We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colleverde Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colleverde Park Hotel to your Saves list
Colleverde Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Panoramica dei Templi, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Agrigento
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Style wise a little bit stuck in a time warp. Good facilities. Nice terrace with good views of valley of the temples. Breakfast satisfactory. Bit of a walk into town, good for a workout. Flexible with check out time. Room less spacious than hoped but was ok.good for a short stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    263
    106
    31
    10
See reviews for
106
400
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel common areas are lovely, especially the gardens, the terrace overlooking the ruins, and the sitting areas downstairs. The staff was very pleasant, spoke English well, and helped us book a nighttime guided tour of the ruins. However, they seemed to lack other knowledge of the town, restaurants, or the area, which was odd.

Our room was fairly standard, with no exceptional view, and since our room faced west, we had to close our blinds in the afternoon as the room was warm and the AC was poor. The room was very clean, the bathroom very nice with a good shower. Our room had a very good wifi signal, which was great for downloading maps for the next day and reading restaurant reviews. There were convenient outlets next to the beds for charging our phones.

Breakfast was adequate, and you can order a cappuccino or espresso or custom eggs. There were also scrambled eggs on the buffet table.

The terrace is a lovely place for drinks at sunset. Our one dinner at the hotel restaurant on the terrace was just OK (there are much better restaurants in town and down the street). All restaurants required a drive (as did the temples), and we were happy we had a car and free parking at the hotel. The issue about walking wasn't just the distance (not a great distance, but far enough) and the heat (very hot until sunset), but the lack of sidewalks, and many hills.

We recommend Colleverde when visiting Agrigento as the price was right, but we think our 3 nights should have been only 2. See the ruins at night (if you can) and spend the day at a beach. We spent our second full day driving to Caltagirone and Villa Romani (worth the drive). It would have been more convenient to just stay in that area rather than drive back to Agrigento, since we were on our way to Taormina the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington,Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Colleverde Park. It had fantastic views from our rooms as well as from their lovely terrace garden. The rooms were comfortable, the air conditioner worked well, and the restaurant offered very good food for breakfast and dinner. Would return on our next trip to Sicily!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The room was clean, the furniture was dated but OK and the service was OK . The best thing was its decent price and convenient location. You can walk to the Temples/ museum ( although I wouldn't recommend doing it in the middle of summer) and there is a good trattoria across the street where you can have a good lunch ( recommended by the Michelin guide). There isn't much to do in Agrigento apart from visiting the Valley of the Temples ( which takes about half of day) but it is a good place to stay if you want to go to the beaches near by( Torre Salsa is a very good one)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We only chose to stay one night in Agrigento before heading off to the more beautiful beach areas to stay. The one reason for coming here was to see the temples. We chose a no view of the temples room as the rooms here are for showering and sleeping not hanging out in. I would have been annoyed to have picked a view room and payed extra. To be honest the view from the outside garden and the restaurant are magnificent but for relaxing only. There is a nice terrace and some cool chill out spots in the garden so pick the cheaper of the rooms and hang out down there.

We arrived at 4.30pm and headed down to the temple car park which is 4 mins drive away. We walked there and back the next morning so it's very handy. It's 10euro each for entry but we got day, sunset and some night shots and left at around 8.50pm. Beautiful area and great ruins, then we headed straight back to the hotel and lnto the restaurant. We didn't book and if we had we would have had a better view but we were very happy with the seats and service.
The food was divine, great variety and some excellent local wine choices to boot. Prices were very reasonable costing us around 70 euro for 2 courses each and a nice bottle.

Agrigento is a one night stop only. Do not stay in Palermo, avoid driving through it if possible!!!! This is a great location for that one night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had originally planned to stay 4 nights but I'm so glad we changed this to 1 night only. Other than the valley of temples there is not a lot to do in the area. The hotel is in close proximity to temples but it is a bit dull and dated. Reception on arrival were not that helpful but they were always quick to say hello in passing during the remainder of our stay. We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed the meal. It was a little bit too formal for my liking but the view is pretty good and the garden area is lovely. I think overall the place is overpriced for what you get and the bedrooms could certainly do with a revamp.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agrigento
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What Expedia don't tell you is that there are only 4 rooms with a balcony overlooking the valley of the temples. Before you book it's made to look like everyone will get a balcony. Only other hotel search engines offer the better rooms!
I went to visit family with my girlfriend so getting around the island was important. First off, reception staff: they were unacceptable. They couldn't organise car hire for us, they had no travel info or advice on how to get around the island or to mount etna on a tour! It was very much a lazy and "can't be bothered" attitude. The rooms themselves were a bit dated and our floor was never cleaned in the 10 nights we stayed there! There was broken glass on the balcony, probably left there by the previous tenants. The cleaners never bothered to clear the glass In this time. There was fresh towels every day though. The meals at the hotel were nice and reasonably priced and the hotel does have a decent garden. If you come here for a number of days you need to hire a car as some of the roads are too dangerous to walk on.
My advice would be to stay in Taormina. It's beautiful. This hotel is really catered more for wedding receptions or one night stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSinatra, Proprietario at Colleverde Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Sir,
I'm sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel was not to your liking, all the criticism, however, for us are very constructive.
Let me just clarify some of the information that you erroneously wrote in yor comment: You made the reservation through the website Expedia which provides only standard city view rooms.
Our hotel does not have rooms with balcony, I checked on Expedia and other portals to correct the 'error but none of them mentions the presence of rooms with balconies.
For clarification I inform you that we have different types of rooms in addition to the standard room that you have booked. These rooms are different from the standard size, furnishings and views to the valley.
All these rooms are not bookable by any portal but can be booked exclusively from our website.
As already informed you in the hotel, there are no organized day trips from Agrigento to other tourist destinations in Sicily. It was not laziness or lack of will by the Secretary, but only impossibility of inform you about services that do not really exist.
As for the car rental, you were there when we contacted several car rental companies, even without a reservation, we were able to find one also in high season for the same day that you have requested but at the moment to confirm you turned away without saying nothing.
As you say the room was remade every day and not seems to have found a broken glass on the ground, in any case I do not understand why you haven't told us within 10 days of your stay.
During your long stay only a private event was celebrated at our hotel. Our structure is not addressed in banqueting but rather is customer-oriented individual.
The Colleverde Park Hotel is a city hotel and not a resort. It has no pool, spa or evening entertainment, but it is the ideal place to relax and enjoy breathtaking views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colleverde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colleverde Park Hotel

Address: Panoramica dei Templi, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#6 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colleverde Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush park overlooking the Valley of the Temples and the sea, the Colleverde Park Hotel welcomes guests with a calm and elegant atmosphere. Just a few minutes from the historic centre and the archaeological area, and only 6 km from the beaches. Colleverde Park Hotel is a place where one can contemplate a landscape that embraces nature, sea and culture. Immersed in a lush park overlooking the Valley of the Temples and the sea, the Colleverde Park Hotel is ready to welcome you into its calm and elegant atmosphere. This historic dependance of the first Jolly Hotel of Agrigento was bought and renovated by the Sinatra family and over the years has become the Colleverde Park Hotel; a modern and comfortable four star hotel successfully combining the traditional tastes and the advantages of innovation. The cozy and elegant hall, embellished by fine 19th Century Sicilian ceramics and furniture offers a Wi-Fi area for high speed wireless internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colleverde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colleverde Park Agrigento
Hotel Colleverde Park
Colleverde Park Hotel Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colleverde Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.