We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No words to describe it...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Agrigento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“No words to describe it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Just got here and it's amusing. Great rooms, incredible pool and restaurant terrace with magnificent view to the ruins. Service so far has been very friendly... A MUST in your trip through Sicily. Conclusion: outstanding class hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    177
    64
    21
    12
See reviews for
150
591
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Athena as part of our tour of Sicily and what a surprise it was. It is the only hotel in the historical district and the view of the Temple of Concordia at night during dinner on the terrace is spectacular! Our food (which was included) was excellent and the weather was glorious. The rooms are modern and the pool is delightful. Our small group of 9 thought it was the nicest of the hotels at which we stayed in Sicily.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool have small terraces with a good view of the Temple of Concordia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Adjacent to Valley of the Temples, Ancient Greek ruins, Villa Athena is a luxury hotel that is incredibly beautiful in the heart of Sicily. Extremely expensive, it is a five star surprise in this rural area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Athena. The hotel had an upscale vibe, but was low key. The view of the Temple of Concord from our room was stunning. However, the hotel itself outshined that in elegance, service, food...
We would definitely return just to enjoy the hotel itself. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in 2 suites. The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great location, but be forewarned that the service doesn't begin to match the prices. The dinners were glacial in pace, as we waited over an hour for our appetizers after ordering. Bathroom amenities were not replenished, our deck furniture cushions were dirty, the front desk couldn't change cash, there isn't enough water in the minibar (God forbid they give you a complimentary bottle for 1,000 Euros a night!) and the front desk staff has an attitude. I left some clothes there by mistake -the hotel didn't contact me and when I contacted them it was a torturous process to get them shipped to me. Hardly 5 star service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

There aren't enough superlatives in the English language to describe this hotel!. Our short three-day stay there was one of the highlights of our winter vacation in Malta and Sicily. Of course a hotel's appeal is greatly enhanced by having a splendidly preserved temple, seemingly in the front garden (we could literally hear visitors to the talking to each other as they were walking around), but the owners clearly have chosen not just to depend on this locational characteristic for the hotel's reputation. Everything about this hotel is first rate - the landscaping, reception, the restaurant including both the food and service, the rooms, the staff, the decor with attention to detail in every aspect guaranteeing guest satisfaction.

We also appreciated the way in which the hotel has preserved, and is displaying the Greco-Roman remains that are located under the dining room - reminding us that the ancient city is omnipresent and not confined to the buildings in the Valley of the Temples.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong selecting any room - there is beauty everywhere. However, of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. The straight access to the historical sights is very handy and the view in the evening just stunning. The hotel is a nice place however the rooms are slightly overloaded with white for my taste.
The food in the restaurant has been excellent. Especially the fish creations are recommendable. Only the service was not satisfying. The three areas where we used the service (Pool, Lounge, Restaurant) the service has always been extremely slow and it was not easy to even get a server to take an order. In the restaurant we were served by about four different people which ended up in quite some confusing for us as well as for the waiters.
All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.