We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Piazza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza Grande

Piazza Grande
Piazza Grande, Arezzo, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 attractions in Arezzo
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Walking, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The spacious and lovely main square features the Town Hall, which dates back to the 6th century.
Bethel, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Piazza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Beautiful Piazza where La Vita et Bella was filmed. Two nice cafes & nice antique & food shops. Don't miss it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    101
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stromboli, Italy
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“bovine beauty - go to the valley, eat it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I found a great butcher just off the piazza - this is the spot to buy beef or vitello from chianina cattle. It's the best. They are indigenous. They are enormous. Calves can be born at 50kg.

Cortona is Etruscan. Pure. This breed has been valued BC. You are eating history here.

So, whether its a tagliata , bistecca or a carpaccio you favour use Chianina meat from Cortona and cab be at one with a long history of bovine beauty.

I shouldn't write these comments in bed at night, I need to get up now and go eat something. Too late for cooking , maybe a little carpaccio with lemon and arugula...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“I want to buy it and take it home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

the loveliest town square I have ever seen in Italy - and probably anywhere else. Unspoilt, and when we saw it on a warm September lunchtime, almost deserted. Really, we should not be raving about it or more people will want to see it! Three cafes, of which we chose one of the two cheap ones, and I could have sat there all day. Hard to say why it is so special but I found it far more attractive than the Campo in Siena. Funny thing is, they call it the Piazza Grande but, actually, it isn't grand. It just..is...
We bought a beautiful, large plate at Arete, a pottery studio on the Piazza. Real, local majolica, made by the owner and sold to us by a charming young woman who was her apprentice. I have it on my kitchen wall. It reminds me of the Piazza and all that was best about the holiday.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“lovely piazza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It can compete with the piazza del Campo in Siena for the most beautiful piazza in Europe. For fans of the movie "la vita e bella" this piazza is a must see, because it brings back memories of this great movie

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“The place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a wonderful piazza, relatively small, and very warm and friendly. It is a nice place to rest between exploring all the side streets.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Grande also viewed

Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Piazza Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.