We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing & Romantic Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Pilone

Locanda del Pilone
Strada della Cicchetta, Loc. Madonna di Como, 34, 12051 Alba, Italy
0173 366616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 123 Restaurants in Alba
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just five kilometers from Alba, up a winding, scenic road flanked by vine-covered hillsides, a foodies paradise awaits: Locanda del Pilone, where one can stop for lunch or dinner at the Michelin-starred restaurant and stay for the night, in traditionally furnished rooms with modern comforts such as wi-fi connection.Surrounded by 360-degree views of rolling foothills and in the distance, the Italian Alps, Locanda del Pilone is an ideal destination for food and wine lovers in search of world-class hospitality and an authentic Piedmontese experience rolled into one.Il paradiso dei foodies vi attende a soli 5 km da Alba, lungo un maestoso paesaggio collinare vitato. Alla Locanda del Pilone vi potete fermare per un pranzo o una cena nel rinomato ristorante stellato Michelin, e trascorrere la notte nelle deliziose camere in stile tradizionale al primo piano, dove troverete i piu moderni comfort come la connessione wi-fi.Con una vista che spazia a 360 gradi raggiungendo perfino le alture alpine, la Locanda del Pilone e una destinazione obbligatoria per gli amanti della gastronomia, come per gli entusiasti in cerca di una memorabile esperienza in Piemonte.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing & Romantic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I ate dinner here while touring the Piedmont wine area of Italy. From start to finish, this was an amazing meal! The chef's welcome was a plate of nibbles ranging from a hazelnut coated cookie with a sharp cheese filling to a macaroon with a savory filling. Then a second welcome was a light savory mousse with toasted hazelnuts...then there was an appetizer with tiny cubes of poultry.....our first course was pasta with tuna and our second was a tender veal cooked in wine and served with potato...then three rounds of desserts (portioned to enjoy not fill). We did the wine pairings with this "Tradition" fixed price menu and would recommend you do the same. Service was an outstanding balance of friendly and professional. It was such a treat to eat here - not cheap but worth every penny! All in a beautiful setting overlooking the hills of Piedmont. Amazing!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    13
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great quality food and nicely presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and me were on the way from Milan to Cuneo and we decided to stop by Alba to buy some good Barolo wine and to taste soem good food. At the Locanda del Pilone we found them both, great food, excellent wine choise, all kindly served and presented. Even if it was raining outside it has been a perfect lunch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neusiedl am See, Austria
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“One starred, but quite simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Yes, it has a nice location, yes, it has a terrace, but it has also pretty low ceilings so you must not talk much loudly, if you don't want the neiboring table to listen your conversation.
Too quick service, very professional, but also trying to push you to be quick. We wanted to order another bottle, but no one asked us...
The food is correct, nothing really special. Just good. Curious how it is enough to have a star here... :)
Excellent wine list!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not a lot of substance, but lots of extras”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Sadly, although we loved the hotel, dinner there was disappointing. The food was very...fussy. When I tried to remember what I ate the next day, I came up with...foam? Honestly, I think it was because they had zero, none, nada vegetarian appetizers or entrees on the menu. They offered me only those in which the meat item could be omitted. This rarely works out well for the overall flavor of the dish, and it did not here. As for extras, they were generous with pre-dinner tastes, and after dinner sweets, which were very good. They just really need to have more non-meat items, at least 1 or 2 on the menu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, idyllic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We began the day with a wine tasting at Boroli Winery and followed the recommendation of Achille to luch at this restaurant.

The view was amazing and the seating outside in the shade was perfect. Although we arrived relatively late for lunch ( 14:30) the staff were friendly, attentive and patient. At other restaurants ariving outside of the regular times is often met with sighs and I have felt like an annoyance not a customer but that certainly was not the case here. They could not have been freindlier.
We chose the South to North menu with matched wines. There were 8 courses all small but perfectly balanced and all equally delicious. This would be one of the best restaurant meals I have ever eaten. It is not inexpensive but worth the cost. An experience to remember.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda del Pilone also viewed

Alba, Province of Cuneo
 
Alba, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Locanda del Pilone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda del Pilone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.