We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Demetra Resort

Save Saved
You added Demetra Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Demetra Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Forgia, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Agrigento
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed one night and the hotel was not full. Despite other reviewer comments we found it easy to find and a great location- one mile to the valley of temples and a short drive to the other 4 star associated hotel with big pool on the ocean. lovely outside patio off each bedroom and fab breakfast - all at a good price.
mangoman

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    64
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
74
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

As already mentioned, this is not a "resort." There's no pool, no activities, no recreation, there's not even a restaurant running for dinner. Nonetheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is set amid tree groves and fields, with a beautiful tumble of bright red and gold lantana surrounding the terrace that runs along the perimeter of the rooms. So it was lovely to look out on something other than buildings and to walk around the grounds, even though we could hear the traffic from the highway nearby. Breakfast was more than adequate. We had no trouble finding the location, there is a large parking lot with room to unload at check-in, and the site is not far (by car) from the archaeological park. The room was comfortable, well appointed, and not cramped for two. What really made the stay memorable was the desk staff, a charming young man who went out of his way to be helpful and accommodating. The hotel also safely stored our luggage while we were out exploring and swimming at the Turkish steps. There are resident cats and dogs, which, for us, added to the homey atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed two nights at Demetra Resort in April 2011. We came here to visit the famed Valley of the Temples. The hotel is well-maintained, spotless, and provides good breakfasts in their large up-scale dining room. The hotel is a short drive to the Valley of the Temples.

Our room was spacious, in good condition and clean, comfortably furnished, quiet, and with a modern en suite bathroom. Our room opened onto a patio with lounge chairs in which we had our evening wine and cheese. Parking is safe and easy in the parking lot in front. The lobby is pleasant and there is a computer with internet access available for guests. There was always someone who spoke English at the front desk. On our two nights at Demetra, we ate at Leon d’Oro on the road from Demetra to San Leone Lido and in San Leone Lido at Il Pescatore on the shore road. Both were good and reasonably priced.

When visiting the Valley of the Temples, park your car in the lower parking lot, take a taxi to the upper entry, and walk the site from top to bottom, exiting back to your car. Bring water.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We like this hotel very much, despite some difficulties. It was hard to find because of inadequate signage. We chose this hotel thinking we'd be close enough to walk to the Valley of the Temples, as we didn't arrive by car. But because of the superhighway, we really couldn't walk there, so we had to take a taxi anyway. The hotel is quite distant from the old town, and there was no choice of restaurants within walking distance. Plus our our room was somewhat inconveniently designed. The clothes closet was on the first floor and the bedroom and bathroom were in the loft, so there was a lot of stair-climbing.
That said, we appreciated many things about the hotel. The service was very friendly, the public rooms and gardens were lovely, the restaurant had excellent food, we enjoyed our spacious suite with its private patio, and we appreciated the free computer use. The staff are very caring and have adopted some local stray dogs and cats, which we appreciated. We would definitely stay here again, now that we know what to expect as far as location and amenities.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs be sure to specify a one-floor room, without a loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

What to say...the hotel was beautiful, clean. The rooms were big and well furnished and so were the bathrooms. The breakfast buffet was great with good variety (fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh baked viennoiseries....YUMMY! The staff was fluent in several languages and very accomodating. They always greeted their guests with a warm smile. The surrounding gardens immaculate and the views of the Valley of the Temples at night were truly memorable. Highly recommended. Indeed it is a little hard to find with the signs along the highways a little misleading, but once you arrive ...well worth the stay. We went to eat at a gem of a restaurant...five star food and service... 2 star price...it is called "il re di girgenti" about 10 min ride towards the temples.

Room Tip: they are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in the Demetra resort hotel for 3 nights with 2 adults and 2 kids. The rooms are certainly ok (large bedroom for the parents, small separate bedroom for the first child, and one extra sofabed in the living room for the second child + small terrace with chairs) and the personnel at the reception is helpful and friendly. It is also positive that you can use the (large and nice) swimming pool (including towels, shower,...) of the sister hotel Dioscuri ( approximately 10' drive very close to the sea)
The surroundings (garden) however look neglected. The breakfast room looks cheap (kind of insulation material against the ceiling) and the breakfast itself does not have the level of a 4 star hotel. The bread for example was always finished around 09.30 h (while the breakfast time lasted till 10.00 h). The children loved the cats and the kittens, but I can imagine that not everybody likes to see cats walking through the breakfast room.
There was no restaurant service in the hotel, but you can eat at the Dioscuri hotel. We did that the first evening, but it was disappointing in terms of quality of the food and in terms of atmosphere/location (cheap, not cosy, almost empty,...). The waiter however was extremely kind and helpful. The Demetra resort hotel is not bad, but it certainly does not have the level of a 4 star hotel. The location is not ideal (close to a motor way), but ok to visit the temples.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had booked Hotel Demetra for two nights in half board. Upon arrival, the receptionist told us that there was a problem in the kitchen and that we had to take our diner in another hotel (hotel Dioscuri), which was 5 kilometers away. Getting a refund because they could not offer the desired service in the hotel itself was not an option (after complaining that the restaurant over there was more of a canteen than a restaurant we got free drinks during dinner instead).

The hotel is crowded with animals (cats and dogs), not only on the outside but also in the restaurant during breakfast, both on the floor, on the chairs and even on a table once. This is not really hygienic in our opinion.

During breakfast (which is rather poor) there is no one who is concerned about you. After sitting there for 15 minutes, I had to ask someone at the reception for coffee as there was no one doing service. My son asked for a hot chocolate instead of coffie and he received hot chocolated custard... Fortunately he likes custard.

The location is very convenient however :close to the temples, in a very quiet environment. The rooms are nice and offer sufficient space. We also had a nice terrace in front of our room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Demetra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Resort

Address: Contrada Forgia, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Demetra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demetra Hotel Agrigento
Demetra Resort Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demetra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.