We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Abla” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Calissano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Calissano to your Saves list
Hotel Calissano
Via Pola 8, Alba, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Abla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed just one night in Alba, and wanted a hotel in walking distance from the city center.

Upon arrival we where surprised with the helpful people at the front-desk. Not the regular way of just checking in and receiving the keys, but the where really friendly explaining everything and helping us out to find some addresses we where inquiring.

The rooms are big, rain shower, big double beds, free wifi. Car parking is not a problem, plenty of space in the garage. Breakfast buffet the classical way and options. Nothing special but good quality of food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
we really thank you for this so good review. We are glad you spent a good time at Calissano: we are happy everytime we see that people feel like being at home, this is our main purpose.

Position is one of our points of strength: probably, no other Hotel in the area is in a so quiet zone and so close to the city center.

We hope to see you again soon: we are at disposal for any further need of assistance.

Very kind regards,
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    62
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
83
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Hotel Calissano in Alba. I was surprised by its elegance, thinking it was going to be less stylish than others we had booked in the larger cities. It is a newer hotel, everything was spotless. Staff was very helpful. Relatives of ours had called before we arrived. They helped call them back and translate for us. It is an excellent location to walk to the piazzas for lunch, dinner or shopping. I found Alba to be one of my favorite shopping areas in my two week stay in Italy. I found Alba to be a safe, clean city. The view from our window was a bit industrial but that was fine. I would visit Alba again and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: There were four room booked in our party and they were all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
our main purpose is to let our guests have a nice stay: if this means helping you with translations, just ask! This is something we really care: trying to answer all requests of our hosts!

About Alba... many, many guests say they feel like being a paradise: it is a clean, historical, beautiful, safe city; with the Langhe, it is probably one of the nicest places in Italy. We hope you will come back to Alba; when you will, we will be more than glad to host you again!

Thank you very much for your review, kind regards
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have had an enjoyable two night stay at the Hotel Calissano in Alba. Its convenient location in a quiet neighborhood only a short walk from the old city center was perfect for our intention of leaving our car parked in the secure free parking garage beneath the hotel. We had a superior room on the fifth floor and must say that it is certainly four star quality with lots of space, plenty of closet and shelf space, a small refrigerator, large openable windows in the main room as well as in the huge bath, and a superbly comfortable bed. The hotel itself is decorated in a formal motif but the staff is super friendly and willing to help with any need. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable rate as well as Internet access, which was quite fast. Breakfast is a very adequate buffet of the usual items you expect and was served in the hotel restaurant. The staff was very responsive to our request for ice and wine glasses and gave us excellent advice for what we wanted to see in the city center. The parking garage is one of the best we have seen, with an amazing amount of space for each car. It is nice to stay in a fine hotel and not feel as if the staff expects to be tipped every time you walk by. If in Alba again we would certainly pick this hotel, as they deliver on expectation without fanfare.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room and be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Ron,
up to us this is the best thing we can read: "If in Alba again we would certainly pick this hotel". It means we managed to let you feel as home, and really hope we can make it again.

Please, consider that our beautiful land helps as so much to have great tourism, and it does all the year long. Few things are better than visiting the Langhe and enjoy their mild climate during summer: and, if you will, we are going to give you other advices based on your personal feeling about what you like better to see.

Thank you so much,
Kind regards
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for for two nights. Stylish interior and bathroom with tub and plenty of hot water, cuboard with enough coathangers and a minibar.The staff was extremely serviceminded and polite. Had some trouble with a hairdryer which was sorted out right away. OK breakfast and dinner. Good location to everything in this wine mecca aera.

Room Tip: Room 216 quiet and spacious with double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for this review. Good to read that you appreciated both the Hotel, and the area: the Langhe are beautiful 12 months a year, and we really hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards,
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a superior room. Everything about the room was very good, clean with all amenities, air con, very comfortable bed, very big bathroom - no bath but a rain shower. View from windows was towards the old town and across a semi- industrial looking area, with the hills beyond, nt a problem. Car parking is superb and inclusive. Breakfast selection was average for this type of hotel. On a rainy evening we decided to eat at the restaurant and we had a superb dinner in what is a casual dining area. The staff were all exceptionally friendly, helpful giving good advice on where to eat and what to see. The hotel is located just outside the old town, a three minute walk at most. All in all this hotel provides everything you need and is ideally located to explore Alba and as a base for day trips around the wonderful hilltop towns.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are really happy that you enjoyed your time here, and that you appreciated our Bistrot. Our location is one of our strenghts, just outside the city centre: it is very easy to reach by car, then guests can use the free parking and totally forget the automobile if they want to visit the historical Alba, 3 minutes far by slowly walking.

We do hope to host you some other time, and give you new advices on what to do and see.

Best regards
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at Calissano Alba, on a business trip. I have to say I was rather pleasantly surprised by the hotel – rooms, service, staff. This gem in the heart of Alba is off a small side lane, but easily walkable to main square Pizza Savona and also the main shopping street.

The rooms are clean, very functional for a business traveller and the toilets as well are good size, sparkling and with the latest fittings. Stayed at room 516, which did not have the best view, but still a good one with excellent sun light and fresh winter air ( I asked to unlock the window, which the front office was very prompt and willing to do).

The breakfast was an expanded continental layout, the staff was very helpful, always smiling and eager to assist. There is a wide selection of teas and Italian coffees that you could choose from.

All the staff were fluent in English and Italian . The front office team will guide you to the best restaurants, walking areas , will hand you a detailed map and even mark out your path and destination! All you have to do is ask!

The only drawback for me, was the limited dinner menu – the restaurant/room service menu though is updated daily is quite limited & nothing much to talk about. Best to catch a bite on the many good and reasonably cafe/pizzeria ( Try Vincafe & Vera Pizza) at the main square – a short walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your very nice review. Our Staff is always ready to advice who needs on what there is interesting to do and see in Alba and the hills - this is a distinctive point for us.

For what concerns Restaurant, we like better calling it Bistrot: this is because we don't mean to be in competition with other restaurant in the city centre; we consider our Bistrot as a service for who doesn't want to go out in the city, with traditional and completely genuine materials, a way to have high level, traditional local cuisine directly in the Hotel.

We hope to see you again, and we will be glad to let you have a new, nice stay.

Kind regards
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is very noisy, the walls are paper thin so you hear everything going on in the hallway and what your neighbors are doing.. The room was supposed to be a non smoking room but smelled just like a smoking room.. Overall the interior was way outdated and semi-functional. The only good thing about this place was the parking and the front desk service. If I where to return to Alba I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for appreciation about parking and Front Desk service, and in any case for having written your opinion about Hotel Calissano.

About your valuation of the Hotel itself, we are really sorry that you did not like it; the Hotel opened in 2010, so all the technological advancements are the latest generation. We also notice that this is the first time we receive complains about this. If you had told this problems with the Front Desk, they would certainly have helped you to have a better stay.

Thank you very much, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Calissano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calissano

Address: Via Pola 8, Alba, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Calissano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Calissano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.