We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would like to come back !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Capanne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Capanne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Capanne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Il Matto 44 / 45, 52040 Arezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Arezzo
Athens
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We would like to come back !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

I feel sad that i can't visit Arezzo and hotel Le Capanne once again during Christmas and i just went back to read the Trip advisor's reviews .
We are a family from Greece that stayed at this hotel for 6 nights during Christmas 2008 . We are frequent travelers during the year (within Greece) and quite often abroad as well. We have stayed in Luxury hotels and in B&Bs as well.
We will always keep our stay in Le Capanne in our hearts and we have recommended it to all of our friends, Christmas is not the perfect time for Tuscany and the hotel didn't have other visitors . But everyone in this hotel tried to make our visit unforgettable. Just to mention that Locanda Dei Pilli (what a food in this restaurant !!!!) was fully reserved twice with locals , they opened the Osteria , cooked specially for us and the owner arranged a dinner for his friends there as well in order for us not to feel isolated .
If you have a car i strongly recommend this hotel . The building is very very nice , the family room given to us (2 room appartment) comfortable , the food is perfect , the hospitality is the best.
You can easily visit Sienna, Cortona , Florence . We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
60
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

This hotel and attached restaurant comes with a good reputation, so it was a bit disappointing to find neither entirely satisfactory.

The hotel is a 20 minute car drive outside Arezzo so we thought the standard must be pretty good to attract a clientele. However, the standard of our room was less than we expected for the price. Our room was a so-called “junior suite” and while it was quite spacious, I wouldn’t have called it a “suite”, having only two chairs and a very small table. It was pretty basic - we thought it would be a little more luxurious.

The attached restaurant Locanda dei Pilli has a good reputation, and was one of the main reasons we chose to stay here. But on the two nights of our stay it was closed. Closed Wednesdays and random other days apparently.

So we had to eat in the small Osteria L‘Angolo which allegedly uses the same kitchen. Despite their insistence that the food was home made, it has a commercial pre-prepared feel, particularly the pastas. They made no attempt to hide the fact that the desserts were stored in a commercial deep freezer. The semifreddo was topped with a raspberry and a cherry that were frozen solid. They told us that the menu changes daily - this also turned out to be false.

On the plus side, the hotel is very quiet, our bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good. If you make sure that the main restaurant is open and don’t get talked into a junior suite, you’ll probably be happy here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our stay at Le Capanne was truly a beautiful experience. It took us a while to find...even with our GPS...the signs for the hotel are quite small and it's down a dirt road so we kept thinking...surely it can't be down here. But, it was...and what a charmer. The ladies at the front desk, Christina and Gabriella went out of their way to help us plan our daily excursions to so many neighboring towns....Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Chianti, Cortona, Panzano, Colle Val D'este, Volterra...and even more than I can remember. Their advice and suggestions made our trip so special. One night we came back to our hotel very tired and instead of dining at a restaurant, we went to the local supermarket and bought wine, cheeses, meats, olives and breads and asked if there was a place we could enjoy our impromptu dinner. Gabriella allowed us to use the area where breakfast is usually served and even brought us candles so we could enjoy our dinner by candlelight. It doesn't get better than that...it was one of our most memorable meals in Italy. The hotel itself is a 1,500 year old farmhouse and the only issue we had while there was with the shower pressure, but I guess this is to be expected in such an old dwelling. Also, another big issue in basically all of Tuscany when we were there (Sept/Oct) was mosquitos. The weather was unusually warm (mid 80's)...which is probably what brought them all out. But, overall our stay was amazing...we have so many wonderful memories...of Le Capanne and all the people who work there. They made us feel like family and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Initially locating Hotel Le Capanne is a bit confusing, but once you find the dirt road that takes you there....it is well worth the drive. Actually, Arezzo is close by and we easily found our way back and forth, but it is necessary to have a car.
The temperature at the end of August was in the mid nineties and the well maintained swimming pool was such a delight at the end of a very hot day of sightseeing.
The highlight was the outstanding dinner on the patio at their restaurant, Angolo. The chef is a nineteen year old gem. When I asked Stefano where he got his receipes, he said each course is his own original. The dinner was one of the best meals we had during our vacation.
In my opinion, La Capanne is a small hotel rather than a Bed and Breakfast. Parking, breakfast and internet were included in the hotel rate.. The grounds are well maintained, and the staff were all very nice and helpful.
As we peacefully ate our breakfast on the patio in the morning, we watched a shepherd walking by with his huge flock of sheep just outside the gate of the property. Coming from the city, that certainly was an added treat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel le Capanne after reading trip advisor reviews. Words cannot describe how unique this place is. It is a little hard to find but once you get there it is wonderful!! We
e-mailed the hotel and promptly received answers to our questions. When I got there, there was a letter from the receptionist to make sure everything was fine. The people who work there are so nice. We stayed in a room with a bigger bathroom which I would recommend. The farmhouse is very large with many areas to sit and relax from the large breakfast area with pool table to the library/tv room and the two upstairs huge sitting areas outside the rooms. It is beautifully decorated. Wireless internet worked great from my room.They also have a computer room with two computers for guests to use free of charge.
We ate at the restaurant on site and had a delicious italian meal. The farmhouse has a pool, and some private eating areas inside and outside which would be so nice during the summer.
If you tour Italy I would definitely make Hotel le Capanne a priority for part of your trip! It was our favorite place that we stayed and it was nice to have such a great restaurant on site. We will definitely return when we go back to Italy.
Pam and Oscar
SC

  • Liked — unique and exquisite accomodation
  • Disliked — a little hard to find
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt eliza victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

all the reviews are correct, the food at the restuarant also brilliant. gabiriella is amazing, so helpful and happy and speaks amazing english. we were in the quite season, as much as i loved the hotel, i felt it lacked atmosphere (maybe some music). gr8 get together place for friends for weekend etc

  • Liked — the character
  • Disliked — the lack of atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed at Hotel La Capanne for three nights in early May, 2008. It was one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel is situated amongst green fields approximately 5 kilometers from Arezzo. The hotel is an old farmhouse, beautifully renovated. The bathrooms are spacious, the rooms pleasantly decorated with wooden beam ceilings and old wooden doors, the breakfast delicious and in the breakfast area a huge pool table, plus free internet for the hotel's guests.

Adjacent to the hotel the tratoria "Locanda dei Pilli" is definitely a magnet not only for the hotel's guests but for locals as well so reservations are absolutely required. The food is absolutely divine - homemade pasta, Florentine steaks and many more creative cuisine suggestions - great selection of Tuscan wines and desserts. We had dinner there twice and both times we were greeted with prosecco wine and a small plate of delicacies. Coming from a Mediterranean country (Greece) where the cooking ingredients are the same and the techniques one can say are similar I can definitely testify to the superb abilities of the Locanda's Chef!

  • Liked — Serene atmosphere, location, restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Capanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Capanne

Address: Loc. Il Matto 44 / 45, 52040 Arezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Capanne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Capanne is a small hotel, it offers you a variety of different rooms respectively apartments. All rooms feature among others: Internet access, free safe deposit box, free mini bar, personalized air conditioner, heating and satellite TV. In addition, the guests have a billiard table, two large living rooms with fire place, an Internet point, a sitting room with television (LCD screen) and a book crossing corner, swimming pool at their disposal, be completed, gym club. A reserved parking, garden, porch, bar and a restaurant. There is a laundry service, a wake up service as well as a room service (with limited hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Escapio, Agoda, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Capanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Capanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.