We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time! Perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Favorita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa La Favorita to your Saves list
Villa La Favorita
Localita Altavilla 12, 12051 Alba, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Alba B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Time! Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here the first week of October and it was an amazing experience. We were able to attend the Wine Festival in Alba on a Sunday which was only 10 Euro to try over 80 types of wine from the region. Roberta was great and provided us with so much information before we got there (even told us to try and arrive earlier to enjoy the wine festival). Her daughter was also very kind and made several dinner reservations for us for dinner. All in all a great place to stay with superb service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
69
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Villa la favorita for our 20th wedding anniversary trip. Roberta was one of the nicest host we have ever met. She always recommended great trips and wonderful restaurants while we were staying with her. We loved Osteria Gemma which Roberta made a reservation for us, it was one of the best meals we had during our 45 days trip. Her villa was very beautifully furnished and situated above a hill with marvelous views looking over to the city of Alba. Each morning there would be gourmet breakfast served and in generous portions. We really love to play with Sally, she is so sweet and energetic. Roberta if you are reading this we really miss you and the wonderful moments at your villa, Grazie Mille!!! See you again in May 2015!

Ciao & Warmest Hugs from both of us :)

Arisa & Wu

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at La Favorita in October and were very happy with our choice. Beautiful and peaceful surroundings with multiple outdoor areas to have a snack, glass of wine , read, or just relax. The many varieties of fruit trees, roses and other plants and shrubs is lovely...not mention the little pond and waterfall complete with a friendly turtle. The room and bathroom were very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was a pure delight each morning. The hike into town is not too bad if you take the short cut down the steps and through the woods. (not recommended at night as there are no street lights). There is a mercado and a bakery on the edge of town so the walk can be justified. La Favorita is a lovely point from which to explore the Langhe.

Room Tip: The rose room faced the back of the property with a nice view of courtyard and hillside. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for a few days and Roberta is a great source when it comes where to dine best. Our rooms were small, basic and old fashioned. We haven't been overwhelmed with the breakfast and its served - no choice here. We quite like a good Cappuccino in the morning and preferred to drive to town.
However, it seems to appeal to a lot of people given the raving review and maybe the rooms with a view towards Alba are nicer?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Marvellous home cooked breakfasts. Something new and local every day. Great hospitality and lovely outside garden / vineyard facilities with many spots to relax in. Lovely rooms with lots of personality.

Location was a perfect base for our daily bicycle trips to Barolo , Barbaresco, Monforte, La Morra, Cherasco, Bra and more, many of which where recommended and explained by Roberta.

Room Tip: Some outside traffic. Our room on the opposite side (north) was very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week and we just loved it. Roberta was a wonderful hostess, always helpful and full of tips and recommendations for area restaurants and things to do. Her B&B is gorgeous, with beautiful gardens and common rooms. Our bedroom had a view of Alba, with a small balcony. The breakfasts were delicious and filling, with fresh fruit and creative treats. We took advantage of the "hot" (cool) tub in the late afternoons, which was refreshing. Obviously a lot of care and attention goes into making guests feel at home and comfortable. Roberta and her staff are professionals but treat you like family. Roberta also has some terrific local wines for sale at extremely reasonable prices. We highly recommend Villa La Favorita!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was absolutely one of my favorite destinations and accommodations of all time!
We stayed at Villa La Favorita for 3 days at the end of June 2013.
Roberta is clearly well connected and well organized, managing to get us a table for 5 in the most amazing restaurant at the top of La Morra with amazing food and views of the entire valley. She also got us a private winery tour at 2 wineries that only do "invitation only"! Paolo Scavino and Pio Cesare...both vastly different but absolutely fascinating!
Roberta also arranged a large taxi van to take the 5 of us to dinner & back each evening so we could be sure to enjoy what we were really there for...the WINE!
Breakfast each morning was a true delight with handmade jams, cheeses, meats, bread, cakes and great coffee!
As it was my 40th birthday my husband had contacted Roberta to ask if she could find an Ice Cream Cake for me and surprise me upon our arrival! She went out of her way and found an amazing fresh raspberry and dark chocolate ice cream cake that was served with prosecco and absolutely amazing!
Roberta invited us to pick and eat from the amazing fruit gardens that she raises, I plucked amazing sweet strawberries and raspberries right from the vine.
The suite itself was so cool, a two-story room with a day bed and lounge area downstairs and the bed and bathroom upstairs. As I'm sure we will be back, it would be perfect for our now 3 year old daughter to share the room with us and still have privacy!
We left with a case of wine from the home's private vineyard and enjoy every sip as we remember our (too short) 3 day stay in Alba and Villa La Favorita!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Favorita

Address: Localita Altavilla 12, 12051 Alba, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Alba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the early 1900’s, it is officially recognized as a historic residence, and has been meticulously refurbished in recent years. Set amidst a 10,000 m² estate of vineyards and fruit orchards, it is located on a hillside just 1½ kms outside Alba.The farm produces fine doc-status wines - Nebbiolo d'Alba and Grignolino Piemonte - which can be tasted free-of-charge, as well as a large variety of organically-grown fruit (cherries, apples, pears, apricots, plums, persimmons, figs, mulberries, peaches and pomegranates), some of which are used to make delicious jams.The villa's four highly original, en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished with period family pieces, and have satellite TV, air-conditioning, bath with shower and hair-dryer.Each "room with a view" brings guests into close contact with the hills.and the towers and roofs of ALBA's old town centre.Every morning a plentiful breakfast offering a wide choice is served outdoors in the large garden, on the terrace or in the bright lemon-house.Alba is a lively town, standing at the feet of the celebrated “Langhe” hills. It is famous for its mediaeval towers, “Via Maestra” (the main street, animated by plenty of shops and a busy Saturday morning market), and cultural and food & wine events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Favorita Hotel Alba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Favorita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.