We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, no character, large room, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amici to your Saves list
Hotel Amici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Acrone, 5, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Agrigento
Walnut, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean, no character, large room, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

There was only one thing we wanted to see in Agrigento - the Valley of the Temples. It made the 2h40m bus trip across Sicily well worth it. After a 20 minute walk (10 min if you know where to go) from the bus station we arrived at Hotel Amici. A previous post had it right - walk to the train station and look for the green EuroCar sign.. Taking the city bus to the Temples and adjacent museum was simple - buy your going/return bus tickets at the bar inside the train station and catch the Line 1, 2 or 3 bus just outside (and very near the Hotel Amici) to go down the hill. About the hotel itself; the breakfast didn't have much to offer and the tired funishings seemed out of the 1970s and the TV only had Italian channels, but the receptionist was friendly and helpful even after we accidentaly locked our key in the room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    32
    12
    13
See reviews for
15
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Hotel Amici was a one night stay so we could see the Valley of the Temples. Our room was sparse, but clean. We arrived by bus, so it is a 10 -15 minute walk from the bus terminal.
It is, however, right across the street from the train station. The receptionist was very helpful with a map and directions to the Kalos restaurant. The breakfast included a few extras beyond the normal continental breakfast....fresh fruit and a choice of breads. Amici is basic, but it also has a modest price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel has no charm at all. The decor of the rooms is depressing. The location is convenient, but the place has the aura of the car rental firm that is shares the building with. The room was dusty, the matrass lumpy, and the shower absurdly small (allthough the bathroom itself was big enough). The satellite tv had not a single non-italian channel. There was wifi in the lobby, but no internet anywhere else, not even for a fee. Breakfast is included, but consist of luke warm tea or coffee, and bread or biscottes with jam - no butter, cheese, ham, yoghurt or anything else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel is located next to train station in the city center, very close to the Via Atenea. If you arrive by car, search for signs to the hotel. They are very convenient to find hotel in a maze of narrow sicilian streets. Hotel is basic, but cozy. Some of the rooms on the last floor has view on the Valley of the Temples.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the top floor with view on the Valley of the Temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We came from Syracuse for 1 night to see the Temples and then move on to Palermo. Arrived at train station and amused a taxi driver by asking for a taxi, he pointed it out to us and we trundled our suitcases across the car park. External impressions very poor, it looks like a building site from over the road = panic! Inside all very tidy and clean, reception area and bar very contemporary and bright, rooms were fine, beds comfy and air con worked. Breakfast very disappointing for size of hotel, but decent breakfast room. Nice to have an area to sit ouside with a drink, prices very reasonable at bar. Bus stop very near for Valley of Temples, Kalos restaurant very good but expensive by our standards, not a lot else that was appealing or open on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel was a one night stop-over for us on our way to Palermo.
It was very close to the railway station and the bus to the Valley of the Temples was right at the railway station.The hotel manager was extremely helpful,the rooms were great and the breakfast was included in our room rate.(64 Euro) The place was light and bright and the taxi fare to the bus station was only 5 euro.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I arrived by bus and had a bit of a walk to get there but the local people were very helpful. Once there the reception area was lovely and the male receptionist very helpful. I booked a double room for myself and had to walk down the dark corridor but the light came on at all times of the day so it was fine for me - I was at the very end of the corridor. The view from my room, over the 1970's horrible buildings, was the sea which was nice. The bathroom was large with good towels. I thought the bed was going to be a problem but it was fine. Wifi is only available in public areas but it is strong and there is a bar to get coffee while you wifi.

I was very comfortable at this hotel as I had come from Rome where I paid 3 times the amount and even though the rooms were a little better, the Amici was pleasant, quiet and close to everything and the staff were much nicer and more helpful than some at the expensive hotel.

I would recommend this hotel for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amici

Address: Acrone, 5, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amici 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amici Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Amici Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.