We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to the temples, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Demetra Resort

Save Saved
You added Demetra Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Demetra Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Forgia, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Agrigento
La Spezia, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“close to the temples, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A pool would have been nice, but overall the price fitted the product. Good location, but google maps shows an alternative access route up from San leone, which is an unmade road, a bit dangerous at night. Restaurant was OK, but we voted it one of the two "least good" during our week in Sicily. This maybe reflects the pretty good standards we experienced all week. The rooms were fine, breakfast was OK, but my comments about the Hotel Parco degli Ulivi in Villafranca are echoed here (No coffee machine, no orange juice "juke box", you'll get scrambled egg etc if you ask for it, but it's not offered). Staff were friendly and helpful throughout - you won't go wrong with this hotel in my opinion. It really is very close for the Temples - which were well worth the visit.

Room Tip: If you want UK Sky TV, ask for an upgrade from the normal room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
75
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is advertised as a tour hotel, not usually our style, but as we only wanted one night, and to be near the temples we booked a room. What a surprise, it is excellent, fully agree all the previous good comments. Also, there were no tours so it was very peaceful at breakfast. It was a great plus to be so close to the archaeological sites. No difficulty finding it as it is marked on Google maps. For supper, we went to the Re di Grigento, a great restaurant. It was only 5/6 mins away and not difficult to find. We sat on their balcony with the most fabulous view of the floodlit temples and ate an absolutely memorable meal.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is less than 5 mins drive from the temples. It can be a bit difficult to find the first time so make sure to ask for directions.
The rooms are on the large side for Sicily, they are clean and comfortable. The hotel is outside the city, surrounded by gardens and hence, very quiet and charming.
Be aware that the restaurant only serves dinner on demand so if you haven't planned for it, you will need to drive elsewhere for dinner (there is nothing walking distance).
There is no pool but we were told we could use the one from a nearby hotel.

Our tip: visit the temples by night. The atmosphere is magical and you will avoid the heat and the crowds!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin . TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night while traveling around Sicily. Very close to the archeological ruins. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant was closed when I arrived. Being weary from all the travel, I was not enthusiastic about driving back into town to find a place to eat and park. The very friendly man at the front desk ordered pizza for me. I had a quick shower in the very clean room, then waited in the bar with a beer while my pizza came. Hard to argue with. Air conditioning in the room was excellent as was the overall cleanliness. I woke up very early in order to get a head start on the sites. Despite it being before the scheduled breakfast time, the very friendly woman at the front desk invited me to enjoy the pastries that were already out and even offered to make my choice of coffee. Excellent service to say the least. The one thing that should be noted is that it is extremely helpful (vital in my case...horrible sense of direction) to have a GPS to find this place. It is a little off the beaten path. But, the advantage is that there is ample parking. I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with excellent service near the ruins!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for only one night on our driving tour of Sicily. I was very sad that we had only booked one night at this hotel since we found it to be clean, comfortable, and very charming. The grounds are well maintained and the landscaping is lovely. We found the front desk clerk to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant was closed the night we arrived and we were disappointed to have to get into the car to eat elsewhere after a very long drive. But we were referred to the a sister-property a few minutes away that had a fantastic view of the sea. We were able to have a nice dinner with a sunset backdrop. My only regret is that we did not stay longer to enjoy the peace and tranquility of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This establishment is really difficult to classify as it is an odd mixture of a country inn/bed and breakfast and a lobby that pretends that you are in a hotel. Part of the explanation is that this used to be a hacienda that was converted into a 23-room "hotel". It is located so off the beaten path that our GPS was unable to guide us there and we had to call for directions. Good thing it was still light -- do NOT attempt to find this establishment in the dark! Once you have found the place down a small dirt road you will be greeted by several big but friendly dogs -- if you are afraid of dogs this might not work well for you. The restaurant was closed as there apparently were not enough guests to make opening the kitchen worthwhile. The hotel's restaurant recommendation for a place in San Leone, the beach front suburb of Agrigento, was wonderful, however, although it required a 10-minute car ride. In general, you do NOT want to book this hotel unless you have a car. You will need it not only to get to the hotel but also to the temples, which are about a 5-minute drive away but way too far to walk. We had booked a deluxe room which was a comfortable downstairs/upstairs suite, with a living room with a little porch at ground level and the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Several problems: These deluxe rooms face the driveway and have NO view; the small porches outside your room are likely to be occupied by very friendly big, sleeping dogs; and taking a shower is difficult if you are taller than 1.80 meters (6 feet), as you have to stand in the bathtub and the ceiling is very low. If you have mobility issues you may also not wish to have to walk upstairs to use the toilet. The beds themselves were very comfortable and the quiet only punctuated by dogs barking in the middle of the night. The breakfast was very modest, consisting of only some pastries, cereals, and fresh fruit. The best part of the stay was the reception staff, particularly Giovanni, who is most efficient, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Only stay in a deluxe room if don't have mobility issues. They also face the driveway and have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san franciwco ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a tour hotel, but well run, very clean but small rooms, a great breakfast and just a few moments from the terrific Greek temples and from Lido Leon, the beach community where there are very good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Demetra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Resort

Address: Contrada Forgia, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Demetra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demetra Hotel Agrigento
Demetra Resort Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demetra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.