We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Genuine Rural Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Pero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arezzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Pero
Save
You added Il Pero to your Saves list
Loc. Manziana 15, 52100 Arezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 97 Arezzo B&B and Inns
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Genuine Rural Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After initally viewing a television program on this property and the Taxis family we made the decision that we would like to stay here. William has done an amazing job at restoring this once derelict property.

We stayed for four very pleasant days in L'alba with a double bedroom and bathroom upstairs and combined lounge/dining/kitchen downstairs.

Miranda was very helpful with organising our booking and giving us advice on travel to the area. William was a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. He gave us excellent advice on dining options, shopping and sightseeing. This was a delightful rural experience after staying in busy cities and villages in various Italian regions.

When you are travelling for a number of weeks and dining out for the majority of your meals It was nice change to be able to cook our own meal on a couple of evenings.

You do need your own transport when staying here.

One day we caught the train from the local station into Florence which made a day trip there very easy. The journey was approximately 1 hour each way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Crisp white cotton sheets , comfortable beds. nothing is too much trouble .Stunning pool which this year is on the edge of a field of sunflowers which opened in our honour .Good to have the owners on hand to help with restaurant bookings and local knowledge.They were so flexible and happy for us to stay Tuesday to saturday which we then changed to Sunday.We just didnt want to leave............We plan to go back to this Tuscan dream.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

A group of us gathered at Il Pero for a gathering to celebrate our friend's new book. The setting was beautiful with easy access to . Two chickens greeted us in the mornings as we sipped coffee under the arbor. Then off for day trips to many well known hilltop villiages. Five of us stayed in the house with up to date kitchen, bathrooms, comfortable beds and large area to gather for meals and conversation. The farmhouse has been delightfully restored. Other guests stayed in small cottages or the beutiful, romantic loft room. Mirada and Wiliam prepared an exquisite dinner for all of us in the the elegant, gandle lit banquet room. We stayed six nights and enjoyed the sense of "home."

Room Tip: There was a pool but it was not open when we were there. You would be pleased with any of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Il Pero and discovered a hidden gem! It's a beautiful medieval farmhouse that has been lovingly restored by the Taxis family. William and Miranda and their daughters are excellent hosts and extremely kind and helpful. We stayed in La Torre at the top of the farmhouse and the views across the valley were stunning. Not to mention the amazing shower made out of an old wooden olive press!

It was such a relaxing place to stay and very convenient for exploring the hilltop towns of Tuscany. Il Pero is in a convenient location in the heart of the Val Chiana just 20 minutes south of Arezzo. Make sure you follow the directions carefully the first time, then once you know how it's easy to find.

The swimming pool was a real highlight, as it was very hot in July. Great to jump in at the end of the day and relax by on long summer evenings.

We can't recommend Il Pero enough. Its restoration has been a labour of love, but enjoying the result is absolute bliss.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Pero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Pero

Address: Loc. Manziana 15, 52100 Arezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Arezzo
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run, predominantly self catering, establishment. Rural location, easy access to all areas of Tuscany. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Pero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.