We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sicily tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Demetra Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Demetra Resort to your Saves list
Demetra Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Forgia, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Agrigento
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Sicily tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is advertised as a tour hotel, not usually our style, but as we only wanted one night, and to be near the temples we booked a room. What a surprise, it is excellent, fully agree all the previous good comments. Also, there were no tours so it was very peaceful at breakfast. It was a great plus to be so close to the archaeological sites. No difficulty finding it as it is marked on Google maps. For supper, we went to the Re di Grigento, a great restaurant. It was only 5/6 mins away and not difficult to find. We sat on their balcony with the most fabulous view of the floodlit temples and ate an absolutely memorable meal.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    57
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
25
85
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is less than 5 mins drive from the temples. It can be a bit difficult to find the first time so make sure to ask for directions.
The rooms are on the large side for Sicily, they are clean and comfortable. The hotel is outside the city, surrounded by gardens and hence, very quiet and charming.
Be aware that the restaurant only serves dinner on demand so if you haven't planned for it, you will need to drive elsewhere for dinner (there is nothing walking distance).
There is no pool but we were told we could use the one from a nearby hotel.

Our tip: visit the temples by night. The atmosphere is magical and you will avoid the heat and the crowds!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin . TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night while traveling around Sicily. Very close to the archeological ruins. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant was closed when I arrived. Being weary from all the travel, I was not enthusiastic about driving back into town to find a place to eat and park. The very friendly man at the front desk ordered pizza for me. I had a quick shower in the very clean room, then waited in the bar with a beer while my pizza came. Hard to argue with. Air conditioning in the room was excellent as was the overall cleanliness. I woke up very early in order to get a head start on the sites. Despite it being before the scheduled breakfast time, the very friendly woman at the front desk invited me to enjoy the pastries that were already out and even offered to make my choice of coffee. Excellent service to say the least. The one thing that should be noted is that it is extremely helpful (vital in my case...horrible sense of direction) to have a GPS to find this place. It is a little off the beaten path. But, the advantage is that there is ample parking. I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with excellent service near the ruins!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for only one night on our driving tour of Sicily. I was very sad that we had only booked one night at this hotel since we found it to be clean, comfortable, and very charming. The grounds are well maintained and the landscaping is lovely. We found the front desk clerk to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant was closed the night we arrived and we were disappointed to have to get into the car to eat elsewhere after a very long drive. But we were referred to the a sister-property a few minutes away that had a fantastic view of the sea. We were able to have a nice dinner with a sunset backdrop. My only regret is that we did not stay longer to enjoy the peace and tranquility of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This establishment is really difficult to classify as it is an odd mixture of a country inn/bed and breakfast and a lobby that pretends that you are in a hotel. Part of the explanation is that this used to be a hacienda that was converted into a 23-room "hotel". It is located so off the beaten path that our GPS was unable to guide us there and we had to call for directions. Good thing it was still light -- do NOT attempt to find this establishment in the dark! Once you have found the place down a small dirt road you will be greeted by several big but friendly dogs -- if you are afraid of dogs this might not work well for you. The restaurant was closed as there apparently were not enough guests to make opening the kitchen worthwhile. The hotel's restaurant recommendation for a place in San Leone, the beach front suburb of Agrigento, was wonderful, however, although it required a 10-minute car ride. In general, you do NOT want to book this hotel unless you have a car. You will need it not only to get to the hotel but also to the temples, which are about a 5-minute drive away but way too far to walk. We had booked a deluxe room which was a comfortable downstairs/upstairs suite, with a living room with a little porch at ground level and the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Several problems: These deluxe rooms face the driveway and have NO view; the small porches outside your room are likely to be occupied by very friendly big, sleeping dogs; and taking a shower is difficult if you are taller than 1.80 meters (6 feet), as you have to stand in the bathtub and the ceiling is very low. If you have mobility issues you may also not wish to have to walk upstairs to use the toilet. The beds themselves were very comfortable and the quiet only punctuated by dogs barking in the middle of the night. The breakfast was very modest, consisting of only some pastries, cereals, and fresh fruit. The best part of the stay was the reception staff, particularly Giovanni, who is most efficient, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Only stay in a deluxe room if don't have mobility issues. They also face the driveway and have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san franciwco ca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a tour hotel, but well run, very clean but small rooms, a great breakfast and just a few moments from the terrific Greek temples and from Lido Leon, the beach community where there are very good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel is truly wonderful. It is set in the countryside outside of Agrigento near the Valley of the Temples. It is so quiet you can hear the birds singing and the rustling of the olive trees in the background. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff are extremely helpful & friendly. And there is a good restaurant on the property which serves breakfast (included in the rate) and dinner (expensive).

The only problem is that if you do NOT have a car, you are truly stuck. Because there is NO bus linking the property with either the Valley of the Temples or with the town of Agrigento. Instead, you have to rely on taxis, and a certain amount of price-gouging happens.

The people at the front desk will tell you that a taxi ride will cost 15 euros each way. But be prepared for taxi drivers to ask more, like 18 euros or even 24 euros for the SHORT drive from the hotel to the Juno Gate in the Valley of the Temples. I should have talked that taxi driver down, but didn't want to make a fuss. Instead I'm going to lodge a complaint with the front desk.

In short, if you are renting a car or have a car with you, this is the perfect place to be as there is ample FREE parking. If you DON'T have a car, I suggest you look elsewhere, closer to a bus line.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the property with french doors that lead to a patio and the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Demetra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Resort

Address: Contrada Forgia, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Demetra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demetra Hotel Agrigento
Demetra Resort Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demetra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.