We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return for another stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Agrigento
F
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We will return for another stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Athena's staff is very friendly. They take perfectly caree of the guests. Most of them speak fluently english. During our stay guests were very international.

The restaurant is excellent, the cooks prepare dishes on a very high level. Very good wine list. The price / quality ratio is excellent. The restaurant is very much value for adequate money.

Nice pool area, well kept garden.

The location is next to an impressive archeological site. You have to visit it.

Agrigento itself is a mess. Dirty, garbage all around on the streets. The museum and the dome are unfortunately closed.

Room Tip: I recommend to chose a room with view on the temple. If you can afford book the Athena Suite. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    165
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
140
540
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The view of the Temples in the day is wonderful and the view of the lighted Temples at night cannot be surpassed. We had an upgrade with a perfect view. Food was ok, and the service fine. Would definitely stay here again if only for the views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hotel Villa Athena fulfilled and exceeded all expectations. The location is unbeatable, the hotel itself blends into the natural surroundings in a wonderful way. The decor is modern yet classical at the same time. It is very harmonic. Top this off with a superb staff that could be in any of the best hotels in the world. Especially the gentlemen at the front desk and at the restaurant.!!! Wow, such service was a delight. Always with a smile, a kind word and a suggestion of where to go, how to go and what to see.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a room with a view of the temples. We had room103 which I highly recommend as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has probably the best view of the Temples you can possibly get. Nice rooms and very nice staff, they helped me find a specialist doctor in minutes. I also definitely recommend a poolside room with view on the Temple of Concordia. I was there when the famous wedding night took place that was discussed in other posts. I thought the music stopped at 1 am because that was part of the hotel's wedding policies. But apparently they stopped at that time only because some guests complained. I hope the hotel can fix this in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as part of our trip through Abercrombie and Kent through Sicily.

The good: Amazing location under the Temple of Concordia, nice grounds, OK rooms. When the wedding wasn't going, the service was acceptable, but not great.

The bad: We had a wedding right outside of our room with a full band that played until 1 am. I called the front desk 3 times. The first response is that we were sent an email 2 weeks prior letting us know this. False. The second time I actually got an apology and they said they would turn down the music (hard to do with a band). False. The 3rd was a snotty remark that I was right and they would shut it off immediately. False. The music didn't stop until 30 minutes later. Every time I asked for a manager, none was available. Every time.

Look at my reviews. You will find more often than not I'm pleased with properties. I'm a reasonable person, I don't expect the moon, but I do expect to be able to go to sleep before 1 am in peace and quite. This hotel couldn't have cared less about my satisfaction.

Definitely a big DO NOT RECOMMEND if they are going to have a function because it was terrible. If they aren't, it can't be beat for the location and the view of temple day and night. You decide.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the temple and make sure they aren't going to have a wedding when you are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, the junior suite we had for me and my husband our our twelve year old was quite spacious. The service was excellent, very friendly without being stuffy. The breakfast was very nice, and the evening meals were delicious. We enjoyed picking out our fresh fish to be cooked before our meal. The location is fantastic, an easy walk to the temples and to the museum. And of course, the is the view of the Temple of Concordia that takes your breath away...highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel Villa Athena is in a privileged spot. What a setting as well by day as by night!
Our room with huge terrace overlooking the Concorde Temple was just amazing.
Service very friendly, although English was sometimes a problem.
Nice breakfast with lots of choices. Dinner on the summer terrace is a once in a lifetime experience
Only negative points;
the inability to help booking a hairdresser appointment. (apprantice receptionist?)
irratic housekeeping (no real complaint, just a point to watch)

Room Tip: Try book a room (DeLuxe?) with unhindered view of the Temples. We had 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.