We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Flesherton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The most beautiful rooms can be found here. The view of the ruins from our room was spectacular...especially at night. Meals were great but in cool weather (no pool time) 2 nights would propably be enough as there's no where to walk to except the temples, which were well worth the stay,so you're kinda stuck to the property if you don't want to drive.The staff is kind and helpful and "little treats" sometime appear!

Room Tip: Any room looking at the temple would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    207
    72
    21
    17
See reviews for
175
702
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This relatively small 5 star hotel has the feel of a private villa, with stunning views if Agrigento's temples.
We stayed 3 nights, and it was a total pleasure. The breakfasts were a real highlight with fresh fruit salad, fresh ricotta, home mad preserves, delicious Sicilian cakes, make your own cannoli, and eggs cooked to order. The head waiter, Piero, was absolutely charming and helpful at all times.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel though not everything is perfect and it isn't cheap. The good things are excellent; the location and view, the hotel itself which is light, clean and bright and the staff who are open, friendly and enthusiastic about their product. You can pick your own oranges (or lemons or grapefruit) from the well kept garden. And the wine list is extensive with the waiters happy to introduce you to their very good local wine.
The not so good things are not so bad. Not enough places to hang things in the room. What comes out of the restaurant is certainly good quality and well presented but some more variety would be welcome. Having stayed there for a week we had a pizza when we got home.
There doesn’t seem to be a business centre or a gym but so what? Getting to the temples involves a short walk down a road with only one pavement. This is a problem? I don’t think so. We are, after all in Sicily. The quality of the view depends on what you pay? True but all the views seemed OK to me, it’s just that some of them are better.
Would we return? Certainly.

Room Tip: The 12X rooms have shared balconies and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for only one night due to tight schedule. If time allows, we would definitely stay here longer. Here are the reasons we like about this hotel.

1. Location and view. This hotel is part of Temple Valley area. It's surrounded by trees and hiden from the main road. It's a oasis hiden in the vally while it's so close to the sightseeing points in Temple valley, all within walking distance. We got a deluxe room with a nice balcony. From our balcony, we can see Temple Concord in front of us, about several hundred meters away. And we can see Temple Hera on the left side, a bit further. Both temples stand on a hill. With lights on at night, the view is beautiful. It's dark everywhere and only those Temples are shining under sky of stars. The view in day time is very different from night view. Temples are the only rocks sit on top of a green land. The view itself is worth of a stay in this hotel.

Be noted that you can't walk towards Temple directly from hotel. Although hotel is part of the temple valley, it's segregated by fence from the temple park. You still need to go back to main road and enter the park from its entrance.

2. Nice food and service. We had dinner in hotel restaurant. Both food quality and service are very good. Dinner is little pricy in local standard. Quality and variety of breakfast is nice too. We love the hot chocolate we had in the afternoon. It was served in a big pot and with cookies. The guy who served us is about to change shift with antoher person. Still he provided service quickly and nicely. He is very professional and we really appreicate this hotel for having such a good service team. We did not ask for his name. He is a middle-aged man, serving breakfast in the restaurant.

3. Room. Room size is not very big, but good enough. Bed is very comfortable. And most of all, it's so quiet at night and no traffic noise at all! In the morning, we can hear birds singing in the garden. The hotel has a garden full of organge trees and lemon trees.

Areas for improvement:
The pool. Pool water is not heated. So in cool weather, you can really enjoy it.

Overally, this is a wonderful place that you should not miss if you plan to stay in Agrigento!

Room Tip: choose the room with balcony facing the temple concord!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Hotel Villa Athena is a chic and elegant resort adjacent to the incredible ancient ruins, which provide a majestic view from various points around the beautiful grounds. The archaeological park is a very short and easy walk from the hotel, so can be easily enjoyed. We savoured our stay in a room opening on to the garden, with a temple vista to boot. It was minimalist but luxurious. Service at the restaurant was excellent and friendly. One comment however-the lobby was almost Spartan, and was filled with a very unpleasant smell during our stay. I hope it was temporary-no one commented on it!

Room Tip: You have come all the way to Agrigento to see the temples, so take a temple view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The biggest selling point of this hotel is it has a magnificent view over looking at the temple, and it really was beautiful when the temple was lit up with various lights at night.

The very first impression of the hotel, it is very posh, nice and quiet. The staff was nice and attentive. We were taken to the room and got given a tour. When we were checking in, we were told that we got an upgrade with no extra cost... We said thanks... Then when we got taken to the room, a junior suite, that's exactly what I booked and paid for, where's the upgrade? Never mind, I can live with that...

First glance of the room, very nice and impressive... But if you give it another closer look, the white sofa got some yellow and brown stains, I already felt an itch after few minutes sitting on it. My husband was trying to write something down, we went through the entire suite and couldn't find a single pen! Not quite sure whether it was the man next door who was too loud, or our toilet wall was too thin, I could hear every single thing he was saying!

We thought the hotel looked classy enough, so we decided to try their restaurant... And it turned out to be a real disappointment. The food was very average, they did try to play the up market card with fusion menu, but it just didn't work! Big mistake... far too fancy and way overpriced! They should just stick to what they are good at, honest Italian cuisine!

We watched the sunset at the hotel garden with some chilled wine, that's the highlight of our stay! You can have dinner at the terrace area overlooking the temple, that sight itself would worth paying for the overpriced average food that they serve!

In general we had the wow factor when we first got there, but it started to wear off pretty quickly, and without even trying, you can quickly pick flaws everywhere... Bear in mind that it is a 5 star hotel and they do charge the 5 star price tag! The management really should do more travelling to other 5 stars hotel in the world to see the comparison... You need to make a bit more of an effort other than the historical monument!

Room Tip: Don't bother having dinner at the restaurant. It was great watching sunset at the garden overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

we visited Villa Athena for two nights and were thrilled with everything about it. the service is first class, the restaurant is terrific, and the view of the valley of the temples puts it as one of the most dramatic locations for a hotel. highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra
Hotel Costazzurra
#1 of 3 in San Leone
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
101.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.9 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#4 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Escapio, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.