We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tuscan stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B La Chiusa dei Monaci

Save Saved
You added B&B La Chiusa dei Monaci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B La Chiusa dei Monaci
Via Molinara 43/A, 52100 Arezzo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 93 Arezzo B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Tuscan stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I toured Italy this past September. We stayed 5 nights at La Chiusa dei Monaci and it was a magnificent experience.... From the incredible hostess Cinzia who treats you like family, to the amazing homemade breakfasts and impeccable rooms & grounds, there's nothing I would change about our stay. It's centrally located which makes it easy for day trips to the surrounding breathtaking Tuscan villages + Cinzia is always there to make great suggestions.
La Chiusa dei Monaci is a hidden gem and a must stay during your Tuscan travels!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
39
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were in Arezzo for two nights in November and we selected La Chiusa dei Monaci as we needed a bed and breakfast near to town but not in the center. I grew up in the area and know it fairly well, and I wanted to show it to my american husband. La chiusa is in a lovely ara, near the stream of La Chiana,in fact the site of an old mill.The house has been admirably restored, with many antique pieces and part of the original fireplace and stone floor from the 11th century in the main dining room. The wooden beams ceiling makes it cozy and welcoming. We were in the Guido D'Arezzo room, which has a little patio overlooking the river from which you can see fuit trees and many tupes of birds. the room and is quiet and cozy, with modern and comfy bathroom, a little frig and cofee machine. The canopy bed is so comfortable that it was impossible to wake up early. But the real asset of this gem of a place is the owner, Cinzia. She made both of us feel at home, speaking fluent English with my husband and a tuscan-accented italian with me. she served a royal breakfast, with home made tarts and quiches, warm caffellatte, home made jams made by her from the fruits from her tree, tuscan prosciutto and many ither things (we did not have lunch these days, no need) We had long conversations about wine making and other interesting topics and she got for us some delicious home-made vinsanto. She recommended a great and reasonable resttaurant in town, L'antica Ruota, a real find. We really did not want to leave and hope we will be able to be there for a longer stay sometime in the future, sooner rahter than later. We travel a lot, especially in Italy, but La Chiusa is really an unique experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Guido d'arezzo room last week. It is completely beautiful and romantic! It is private and has a lovely canopy bed with soft lighting in the room. The patio is peaceful and lends itself to great conversation and much relaxation with the one you love. Cinzia could not be a better hostess! She had information on the immediate area(day trips), details about Arezzo and where to visit, printed in English for us, as well as information about the B&B, which was a former mill. She told us special places in Arezzo to visit and where to park. We were able to ask her questions about the Italian culture and the Tuscan area. Cinzia makes the breakfast from scratch and it was superb! Her crostini and homemade jams were tasty and she willingly made us extra cappuccinos. We can not wait to visit this B&B again. We had a great time with Cinzia and have missed her since we left!

Room Tip: Stay in the room with the private patio-its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A beautiful location and exceptional hosts who can share with you the history of their agriturismo and Arezzo. Rooms renovated with taste; the kitchen and the dining room make you feel at home. Spent there only one day, with small kids, but wish for more in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I recently rode our bikes through Tuscany and Umbria and stayed one night at La Chiusa dei Monaci. The setting was wonderful as it is situated on a quiet street opposite a river and an old mill. Breakfast was fantastic and the room we stayed in was beautiful. We had a terrace that overlooked a small garden and the river. Sipping wine after a long day of riding on that terrace was a very welcome treat. The most impressive feature of the B and B was no doubt Cinzia, our hostess who made sure we felt very welcome. An absolute treat and one of our highlights during our bike ride.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B La Chiusa dei Monaci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Chiusa dei Monaci

Address: Via Molinara 43/A, 52100 Arezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your B&B La Chiusa dei Monaci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B La Chiusa dei Monaci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.