hotel and staff are excellent and very friendly.
if you haven't got a car and do not like adventures get a hotel in the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked two nights here on our tour of Umbria and Tuscany based on the reviews on trip advisor but did not really like it.

It is hard to find as it is situated several miles up into the hills east of Arezzo. When you eventually find it the setting is absolutely beautiful, with a nice pool and lovely views of the countryside and distant mountains. However the grounds needed some maintenance work eg the decked patio at the front was rotted and dangerous). The bedrooms were quite clean but overall the place seemed a bit dusty. The shower cubicle had black gunge round the bottom and there were lighbulbs out in practically every room - a general sign they did not care enough to ensure they were replaced.

Breakfast was in a dingy room and the food overall not very appetising. Dinner was in the outside courtyard and could have been a nice setting but it was so quiet it lacked atmosphere and the food was variable and not worth the money - we only ate there because it was so isolated and we did not want to drive up the road in the dark. When my husband ordered a beer with dinner - the supercillious waiter remarked 'beer with dinner? - oh OK'. On the second night we ordered the steak for two and it was awful - tough and impossible to eat - we complained and sent it back but were still charged for it. A couple of the staff were nice enough (the young chap and one of the girls).

Overall this place was too rustic and hard to get to for me. Also it lacked good service and attention to detail. If the owners addressed the issues I mentioned then I can see the place may appeal to those wanting to get away from it all in a peaceful, beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Loved, loved, LOVED this place! Perched atop a hill just outside of Arezzo, this hotel was everything we were looking for, and at an affordable price. The views were stunning in every direction, especially from the lovely pool. The path from the parking lot to the hotel was lined with lavender and abuzz with delicate butterflies. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and immaculately clean, and the staff was knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast buffet was generous and tasty. But the best part was the restaurant, situated (at least in summer) in a beautiful courtyard. The food was superb and the service, led by Guiseppe, was perfect. We ate there the first night and liked it so much we went back the next night. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A magical place, a beautiful 'Italian ex-monastery' hotel overlooking one of the most beautiful cities (Arezzo) where the staff can not be more friendly or helpful. We had a wonderful 8 days here and Badia di Pomaio is a very special place for us! The hotel is very peaceful and does not attract children which is nice if you want to relax as a couple. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and is no doubt due to the dedicated team of staff who go beyond the call of duty - a special thank you to Joseph and Valentina. Gianni, the owner, is very lucky to have such a committed team. This amazing vibe within the staff defiantly comes from the owner Gianni who is a very genuine and kind person who always had time for a quick chat!

The Room
We stayed in Room 1 Viola - it was a massive italian decor room with a king size bed, digital safe (you can set the code), air conditioning (you can control it) and tv all included within the price per night. There was also a mini bar which was reasonably priced. The bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of spare blankets and pillows, and there was ample wardrobe and drawer space. Our room was very clean and cleaned each morning with fresh bedding and towels every day! The room had an en-suite which was large in size and had a double shower and hair dryer. One very good feature of the room is that the windows had a mosquito net on the outside so you can leave the windows open all night without the worry about being attacked! The windows also had wooden shutters on the interior which created a black-out if required. The view from our room was not looking out over Arezzo, however why would you want to stay in your room when you can be sitting outside in the Sun or under the stars looking over Arezzo!

Breakfast Buffet & Hotel Bar
The spread of food was really nice and fresh each day - there is something for everyone! You even get a coffee of your choice made from the hotels espresso machine! The Coffee is amazing at the hotel and by far the best in Arezzo and again very reasonably priced. The Coffee beans are from a coffee roasting plant just 2 mins drive around the corner. Always get Joseph to make the coffee as he is the best at the hotel!

Hotel Bar & Internet Access
The hotel bar is open all day until approx 11pm and is reasonably priced with, as mentioned above, the best coffee in town! There are plenty of comfortable seats and board games if you fancy a challenge. There is also a laptop which you can use free of charge for accessing the internet, etc and free WIFI if you want to connect to the internet on your phone/laptop/etc.

Restaurant
The picture - "...watching the sunset over Arezzo and enjoying 'a la carte' amazing food and exceptional service...". The menu is varied and the Chef is more than willing to create a dish specially for you if you did not fancy anything on the menu. Although we would not normally spend quite this much on dinner, it was lovely as a holiday treat! If you stay here you have to try the Tagliatelle! If you do not know what to order Joseph will help you and is very good at suggesting to your preference.

Shuttle Bus
The hotel is around 12 minutes away from the centre of Arezzo and is up a mountain - so is not ideal for walking into town! However, if you do not want to hire a car (which we did not) the hotel provides a shuttle bus service between 8am and 11pm at a very reasonable price which we were more than happy to pay! If you want to stay later in Arezzo a Taxi back will cost around €15.

The Hotel Grounds/Pool
The grounds of the hotel are very well looked after with ample sun-beds and chairs (with wooden/straw parasols). The pool was very new, exceptionally clean, well maintained and was very large and not too deep. The pool overlooks Arezzo - what more do you want!


A fantastic hotel which we thoroughly recommend - we cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: Choose any room - they are all beautiful and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a wonderful 2-day stay at Badia di Pomaio, which is about 10km east of Arezzo. A long, winding road takes you up to the hotel, which is a former 17th century monastery. Our ample room (Rosa) had a wonderful view of Arezzo and the hotel's gardens and pool. Staff was superb--especially Valentina and Giuseppe. Hotel restaurant was in the wine cellar (great local wines from Colli Arettini), and dinner was among the best we've ever had, including a risotto with gorgonzola and wild asparagus that was to die for and worth a trip in itself. Very reasonable prices, a great base for touring eastern Tuscany and total relaxation if you simply want to chill out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Badia di Pomaio is a former monastery with a long history. It is located in the hills just outside of Arezzo. If you are renting a car, please note that the roads are narrow and winding and steep enough in some spots that I had to downshift to 2nd or 1st gear. But no matter, it is definitely worth the trip up the hills.

The property is secluded with a majestic panoramic view of Arezzo and the neighboring farmland. Their are plenty of song birds, including cuckoos.

The staff are very attentive and warm. Most speak English very well and bend over backwards to assist you with questions or special requests. Giuseppe and Valentina were exceptionally welcoming, warm, engaging and helpful, as well as having good senses of humor.

There is no elevator, however the stairwell is roomy. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. The bathrooms were tidy and clean. Please note that modern conveniences such as plumbing and electricity were added sometime later to the building (the original Abbey was built in 1645), so expect a little retrofitting here and there. I had a little problem getting wifi to work in my room, but it seemed to work fine in the bar area.

Speaking of bar area, it was very comfortable with modern furnishings, TV and a full bar stocked with some interesting graapas and appertifs.

The restaurant was very impressive. Food and service was excellent. Table presentation of the dishes was very good.

The property has an outdoor pool overlooking the panoramic view of Arezzo. Due to the cooler weather during our stay, we did not use the pool, however, it appeared to be very clean and well maintained.

Overall, we found the property and staff quite charming. If you are looking for a quiet getaway in the beautiful Italian countryside, this is a great place to do so. The town of Arezzo is about a 15 minute drive from the property.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Badia di Pomaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badia di Pomaio

Address: Localita Badia a Pomaio 4, 52100 Arezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arezzo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arezzo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arezzo
#4 Family Hotel in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Badia di Pomaio 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Badia di Pomaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badia Di Pomaio Arezzo
Badia Di Pomaio Hotel Arezzo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badia di Pomaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.