We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
panoramic wiew
panoramic wiew
panoramic wiew
swimming pool by night
Spa, Jacuzzi
Gazebo by the pool
Arezzo
|
Rental Home – 
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laura G
Allendale, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic - We will be back one day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were a group of 12 adults (ranging in age from 36-82) there to celebrate my 40th birthday. We are all well travelled, seasoned and sophisticated travelers who are well qualified to write a travel review. We were all impressed with Villa Carda, and I think you will be too.

The pictures and brochures do not do this villa justice. The villa is beautifully restored/ renovated and carefully curated in keeping with the style of the region. Everything feels very authentic and very luxurious. The rooms are all spacious, beautiful and well appointed so that no one felt like they got the short end of the stick, although some of the baths are a bit small by American standards. The view and gardens are incredible. The pool area is gorgeous, so make sure you plan at least 2 days just relaxing at the villa and taking in this piece of heaven. My only complaint was that the pool furniture isn't too comfortable but Andrea said he would fix that soon. (Hammocks would be great too if you are reading this Andrea :-)). The wellness center is a nice touch and everyone in our group used either the exercise equipment or hot tub during some point of their stay.
For meals, we had gourmet cooks in our group, so we enjoyed picking up fresh ingredients in the markets and preparing feasts. But one night we had Andrea and his wife Francesca prepare us a wonderful meal and it made the evening very special. Andrea and his father Antonio stopped by each day and were lovely and helpful. Very gracious wonderful hosts.
Between the pool, walking the grounds, ping pong, biking, walking, hitting golf balls, cooking, stargazing, etc, there is plenty to do. Even my review is not conveying how fantastic this trip really was....no one wanted to leave. One couple from our group has already booked it for next year to go with their family.

Some practical advice if you go:
- Stop by a market in Arezzo to pick up food for the first night or arrange for Andrea to pick something up for you and have it at the villa. You will not want to go out after dark to figure out where to eat the first night.
- Arrive in daylight. It is a very dark, windy road and the villa is difficult to find the first time.
- The markets are open unusual hours/days. So every time you happen to be in a place with an open market, pick up something for your meal that night. The food is wonderfully fresh, inexpensive and good. Also, the table wine and even jug wine in the markets is dirt cheap and surprisingly very good.
- Treat yourselves to a dinner by Andrea and Francesca at least 1 night. You will have plenty of leftovers for the next day.
- If you must be connected to wi/fi at all times, choose a room closest to the computer room with the router. Wifi can be spotty on other parts of the property. (But who cares.... you are on vacation!)
- The area is very hilly. You are unlikely to want to walk to the nearest town or restaurant. Make sure you have a car, especially if you have older travelers with you.

We definitely hope to be back sometime soon. If you have any other questions, feel free to email me at lauragill99@gmail.com. ENJOY!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, view, amenities, hosts
Liked least: pool loungers
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ann M
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A Villa With A View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our family of five stayed at Villa Carda with another family of four. Five children in total. Antonio and Andrea are the very gracious owners. The grounds and the view from the house are just beautiful. The pool, spa room( jacuzzi, steam shower) were wonderful. The house is well appointed, bedrooms private with lovely bathrooms and comfortable beds. There is much to explore in surrounding area with your vehicle and if you want to walk, run or bike, it is either uphill or downhill from the house. We had Andrea and his wife Francesca cook a meal for us one night and it was very special. I don't think any of us wanted to leave when it was time to go. Great memories.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ann H
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“A dream come true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were thrilled with our stay at Villa Carda. We traveled to Italy with another family, with nine in our party and children ranging from age 10-16yrs. The house, grounds and location exceeded our expectations. The rooms were all ensuite, well appointed and lovely, and provided privacy and a place to retreat. The pool and landscaping were pristine, with cherry, olive and chestnut trees, and the quintessential herbs and flowers. The house overlooks the beautiful Casentino Valley -- breathtaking again and again. The house has a lovely new spa, with steam shower, hot tub and exercise bikes, a driving range, an outdoor ping pong table, and a little garden to which we could help ourselves (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, lettuce were). Antonio and Andrea, the villa owners, were delightful and so hospitable. They were attentive and kind. We hired Andrea and his lovely wife Francesca to cook a Tuscan meal for us one night that was truly fantastic. We explored the nearby old town of Arrezzo, which was fantastic. We took the train into Florence one day. We also explored nearby Cortona, Poppi and Bibbiena, each very worthwhile. We were sad to leave and will savor this experience!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house and the view
Liked least: The kitchen could use some sharper knives
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CatainC
tuscaloosa,alabama
1 review
“Excellent !!! A true Italian experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our stay at Villa Carda was everything our family had hoped for in our Italian vacation..Our party consisted of grandparents and three grandchildren 8,10 and 12 with 8 people total. There was more than adequate space for everyone to enjoy the villa, pool, spa and the lovely grounds surrounding the property.. The owners were very accommodating and are readily available to offer recommendations on restaurants and sights within the area.
This is not your typical Tuscan vacation spot (IE Siena) with traffic, large crowds of tourists and scores of cheap souvenir shops but if you are looking for a true Italian experience this is it.
Recommended day trips include the monastery at LaVerna, Arezzo and Cortona. The owners are also available to prepare dinner at the villa which was the #1 highlight our stay. Francesca, the owner's wife is a trained chef and allowed our grandchildren to "assist" in the preparation of the meal. Warning !!! bring your appetite... the dinner was fabulous with sufficient leftovers for dinner the next day. Our only regret was that we had only planned a one week stay rather than 2 weeks.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The property and location exceeded our expectatations
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DANAH100
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous villa with fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

10 of us stayed at Villa Carda for our family reunion.We couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate our get together. Very well equipped villa, very clean, fantastic breathtaking mountain views, very spacious grounds,sauna, bicycles,games, there was something for everyone. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Villa itself and the views
Liked least: The kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
pstewarti...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Top Ten Reasons To Stay at Villa Carda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

1. Villa Carda is in an area of Tuscany that is not overrun with tourists.
2. Villa Carda is exceptionally clean as well as artfully and tastefully decorated.
3. The location is beautiful with impeccably cared for grounds.
4. The host, Andrea, visits in the morning and is available by phone to answer questions and make recommendations and reservations.
5. You can arrange for Andrea's wife, Francesca, to prepare a fabulous, multi-course dinner, a real treat after a long day of sightseeing.
6. You'll have enough leftovers for another delicious meal, making your initial meal cost very reasonable.
7. The kitchen is equipped with all manner of pots, pans, coffee maker, etc.
8. There are good restaurants within a few minutes drive.
9. There are interesting medieval hilltop towns within a few minutes drive.
10. The separate doors for each room allow a lot of privacy.

4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The beauty of the villa and grounds.
Liked least: The distance to major tourist attractions in Florence and Siena.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AlPen4
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“A fabulous Italian villa vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Four couples from Colorado, all in their seventh decade, thoroughly enjoyed this luxury villa and most all the amenities. The October temps were a little too cool for using the large swimming pool. Villa Carda has received many rave reviews, and this is yet another. Far and away, this is the finest accommodation we've had in our many travels to this region over the last 15 years. The real highlight of our stay was dining in. On three occasions, Andrea and his wife (chef) Francesca prepared gourmet meals. The food, the wine, the ambiance, and the company provided a vacation experience we'll not likely duplicate.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Dining In
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$2,821
/ Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Andrea F
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2014
Calendar Updated: 43 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this owner is unavailable.
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing