We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Great view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Agrigento
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

One of the best hotels from a recent trip to Sicily. The room decor is modern and comfortable. Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the temples. Priceless. Comfortable bed, great shower, and delicious breakfast made for a perfect stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    176
    64
    21
    12
See reviews for
150
589
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boyce, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We only stayed one night here but the experience was exceptional. The staff was welcoming and engaging to a person. The restaurant was excellent, the bar patio an oasis, and the view from the room was magnificent, just what we wanted. The room was very bright and comfortable and the bathroom had a very clever port-hole window that framed the Temple perfectly. My wife was in Greek heaven. It is the only place to stay for this site, spend the money, ask for a room with a view of the temple. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Temple view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The setting for this hotel is one of the best in the world! It appears you can reach out and touch the Temple of Concordia. Service was very precise and the stay of two ddays could have been two weeks. A must for any stay in Agrigento

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Valley of the Temples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, Usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The main reason to stay at the Villa Athena is the magnificent unobstructed view of the Valley of the Temples archaeological park (unobstructed by the modern town of Agrigento, that is). And it is a definite splurge. But if you can afford it you do get what you pay for. The rooms are lovely, fresh from a recent redecoration, and the staff is suave and attentive. A bonus feature in our room was a porthole in the bathroom that looked directly onto the temple of Athena. Unfortunately, the restaurant, though elegantly tricked out and expensive, is nothing special, and you would be better off dining elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with temple views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

As you drive into the property this SLH 5 Star it looks underwhelming, but walk in the door and immediately this hotel impresses, the numerous staff are immaculate; the atmosphere is fantastic; a hostess escorts you to the room and fully explains everything; the room looks exquisite. But the beds are hard, the water pressure varies, the towels are paper thin, the lift is minuscule, the restaurant is overpriced and fails to deliver on the promise of it's elegant demeanor and its somewhat aloof staff.

But we came here for the location, and on that is absolutely delivers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

My two nights here left a mixed feeling. Sure, its location is fantastic. The rooms are small and expensive, with thin walls and hard beds. The staff is mostly very friendly, but one at the front desk treated me quite badly, and left me with the impression that the staff in their white jackets consider themselves far better than the poor sods coming to stayfor a few nights. Find a place in Agrigento instead, where there are some restaurants to choose from as well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Athena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry for the mixed impressions you have about our hotel.
Please allow us to clarify a few points: our matrasses are Simons notoriously know as being the best in the world and our walls are sound proof and the doors ( for sure you remember how heavy they are ) do not let any sound through .
The staff is trained to always be available for any need a guest should have.
We often receive positive comments on how our staff is very friendly and helpful so we find it hard to believe that you were treated badly.
You say the hotel is expensive but we checked our records and you got a last minute special rate for a room with temple view... It’s a shame you didn’t have dinner at our restaurant where you could have appreciated our delicious dishes.
I truly hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back to Agrigento in order to change your tarnished impression of our hotel.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Even in a rain storm, Villa Athena delivered. A beautiful view of the temple, good luxury hotel services, and delicious breakfast. Accommodating staff helped create one of our best experiences in Sicily.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.