We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - but only for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb - but only for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The superb view to the Concordia temple is THE reason to stay for a night or two at Villa Athena. The five stars are well deserved and you are spoiled from the moment you arrive. But you pay for all of it - or overpay...?. Be certain that your room faces the temple. And be sure to eat at least one dinner at the hotel.. We found the food exquisite, but expensive. The unique experience is to watch the Concordia temple through dusk - as the colors change and the floodlight comes on. Awesome! So - enjoy all that comes with five stars - lean back and relax - and expect a five star tourist bill!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    202
    69
    21
    14
See reviews for
169
682
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Even if your room doesn't have a view of the Temple of Concordia you can still enjoy this matchless view from the terrace, supping pre or post-dinner drink. The hotel is well-located for visiting the temples and museum. Our suite was generous - sitting area, as well as bedroom, closet area, well-appointed bathroom with all that one would expect in a top grade hotel. Good breakfast. But we were disappointed by the dinner menu, so ate out for 2 of our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel was everything the website said. We had a room with a view of the temple. The weather was a little cold to go into the pool but warm enough to enjoy everything else the hotel had to offer. If you go to see the temples here then this hotel would be a very good choice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

As we were driving into Agrigento, my husband remarked that off to the right, he saw what appeared to be a "fake" temple. Why fake? It looked so perfect, and appeared to have been plopped down, a bit incongruously, just below the modern city. Little did we know then that what he saw was the Temple of Concordia, and that the Villa Athena, our perch for 3 nights, had the best possible view of this historical marvel. We stayed in a temple-view room, which gave us the opportunity to gape at the classical structure at all hours of day and night - from our private terrace, from our bedroom entry, and even from the porthole window in the bathroom! The swimming pool is delicious, and also offers a front-row view of the temple. And the restaurant is top-notch - delicious food, extremely well-trained wait staff, and excellent wine list - and again, those views!!! The first night we were there, a wedding was taking place on premises. Instead of letting the non-wedding guests fend for themselves, or offering substandard service while most of the staff was engaged with the festivities, the hotel offered a complimentary guided night tour of Agrigento, complete with a stop for gelato in town. Classy. Would come here again in a heartbeat and would stay at Villa Athena, no question.

Room Tip: Get a temple-view room. You will pay more, but it is worth it. Oh yes, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

If you want to visit this superb location and enjoy the most fabulous views of the temples there is no real choice here .

Here there is a wonderful hotel in great decorative order the only problem being the fact it has only 27 rooms and some have no view at all
However visit their terrace for w cocktail or dinner and enjoy this unique location ,

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We started our Sicilian holiday with three days at the Villa Athena. It is undoubtedly the best place to stay in Agrigento to experience the ancient world. The unrivalled views over the Temples of Concordia and Juno are truly spectacular both by day and night. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and our rooms comfortable and stylish. The outdoor eating areas and pool are ideal for a relaxing break. Breakfast was excellent and our evening meals were, with one exception, imaginative traditional dishes using local ingredients. Service was, at times, a little slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

You cannot find a better choice in Agrigento; this hotel is really amazing, we had a room with a small terrace where you could step out in the night and look directly to the temples! Unbelievable, I could not stop watching.
I stayed more than ten years ago in the same hotel and since then it has been well restored, now it's perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.